Skip Left Navigation Links

Main Awards
 B&N Discover Award
 National Book Awards
 Pulitzer Prize
 Nobel Prize
 National Book Critics Circle Award
 The Quill Awards
 Children's Book Awards

Genre Awards
 Edgar Allan Poe Awards
 Agatha Awards
 Sci-Fi Awards
 Bram Stoker Awards

 See All Award Winners

The RITA Awards
The Award
Winners and Nominees
Previous Winners
Awards: The RITA Awards
The Award

The RITA Awards are the most prestigious awards in the romance publishing industry. The awards are presented annually for outstanding romance novels in a variety of categories, including contemporary single title, Regency, inspirational, romantic suspense, paranormal, first book, short historical, and long historical.

Choosing the Winners

Novels entered in the RITA contest are judged by the writer-members of the Romance Writers of America (RWA) for quality of writing and overall excellence in the romance genre.


The Romance Writers of America is the world's largest nonprofit genre writers' organization. RWA provides networking and support to published and aspiring writers seriously pursuing a career in romantic fiction.