Skip Left Navigation Links

Main Awards
 B&N Discover Award
 National Book Awards
 Pulitzer Prize
 Nobel Prize
 National Book Critics Circle Award
 The Quill Awards
 Children's Book Awards

Genre Awards
 Edgar Allan Poe Awards
 Agatha Awards
 Sci-Fi Awards
 Bram Stoker Awards

 See All Award Winners

The Booker Prize
The Award
Winner & Nominees
Previous Winners
Awards: The Booker Prize
2000 Winner & Nominees

The Booker McConnell Prize is Britain's most prestigious literary honor. It is awarded annually to the best full-length novel written in English by a citizen of the U.K., the Commonwealth, Eire, Pakistan, or South Africa.

If you can't wait for the U.S. editions of the nominees, visit our U.K. partners at

The 2000 Booker Winner

The Blind Assassin The Blind Assassin
by Margaret Atwood
Our Price: $23.40

Told in a style that magnificently captures the colloquialisms and clichés of the 1930s and 1940s, The Blind Assassin is a richly layered and uniquely rewarding experience. The novel has many threads and narrates a series of events that follow one another at a breathtaking pace. As everything comes together, readers will discover that the story Atwood is telling amounts to a great deal more than the sum of its parts.

 Read an excerpt from The Blind Assassin

 Read a transcript of our September 12, 2000 chat with Margaret Atwood

The 2000 Booker Nominees

The Hiding Place The Hiding Place
by Trezza Azzopardi
Our Price: $21.66

When We Were Orphans When We Were Orphans
by Kazuo Ishiguro
Our Price: $22.50

The Keepers of Truth
by Michael Collins

English Passengers English Passengers
by Matthew Kneale
Our Price: $22.50

The Deposition of Father McGreevy The Deposition of Father McGreevy
by Brian O'Doherty
Our Price: $22.80