• The Hollywood Trilogy

    The Hollywood Trilogy

    By DON CARPENTER

    A lost master’s reissued gems balance grime and luster on the mean streets of Los Angeles. Review by Charles Taylor.

  • Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion

    Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion

    By SAM HARRIS

    Can neuroscience, meditation, and pharmaceuticals open the door to nirvana? Review by James Parker.

  • Marie-Helene Bertino: The Dough Will Tell You When It’s Dough

    Marie-Helene Bertino: The Dough Will Tell You When It’s Dough

    Talking the difference between writing novels and short stories, Hollywood, and secret pizza recipes with the author of 2 A.M. at The Cat’s Pajamas.

Latest Posts

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Arctic Summer

Arctic Summer

By DAMON GALGUT

Imagining the trip to Bharat — and sexual awakening — that inspired E. M. Forster to write A Passage to India.

Posted by × September 12, 2014 ×

CRIME & PUNISHMENT

Summer of the Dead

Summer of the Dead

By JULIA KELLER

Prosecutor Bell Elkins returns for her third mystery set in small-town West Virginia.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

THE SPECULATOR

The Southern Reach Trilogy

The Southern Reach Trilogy

By JEFF VANDERMEER

With Acceptance, a three-volume expedition into the uncanny reaches its climax.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Station Eleven

Station Eleven

By EMILY ST. JOHN MANDEL

In the wake of a worldwide pandemic, a search for what might endure.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

After We Kill You, We Will Welcome You Back as Honored Guests

After We Kill You, We Will Welcome You Back as Honored Guests

By TED RALL

A writer-cartoonist’s compassionate report from Afghanistan’s front lines.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

INTERVIEWS

Jason Segel: The Promise That More Exists

Jason Segel: The Promise That More Exists

The film and television star on learning to write for himself, his greatest fears, and the childhood experiences that spurred his debut novel Nightmares!

Posted by × September 9, 2014 ×

HUMOR

Gone Glamping

Gone Glamping

“It means ‘Glamorously Camping,’ and I didn’t make it up.”

Posted by × September 9, 2014 ×

GUEST BOOKS

Laird Hunt

Laird Hunt

The author of Neverhome on great stories of “a few fierce women.”

Posted by × September 9, 2014 ×

READING IN COMMON

The Children Act

The Children Act

By IAN McEWAN

The scales of justice are easily unbalanced in the new novel from the author of Atonement and Saturday.

Posted by × September 8, 2014 ×

DAYBOOK

Alphabet of Hope

Alphabet of Hope

This week in history: opportunities for millions of illiterate people worldwide, one library at a time.

Posted by × September 8, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Dataclysm: Who We Are (When We Think No One’s Looking)

Dataclysm: Who We Are (When We Think No One’s Looking)

By CHRISTIAN RUDDER

Why looking at our dating profiles and status updates might yield a clearer picture of America than any census.

Posted by × September 8, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

The Emerald Light in the Air

The Emerald Light in the Air

By DONALD ANTRIM

A novelist of the surreal finds his true calling: concise tales of loss, love, and liquor.

Posted by × September 3, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

The Organized Mind

The Organized Mind

By DANIEL J. LEVITIN

Don’t try to do anything else while you read this.

Posted by × September 3, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

10:04

10:04

By BEN LERNER

The author of Leaving the Atocha Station takes a Whitmanesque turn.

Posted by × September 3, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

The Symmetry Teacher

The Symmetry Teacher

By ANDREI BITOV

A Russian novel-within-a-novel unfolds with origami precision.

Posted by × September 3, 2014 ×