×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

1 dead in attic / Edition 1
     

1 dead in attic / Edition 1

4.8 33
by Chris Rose
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0977771504

ISBN-13: 2900977771508

Pub. Date: 02/28/2006

Publisher: Chris Rose Books

1 Dead in Attic is a collection of stories by Times-Picayune columnist Chris Rose, recounting the first four harrowing months of life in New Orleans after Katrina.

It is a roller coaster ride of observations, commentary, emotions, tragedy and even humor - in a way that only Rose could find in a devastated wasteland.

They are stories of the dead and the living,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is difficult for me to discuss the events in and surrounding this book. That is why i am so glad Chris Rose is around to tell the world how I feel. If you love New Orleans... if you love the juxtaposition between seemingly unrelated objects, if you love to see the beauty in the mundane, if you look around you and want to laugh and cry at the tragic beauty of the world... you will love this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked this one up at the airport in New Orleans. After coming back to visit the area a year later and seeing everything that still needs to be done. You can still see some of these images that Chris Rose describes in this book. For those of us not living there then or now it really gives you a perspective of just how dire things really were.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was doubting why we still live here... After reading this book I remember why my family still does. Those who continually ask us 'why' either you have never visited New Orleans or you are used to quitting.... Proud to be home...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Rose truly tells the story of how things were here after 'The Thing'. He managed to pull more tears out of me, when I thought there were none left.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. I cried over this whole mess all over again. I laughed until I cried as well. This book perfectly represents the heart of this city. Go Saints!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book in Metarie when I was down in NOLA cooking for volunteers. It really captures the essence of the soul of New Orleans and puts very succinctly how everyone we met felt about their city, their government, and their neighbors. A must read for everyone with a heart!
Guest More than 1 year ago
For those who think it was just an interesting interlude on CNN, read this book. Understand this city. Care. We have to as a nation, because our government clearly does not. The scope of the damage is unimaginable. This book helps you to grasp the spirit of one of the most incredible cities in America. We have to protect her. We must not forget that she still needs our help.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just got back from a mission trip rebuilding houses in Slidell and hearing the stories of friends in New Orleans. This book captures the experience and I have purchased one for every member of my mission team.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It has all the good qualities in a book..you can't put it down. It is really good therapy for New Orleanians!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Accurate account of days and months following Hurricane Katrina and the devastation in New Orleans. Chris lives it and tells it like it is !!
Guest More than 1 year ago
These writings portray such an accurate insight into the lives of those 'making the best of it' in New Orleans and living with the aftermath of Katrina. Mixed with humor, Chris Rose relates the challenges, heartbreak,sadness and the surviving spirit of New Orleans and its people that continues to prevail and make it so very special.