Latest Posts

What Should You Read in the Year of the Monkey?

new beginnings

What Should You Read in the Year of the Monkey?

Today is the first day of the Chinese New Year, officially kicking off the Year of the Monkey. In the Chinese zodiac tradition, each year...
Colorado and the Carolinas Face Off in a Musical Super Bowl

are you ready for some records?

Colorado and the Carolinas Face Off in a Musical Super Bowl

The Denver Broncos take on the Carolina Panthers (no, really!) at this year’s Super Bowl, and that made us wonder how many bands in...
9 Books to Get You Into the Year of the Monkey Spirit!

ringing in the new year

9 Books to Get You Into the Year of the Monkey Spirit!

Gong xi fa cai! We’ve bid adieu to the Year of the Sheep, and we’re kicking off the Year of the Monkey 2016 with nine auspicious books.   Literature...
6 Sparkling 2016 Debuts to Watch For

hotly anticipated

6 Sparkling 2016 Debuts to Watch For

Why do literary debuts create such a stir? Maybe it’s the fact that anything is possible in an author’s very first book, and readers who pick...
8 Reasons Reading is Better than Watching Football

sportsketball

8 Reasons Reading is Better than Watching Football

It’s nearly that time again, that moment every year when the whole country pretends we’ve always been huge football fans and sits down to watch the...

2 comments

An Intriguing Offer Leads to an Existential Crisis in Rachel Cantor’s Sophomore Novel, Good On Paper

new releases

An Intriguing Offer Leads to an Existential Crisis in Rachel Cantor’s Sophomore Novel, Good On Paper

Brooklyn, NY, doesn’t lack for intellectual writers that can put together a densely layered, heady, urban story about densely layered, heady, urban...
On February 20th, Join Us in Stores to Celebrate Awards Season

academy awards

On February 20th, Join Us in Stores to Celebrate Awards Season

Awards season is here, and we’re celebrating! Head to your local Barnes & Noble store on Saturday, February 20th, to prep for the Academy...
10 2016 Novels with Killer Elevator Pitches

resistance is futile

10 2016 Novels with Killer Elevator Pitches

New year, new list of must-read books—so if you’re still trying to finish off last year’s list, get cracking, because time waits for no reader. 2016...
10 Great Books for Fans of New and Returning TV Shows in 2016

read then watch

10 Great Books for Fans of New and Returning TV Shows in 2016

When you’re a book nerd, the challenge of loving a TV show is finding books that will hit the same sweet spot while you wait for the next season...
6 Critical Reads for Black History Month

black history month

6 Critical Reads for Black History Month

February once again rings in Black History Month, and while ideally we’re all reading diversely year round, now is the perfect time to finally dig...
February’s Top Picks in History

top picks

February’s Top Picks in History

This month’s top history picks have a decidedly political tinge, just in time for primary season. There are books about war (Mark Bowden’s...
February’s Top Picks in Fiction

new releases

February’s Top Picks in Fiction

This February is a big month for juicy releases from some of your favorite authors. Yann Martel returns with another trippy, animal-filled rumination that...

5 comments

Follow BNReads