Customer Reviews for

10 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend this book.

This book gives 5-8 page biographies and additional study resources on 10 people who were highly influential in the growth of the Christian church. Each entry gives a good list and synopsis of the person's writings and additional full-length biographies.

posted by 2532640 on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Kind of dry, but overall a good message

It was hard to read this because the excerpt leaves out a lot of background on the individuals. It was a little dry also. I know that the subject matter was good, just had a hard time getting through it.

posted by Dawn_ODee on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kind of dry, but overall a good message

    It was hard to read this because the excerpt leaves out a lot of background on the individuals. It was a little dry also. I know that the subject matter was good, just had a hard time getting through it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Very Good, Easy Read, Lots of Good Info.

    This book is very interesting. I found myself going back and re-reading several chapters to make sure I had the information correct. I would recommend this book to others, particularly people working in ministry or thinking about going to seminary.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Highly recommend this book.

    This book gives 5-8 page biographies and additional study resources on 10 people who were highly influential in the growth of the Christian church. Each entry gives a good list and synopsis of the person's writings and additional full-length biographies.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Great Read

    This book though small packs a lot of Christian history. I've enjoyed reading the short chapters and the historical background of some of the greatest religious leaders. I highly recommend all Christians get the book and find out for themselves!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Refreshing

    An inside look on Preachers and good Christians who laid a foundation of hard work that is still being used in services to this day. It was good to read about people with back bones which stood for the truth. Something we all need a little more of today.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    High Recommend...Wonderful Author

    The stories that Wiersbe has included in this book, is an example of true Christian Living. I would recommed this book to anyone wanting a deeper understanding of Faith in Action.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Boring

    With the exception of the articles on Spurgeon amd Moody, this book covers relatively obscure theologans.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Interesting Read - good references to other books

    I really enjoyed this short book. It is a summary of the lives and acts of a few of the best known Christian [this will be my wording] Pastors, My pastor likes to refer to them as "the old dead guys". Mr. Wiersbe takes time to review and recommend some of their writings and biographies, which makes this a good reference.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Unimpressive

    Poorly written biographies that is intent on pushing a certain view of Christian faith, theology and history. I not only put this book down I'm deleting it from my library. Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Just ok

    All I can say is this book was just okay. Didn't quite live up to my expectations about the book and I think some of the info was not correct....like how people were related to the Christians he was talking about.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Lindsey

    There

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Tim

    Sits

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2