• The White Van

    The White Van

    By PATRICK HOFFMAN

    A woman finds her courage on the run from vengeful gangsters and a heist gone awry. Review by Anna Mundow.

  • The Woman in the Mirror: The Novels of Elena Ferrante

    The Woman in the Mirror: The Novels of Elena Ferrante

    With Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay, the story of a woman’s life finds epic dimension in an interior landscape. Essay by John Freeman.

  • The Dog

    The Dog

    By JOSEPH O'NEILL

    If you’re a servant of the unspeakably wealthy, are you responsible for what you help them do? Review by Katherine A. Powers.

Latest Posts

HUMOR

What I Want My Children to Be When They Grow Up

What I Want My Children to Be When They Grow Up

“I want something more for my kids. I want them to grow up to be closely held corporations.”

Posted by × September 23, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Thirteen Days in September

Thirteen Days in September

By LAWRENCE WRIGHT

How the Camp David Accords between Israel and Egypt happened — against the odds.

Posted by × September 17, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

The Doubtful Child: Marcos Giralt Torrente

The Doubtful Child: Marcos Giralt Torrente

One of Spain’s most acclaimed novelists traces his development in both fiction and memoir.

Posted by × September 17, 2014 ×

GUEST BOOKS

Ted Rall

Ted Rall

Trips to Tibet, North Korea, Palestine, and Afghanistan with the acclaimed writer-cartoonist.

Posted by × September 16, 2014 ×

HUMOR

Monkey Did

Monkey Did

“[Wikipedia] has rejected a photographer’s request to remove a set of photos of a crested black macaque because the photos were taken by the monkey.”

Posted by × September 16, 2014 ×

DAYBOOK

An Audacious Proposition

An Audacious Proposition

This week in history: Magellan and the Mayflower set sail, inspiring stories of courage, exotica, and flying cows.

Posted by × September 16, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

The Hollywood Trilogy

The Hollywood Trilogy

By DON CARPENTER

A lost master’s reissued gems balance grime and luster on the mean streets of Los Angeles.

Posted by × September 16, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion

Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion

By SAM HARRIS

Can neuroscience, meditation, and pharmaceuticals open the door to nirvana?

Posted by × September 15, 2014 ×

DISCOVER

Marie-Helene Bertino: The Dough Will Tell You When It’s Dough

Marie-Helene Bertino: The Dough Will Tell You When It’s Dough

Talking the difference between writing novels and short stories, Hollywood, and secret pizza recipes with the author of 2 A.M. at The Cat’s Pajamas.

Posted by × September 15, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Arctic Summer

Arctic Summer

By DAMON GALGUT

Imagining the trip to Bharat — and sexual awakening — that inspired E. M. Forster to write A Passage to India.

Posted by × September 12, 2014 ×

CRIME & PUNISHMENT

Summer of the Dead

Summer of the Dead

By JULIA KELLER

Prosecutor Bell Elkins returns for her third mystery set in small-town West Virginia.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

THE SPECULATOR

The Southern Reach Trilogy

The Southern Reach Trilogy

By JEFF VANDERMEER

With Acceptance, a three-volume expedition into the uncanny reaches its climax.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Station Eleven

Station Eleven

By EMILY ST. JOHN MANDEL

In the wake of a worldwide pandemic, a search for what might endure.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

After We Kill You, We Will Welcome You Back as Honored Guests

After We Kill You, We Will Welcome You Back as Honored Guests

By TED RALL

A compassionate, “unembedded” report from Afghanistan’s front lines.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

INTERVIEWS

Jason Segel: The Promise That More Exists

Jason Segel: The Promise That More Exists

The film and television star on learning to write for himself, his greatest fears, and the childhood experiences that spurred his debut novel Nightmares!

Posted by × September 9, 2014 ×