Customer Reviews for

100 Cupboards (100 Cupboards Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 302 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A bookseller's perspective

I work in the Children's Department at a Barnes & Noble store, and I read all the kids' books I can, just because I love many of them. I think a good story is a good story, regardless of the age it is written for; indeed, sometimes the best stories are the ones written...
I work in the Children's Department at a Barnes & Noble store, and I read all the kids' books I can, just because I love many of them. I think a good story is a good story, regardless of the age it is written for; indeed, sometimes the best stories are the ones written by authors who were not targeting a specific audience, but writing simply to write. I loved 100 Cupboards. (Another bookseller read it and enjoyed it, and so several of us picked it up and all loved it.) It was well-written in a fresh and unique style, and I found the characters and plot interesting and just different enough from the usual fantasy fare that it stands out. Henry, the protagonist, is an odd boy, which I think some readers will identify with; his cousins are funny and realistic kids. I liked how nice his aunt and uncle were to him after his growing up with bizarre parents, and I think it's implied that they weren't caring enough. The worlds the cupboards lead to are interesting, scary, odd - even the boring one -- the post office -- is interesting. Why a post office? I like that. The author has about a hundred possibilities for stories with all the cupboards in Henry's attic room, and he barely scrapes the surface in this book. I hope very much that we find out more about Henry's world, his parents, and all those other worlds in future books. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a slightly different fantasy book.

posted by BookFiend9 on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Corrupt file

I have no idea how good this book is because it won't load into my son's Nook. It downloads as a corrupt file and can not be opened with Adobe Digital Editions, so I can not transfer it into our Nook.

posted by ErikinCa on January 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 305 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A bookseller's perspective

    I work in the Children's Department at a Barnes & Noble store, and I read all the kids' books I can, just because I love many of them. I think a good story is a good story, regardless of the age it is written for; indeed, sometimes the best stories are the ones written by authors who were not targeting a specific audience, but writing simply to write. I loved 100 Cupboards. (Another bookseller read it and enjoyed it, and so several of us picked it up and all loved it.) It was well-written in a fresh and unique style, and I found the characters and plot interesting and just different enough from the usual fantasy fare that it stands out. Henry, the protagonist, is an odd boy, which I think some readers will identify with; his cousins are funny and realistic kids. I liked how nice his aunt and uncle were to him after his growing up with bizarre parents, and I think it's implied that they weren't caring enough. The worlds the cupboards lead to are interesting, scary, odd - even the boring one -- the post office -- is interesting. Why a post office? I like that. The author has about a hundred possibilities for stories with all the cupboards in Henry's attic room, and he barely scrapes the surface in this book. I hope very much that we find out more about Henry's world, his parents, and all those other worlds in future books. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a slightly different fantasy book.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Great Fantasy Suspense Novel for kiddos!

    I bought this book for my son who is 9yr old. He hasn't really been a reader, but he enjoyed diary of a wimpy kid a lot and we were looking for something that could hold his attention. He loves this book. He read 65 pages in the first sitting! The characters are interesting and fun to follow. The suspense is just right for kids this age. Well written. A fun read.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Need a fast summer book? Well this one's for you...

    Oh of course, fantasy these days is a hard topic. It's a mess and pile of Harry Potter wanna-bes, Twilight wanna-be's, and absoutely everything in between poorly written, poorly executed, and just plain..boring. But thank heaven, fantasy lovers rejoice, this book is a breath of fresh air.

    Henry York is lying awake one night to find plaster crumbling from his wall...onto his head. Not sleepy, he chisels away until he discovers...one whole side of his attic wall is entirely cupboards of every shape and size imaginable. And...they all lead to different places. Some mysterious, some enchanting, and some...evil beyond words.

    I've long awaited to read this novel, after hearing hype after hype about it. When it finally was avaible at my huge local library, i grabbed it eagerly, and just about finished it in a day. N.D. Wilson's got some pretty good stuff here. It's a simple but engaging, not to mention ORINGINAL (which counts for EVERYthing these days! Harry Potter wanna-be, anyone?) and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The characters are loveable, the story is unique, the settings easy to imagine, and the writing is simple yet clever. As I have said in my title, it's the perfect summer read becuase it's not 100 pages yet, but goes by FAST, and it's satisying and great for a stormy summer night on the porch, and later, since you can't put it down, under the covers.

