• Arctic Summer

    Arctic Summer

    By DAMON GALGUT

    Imagining the trip to Bharat — and sexual awakening — that inspired E. M. Forster to write A Passage to India. Review by Mark Athitakis.

  • The Southern Reach Trilogy

    The Southern Reach Trilogy

    By JEFF VANDERMEER

    With Acceptance, a three-volume expedition into the uncanny reaches its climax. Review by Paul Di Filippo.

  • Station Eleven

    Station Eleven

    By EMILY ST. JOHN MANDEL

    In the wake of a worldwide pandemic, a search for what might endure. Review by Stefan Beck.

Latest Posts

CRIME & PUNISHMENT

Summer of the Dead

Summer of the Dead

By JULIA KELLER

Prosecutor Bell Elkins returns for her third mystery set in small-town West Virginia.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

After We Kill You, We Will Welcome You Back as Honored Guests

After We Kill You, We Will Welcome You Back as Honored Guests

By TED RALL

A writer-cartoonist’s compassionate report from Afghanistan’s front lines.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

INTERVIEWS

Jason Segel: The Promise That More Exists

Jason Segel: The Promise That More Exists

The film and television star on learning to write for himself, his greatest fears, and the childhood experiences that spurred his debut novel Nightmares!

Posted by × September 9, 2014 ×

HUMOR

Gone Glamping

Gone Glamping

“It means ‘Glamorously Camping,’ and I didn’t make it up.”

Posted by × September 9, 2014 ×

GUEST BOOKS

Laird Hunt

Laird Hunt

The author of Neverhome on great stories of “a few fierce women.”

Posted by × September 9, 2014 ×

READING IN COMMON

The Children Act

The Children Act

By IAN McEWAN

The scales of justice are easily unbalanced in the new novel from the author of Atonement and Saturday.

Posted by × September 8, 2014 ×

DAYBOOK

Alphabet of Hope

Alphabet of Hope

This week in history: opportunities for millions of illiterate people worldwide, one library at a time.

Posted by × September 8, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Dataclysm: Who We Are (When We Think No One’s Looking)

Dataclysm: Who We Are (When We Think No One’s Looking)

By CHRISTIAN RUDDER

Why looking at our dating profiles and status updates might yield a clearer picture of America than any census.

Posted by × September 8, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

The Emerald Light in the Air

The Emerald Light in the Air

By DONALD ANTRIM

A novelist of the surreal finds his true calling: concise tales of loss, love, and liquor.

Posted by × September 3, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

The Organized Mind

The Organized Mind

By DANIEL J. LEVITIN

Don’t try to do anything else while you read this.

Posted by × September 3, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

10:04

10:04

By BEN LERNER

The author of Leaving the Atocha Station takes a Whitmanesque turn.

Posted by × September 3, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

The Symmetry Teacher

The Symmetry Teacher

By ANDREI BITOV

A Russian novel-within-a-novel unfolds with origami precision.

Posted by × September 3, 2014 ×

INTERVIEWS

More than Once in a Lifetime: David Mitchell on “The Bone Clocks”

More than Once in a Lifetime: David Mitchell on “The Bone Clocks”

“My original aspiration was to capture something massive, to go for broke.” David Mitchell talks about psychic battles and the vision of tomorrow in his new novel.

Posted by × September 2, 2014 ×

GUEST BOOKS

Stephan Eirik Clark

Stephan Eirik Clark

Delicious food stories from the author of Sweetness #9.

Posted by × September 2, 2014 ×

HUMOR

The New Golf

The New Golf

“The hole too far away? Use our dropbox, conveniently located in the hip new nightclub located just off the 9th green.”

Posted by × September 2, 2014 ×