Skip Left Navigation Links

Main Awards
 B&N Discover Award
 National Book Awards
 Pulitzer Prize
 Nobel Prize
 National Book Critics Circle Award
 The Quill Awards
 Children's Book Awards

Genre Awards
 Edgar Allan Poe Awards
 Agatha Awards
 Sci-Fi Awards
 Bram Stoker Awards

 See All Award Winners

. The Margaret A. Edwards Award
. The Award
. Winner
. Previous Winners
Awards: The Margaret A. Edwards Award
1998 Winner

Madeleine L'Engle

Madeleine L'Engle, author of A WRINKLE IN TIME and other popular books, was honored for her lifetime contribution to young-adult literature with the 1998 Margaret A. Edwards Award. Considered one of the foremost American creators of fantasy and science fiction as well as a perceptive writer of realistic family stories, L'Engle was cited for the Austin Family series, which includes MEET THE AUSTINS and A RING OF ENDLESS LIGHT; and the Time Fantasy series, which includes A WRINKLE IN TIME and A SWIFTLY TILTING PLANET. A WRINKLE IN TIME won the 1963 Newbery Medal.

Works by Madeleine L'Engle

Meet the Austins
A Ring of Endless Light
A Swiftly Tilting Planet
A Wrinkle in Time