    As for content, it'll make parents happy. No language, sexual content, and mild violence. Some things, such as man eating wolves and angry witches, might upset or frighten very young children but this book isn't intended for the ages that might be scared by it. It would also be a wonderful family read out-loud.

    So that's the pros...now, even though this is a delightful book, there's still some cons, as even the greatest books possess. This whole story was building up to an amazing ending...and that, it did not have. It left me wanting more, and making sure I hadn't skipped pages. The ending is lacking the sparkle and excitment the rest of this book was, i was expecting KAPOW! and got not even a rumble of thunder. Sure, the author wanted his readers hungry for more (cough cough- sequel) but doesn't this book deserve to be a stand alone? Certainly. But with the ending it contains, this book could never be one. what does that make it lack? substance.

    Also, of course, with a whole wall of 99 cupboards you'd think some of them would lead to some pretty amazing places...which, okay, okay, they did...just not what I was expecting. At all. Don't expect any Mad Hatters or freaky parents with button eyes, people. Those cupboard doors might as well lead to your basment. When they are wicked and evil places, they're places that could leave you yawning. Again, i suspected KAPOW and got...a whisper. I won't give away the hidden worlds behind the cupboards, so you can see for yourself, for they just weren't quite exciting enough for me. Or maybe we just don't know enough about them yet. (see sequel, which i haven't read yet)

    Last but not least, some of the author's descriptions seemed messy and confusing. Some I had to read twice, three times to grasp what he was talking about. All these cons are VERY VERY minor, and thus this book still begs to be read and shared.

    A delightful book. clean, exciting, a heck of an adventure. Give it to kids (AND adults) who are craving a summer adventure in their backyards.

    ~thanks for reading!~

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    100 Cupboards Full of Fun!

    Although I had to wait in line for my wife and six reading-age kids to complete all the books, I finally just finished enjoying this first of three in the series. The idea of finding a mysterious wall of portals to other worlds has that unique creative spark that seems lacking in many fictional works today. I applaud N.D. Wilson for developing characters and places with a depth and quirkiness that makes the story seem all the more believable. If you like Tolkien and C.S. Lewis' tales, you're sure to find this 'normal-kids-get-swept-into-fantasy-land' book a fun read. I can't speak for the remaining books quite yet, but I'm sure if they're anything like the first, they'll be equally enjoyable. My kids are nodding an enthusiastic 'Yes!'

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    That is one DARN GOOD BOOK! :)

    Full of twists and surprises, a GREAT read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    WONDERFULL AND AMAZING!!!

    100 cupboards is an exelent book. Some parts were really scary,it made it hard to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING BOOK

    100 Cupboards, By N.D. Wilson is an amazing book, you can not put it down. This book gets more and more exiting as it goes. A definite Nail biter! if you are looking for a thrilling fantasy book, this is the one for you. So Read N.D Wilson's Book, 100 Cupboards today.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Scary question answer

    I am a seventh grader from London. It is not a scary book but it is sure exciting. There are certain bits where it is confusing but it sorts out. My only objection to this book is that it started so bloody slow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Hard to put down

    This book is amazing!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Best book ever!

    This is one of the best books that i have ever read before in my whole entire

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Best book ever

    This book is amazing!!! It has details and a intresting and exiting plot. The chareters have flaws and talents. The series even get better from here with some unexpected surprises.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Loved it :D

    I read this book a couple years ago and i loved it. Yesterday I saw it and bought it, it was way better the first time! I reccomend it for ages 6 and up. It is a great book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Keys

    Try to find 2 keys

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Adventurous, but boring sometimes

    In the beginning of the book, and by that I mean the 1st 122 pgs. and more, it was sorrta boring. Some of the book didn't make any sence, like tge mailbox. How can there be a room, but at the same time a mailbox? The end got better, but in the beginning, I was BORED!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Corrupt file

    I have no idea how good this book is because it won't load into my son's Nook. It downloads as a corrupt file and can not be opened with Adobe Digital Editions, so I can not transfer it into our Nook.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Fantasy Out of the Box

    N.D. Wilson's 100 Cupboards series is without question at or very near the top of my new-found love for fantasy list.

    Can I just say that I'm completely superficial? I adored the doors to the "cupboards" on the jacket of this book. They're all so very different and unique. Each door made me more and more curious until I just couldn't wait to get back to the story. Then, once again, mid chapter after being irritated by being interrupted again, I'd pick up the book, see another door, and my mind would go wild. I think my favorite door is the white one with the single knob and a "gable" on it in the dead center of the front. It's just so COOL.

