Customer Reviews for

1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BUY THIS NOW

    This is one of the most touching, heart breaking and inspiring books I've read in a long time. I suggest it for anyone with the slightest amount of curiosity about what happened during Hurricane Katrina. Please read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Chris Rose touches your heart with this book

    Chris lets you into the world of New Orleans after Katrina. His humor, compassion and love of his city make you realize that we must support and rebuild this wonderful city. Each chapter tells a different story and at the end of the book you are wanting more.<BR/><BR/>God bless Chris for sharing his life after Katrina.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Laugh and Cry

    This book is a very accurate thought process of what we were all thinking in the aftermath of Katrina. We didn't really know whether to laugh or cry at some situations. Didn't do any good to cry, so we just plugged along. Chris Rose gave a very humanistic view of our frail state at that time. At times I cried while reading his descriptions and sometimes I laughed out loud or grinned and those around me understood why when I read it outloud to them. I sincerely enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    At times as powerful as Katrina herself...

    This collection of columns by Times-Picayune columnist Chris Rose chronicles with heartbreaking detail the impact of Hurricane Katrina on the city of New Orleans and on Rose himself. As with all anthologies, the entries are uneven in both tone and quality. Some will elict a chuckle, some a shrug and too many will leave you with tears welling up in your eyes. But on balance this book eloquently captures the lingering delicate balance that exists in post-Katrina New Orleans between hope and despair. The introduction written by Rose is important as it briefly touches on the toll the storm and the job of covering this story took on him and his family. I imagine that his personal troubles are like many thousands of others. It is a potent and compelling book that I would strongly recommend to everyone especially people travelling to New Orleans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    The only book on Katrina Id tell a friend to read.

    Only a person who lives in New Olreans and loves New Orleans could write a book like this. If you really wanna know what it was (and is) like there after 'it', read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is an accurate description of the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. If anyone wants an idea of what New Orleans and the surrounding area was like this is it. Chris Rose has done an excellent job at describing the tragedy we endured and are still enduring yet he does it with class. He just tells things as he seen/witnessed/experienced it. This description is accurate without being grotesque, although he could have been. Anyone from New Orleans should read this, this is about our city, our history, our lives. I cry and laugh at this truly amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read this book in 2 days. It is the best post-Katrina book I've seen so far. It's a chronicle of the days and months after the storm that only a local could really put into words. It was both sad and laugh out loud funny at times. It's a must read for anyone who wants to get a glimpse of how the people from New Orleans really feel about their devestated hometown and why we stay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    A Local Voice Given to a Local Disaster A++++

    If you love New Orleans, this is the book to read!On my first visit back to NOLA after Katrina, I was told by a local that this was the definitive voice of how New Orleanians have felt after Katrina, so I made it a point to read this book as soon as I returned. I am so glad I did. Everyone who loves New Orleans - and even those who do not - should read this book instead of listening to those who think THEY know New Orleans (politicians, FEMA, etc...). Thank you, Chris Rose. REBUILD NEW ORLEANS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Poignant and Astonishingly Funny

    Can't praise this book enough, it chronicles real life in New Orleans from the day after the storm. This book was assigned to incoming freshman at Tulane University this fall, and it certainly surprised many with it's personal eye-witness account of a great city under extreme conditions. Very well written, insightful, powerful while at the same time striking the perfect chord between pathos and giddy insanity that is New Orleans - - - full of the charm and characters the flood couldn't scour away - - - like he said, you can't make this stuff up. Most helpful is the author's clear discription of where and why the system failed America's greatest city and why the rest of us should care. Also explores the issue of coping with depression when everyone else you see is suffering from the same. This is a treasure of a book and I plan on giving it to all my friends for Christmas. It's just incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    THE best book to read about H. Katrina

    You won't learn how little storms off the coast of Africa become overblown hurricanes in the Gulf of Mexico, or the effect the Bermuda Low has on the late summer weather of south Louisiana. But you will experience life in New Orleans post-K despite inept governments at all levels and the recently (about 2 yrs.) completed federal levee 'protection' system in the city.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1