• The Moor’s Account

    The Moor’s Account

    By LAILA LALAMI

    Meet one early black explorer at the dawn of America: a Moroccan slave aboard a ship of ruthless gold hunters in 1527. Review by Stefan Beck.

  • The White Van

    The White Van

    By PATRICK HOFFMAN

    A woman finds her courage on the run from vengeful gangsters and a heist gone awry. Review by Anna Mundow.

  • The Woman in the Mirror: The Novels of Elena Ferrante

    The Woman in the Mirror: The Novels of Elena Ferrante

    With Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay, the story of a woman’s life finds epic dimension in an interior landscape. Essay by John Freeman.

Latest Posts

HUMOR

What I Want My Children to Be When They Grow Up

What I Want My Children to Be When They Grow Up

“I want something more for my kids. I want them to grow up to be closely held corporations.”

Posted by × September 23, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Thirteen Days in September

Thirteen Days in September

By LAWRENCE WRIGHT

How the Camp David Accords between Israel and Egypt happened — against the odds.

Posted by × September 17, 2014 ×

A READING LIFE

The Dog

The Dog

By JOSEPH O'NEILL

If you’re a servant of the unspeakably wealthy, are you responsible for what you help them do? Review by Katherine A. Powers.

Posted by × September 17, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

The Doubtful Child: Marcos Giralt Torrente

The Doubtful Child: Marcos Giralt Torrente

One of Spain’s most acclaimed novelists traces his development in both fiction and memoir.

Posted by × September 17, 2014 ×

GUEST BOOKS

Ted Rall

Ted Rall

Trips to Tibet, North Korea, Palestine, and Afghanistan with the acclaimed writer-cartoonist.

Posted by × September 16, 2014 ×

HUMOR

Monkey Did

Monkey Did

“[Wikipedia] has rejected a photographer’s request to remove a set of photos of a crested black macaque because the photos were taken by the monkey.”

Posted by × September 16, 2014 ×

DAYBOOK

An Audacious Proposition

An Audacious Proposition

This week in history: Magellan and the Mayflower set sail, inspiring stories of courage, exotica, and flying cows.

Posted by × September 16, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

The Hollywood Trilogy

The Hollywood Trilogy

By DON CARPENTER

A lost master’s reissued gems balance grime and luster on the mean streets of Los Angeles.

Posted by × September 16, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion

Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion

By SAM HARRIS

Can neuroscience, meditation, and pharmaceuticals open the door to nirvana?

Posted by × September 15, 2014 ×

DISCOVER

Marie-Helene Bertino: The Dough Will Tell You When It’s Dough

Marie-Helene Bertino: The Dough Will Tell You When It’s Dough

Talking the difference between writing novels and short stories, Hollywood, and secret pizza recipes with the author of 2 A.M. at The Cat’s Pajamas.

Posted by × September 15, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Arctic Summer

Arctic Summer

By DAMON GALGUT

Imagining the trip to Bharat — and sexual awakening — that inspired E. M. Forster to write A Passage to India.

Posted by × September 12, 2014 ×

CRIME & PUNISHMENT

Summer of the Dead

Summer of the Dead

By JULIA KELLER

Prosecutor Bell Elkins returns for her third mystery set in small-town West Virginia.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

THE SPECULATOR

The Southern Reach Trilogy

The Southern Reach Trilogy

By JEFF VANDERMEER

With Acceptance, a three-volume expedition into the uncanny reaches its climax.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

Station Eleven

Station Eleven

By EMILY ST. JOHN MANDEL

In the wake of a worldwide pandemic, a search for what might endure.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×

REVIEWS & ESSAYS

After We Kill You, We Will Welcome You Back as Honored Guests

After We Kill You, We Will Welcome You Back as Honored Guests

By TED RALL

A compassionate, “unembedded” report from Afghanistan’s front lines.

Posted by × September 10, 2014 ×