Customer Reviews for

10 Days to a Less Defiant Child: The Breakthrough Program for Overcoming Your Child's Difficult Behavior

Average Rating 3
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    Very Easy to use

    We have seen results with this book. Our ODD child is definitely better and the stress level is lower in the house.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Guidance!!

    Thought this book was remarkable. I have tried many of the techniques. Overall see improvements in the kids.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Awesome book

    I love love love this book.. As the mother of a 8 year old with ADHD this book was a life saver. My first thoughts reading this was "what the heck can I learn from this" But I kept reading and putting into effect some of the advise in it.. I was shocked to say the least that my relationship with my son improved... I did not think that everything would be roses and kittens in the 10 day time frame but with both me and my husband using what the book pointed out to us on a daily basis our son is much easier to handle... I highly recommend this book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    The book is aimed at kids aged 4 to 18, and we have a 5 year old

    The book is aimed at kids aged 4 to 18, and we have a 5 year old that had screaming temper tantrums, hitting others, hitting self, and wishing for their own death and talk of planning their own death. I knew then and know now it was mostly a cry for attention, but letting that kind of behavior repeat itself for years has got to lead to depression or anxiety or real suicide. As parents we used very loud yelling and spankings to make the child stop misbehaving for a short time, but each time we raised our voice or our hands, it just ensured the tears and the next round of tantrum happened sooner, louder, and harder. The child was fearless, asking to be hit and asking to be screamed at, and displaying no sadness when we took away television, toys, or time with friends.

    This review will read as though it's sponsored, but please believe me it is not. The advice in this book described the child's mental and emotional situation in detail, and also explains our ideas as parents perfectly. Then it ties those things together to explained why our approach as parents was not working, and gave specific advice to address our child's emotional and mental problems properly. Honest to goodness, we got improvements in mood and obedience almost immediately. I am thrilled.

    Obviously every child and every parent is different, this book may not work for you. But it's probably the best $12 I spent in the past year.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Capri

    This was a great book and i thank you so much. I did everything you said and it worked. God bless you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1