    This book has everything that great fantasy should have. Henry York is a sympathetic character. You immediately love and identify with him. He's not perfect, but he's admirable. When characters are too perfect, they become annoying. If they don't have qualities to emulate, they aren't worth reading about. But there's more to this story than an excellent hero- the other characters are equally well-crafted in their own rights.

    In addition to excellent characterization, the book has the age-old good vs. evil. I kept wanting to try to compare it to other novels, Lewis', Rowling's, and Flanagan's, but while there are minor similarities (after all, there is nothing new under the sun), Mr. Wilson has created something so uniquely his that comparisons aren't just. The book stands alone on its own merit. Yes, you enter another world like you do with Narnia. The doors take you there much like the Wardrobe did in LWW, but there are so many different places and "portholes" that you truly can't call it Narniaesque.

    There is "magic" in the story. If Narnia bothers you, these books aren't for you or your children. However, if you find Narnia perfectly acceptable but chose to forgo Harry Potter, I'd say this is still a good fit. The "magic" in this book is of the same feel and purpose as it is in Narnia.

    It's hard. I want to tell you of so many things that I loved about the story. I love the misunderstood boy who isn't stereotypical even though you'd think he should be. I want to tell you about the uncle selling tumbleweeds on eBay. That was genius! Brilliant. There are so many little things like that, but I just can't do it. I'm afraid I'd ruin the story.

    Oh, and once you're done with the first, don't forget the second. Dandelion Fire. you'll never see a field of dandelions the same again.

    I owe C.S. Lewis, J.K. Rowling, John Flanagan, Gerald Morris, and definitely N.D. Wilson a huge debt of gratitude. They inspired me to write my own fantasy series. It's not of their caliber. I'd never presume to assume it was, but it's mine and without these and other great fantasy authors, I'd never have even thought of it. I'm already planning my next series!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Happy we found it

    Our kids are quick readers, so we're always on the hunt for new books to read. On one of our many trips to Barnes & Noble, we came upon 100 Cupboards. It was new to us; we hadn't heard of it before -- guess we were judging a book by its cover, because the artwork is interesting (and perfect for the story.) Our 13-year-old daughter and 11-year-old son both read the book and enjoyed it a lot. I read it too, and it was an entertaining story. It's mostly fast-paced with just enough excitement and peril to keep the reader interested. A couple of scary moments that might be a bit much for a younger reader (under 10) but otherwise not very frightening. We will definitely be looking for the sequel and for other books written by N.D. Wilson.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    Cool Story!

    I think it is cool because it would be fun to explore different worlds like Henry and Henrietta do in the story. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Allison Fraclose for TeensReadToo.com

    Twelve-year-old Henry York's world-traveling parents have been kidnapped, so he has moved in with his aunt, uncle, and three cousins at their old farm home in Henry, Kansas. Even though he's stuck in a tiny converted closet up in the attic, Henry almost doesn't mind living with his relatives. In fact, he's kind of excited about it, because for the first time in his life, he can play baseball without a helmet, sit in the back of a truck, and own a knife of his very own (which his Uncle Frank bought for him). <BR/><BR/>One night, while Henry's lying on his bed in the little attic closet, a piece of plaster falls off of the wall behind him and hits him in the head. With his cousin Henrietta's help, he rips down all of the plaster on that one side to discover an entire wall of mysterious cupboards. In one, they can see a glowing yellow room and a man's leg. From another, wind howls and rain pours into the room when the door is opened. <BR/><BR/>Most of the cupboards are locked, but there is another mystery waiting in Grandfather's bedroom, which hasn't been opened since he passed away two years ago. Are all of these locked doors somehow connected? More importantly, what wonderful (or terrifying) things lie beyond them...? <BR/><BR/>Despite a slow start and a rather convoluted ending, this story certainly delivers for those itching for the blood-curdling and creepy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    100 Cupboards is great start for a fantasy series. 12 year-old Henry is sent to live with his aunt, uncle and his 3 girl cousins. In his small attic bedroom he discovers 100 cupboards on one wall. When he discovers the ways they open, the adventure begins! Involved are his cousins, a dead grandfather, and others I don't want to mention so you can discover them yourself! I enjoyed this book quite a bit. For anyone who enjoys fantasy mixed with reality, and twists you weren't expecting, this a book for you. I highly recommend it, and I can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 305 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16