Customer Reviews for

100 People Who Are Screwing Up America: (and Al Franken Is #37)

Average Rating 3.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    Fun, fun, fun (For conservatives, that is)

    100 People Who Are Screwing Up America is just plain fun. It's a hilarious book that takes 100 rather crazy people, most of whom are liberals, and explains just what their "crime" against America was. If you are looking to read this I must warn those with liberal views to steer clear of Goldberg's book. You probably want to try 101 People Who Are Really Screwing America(And Bernard Goldberg is Only #73) by Jack Huberman. This was written in response to Goldberg's book, and though I haven't read it, I've looked at the table of contents and you'll probably be delighted to find men and women such as Bill O'Reilly, Dick Cheney, Rush Limbaugh, Roger Ailes and Fox New, Sean Hannity, Ann Coulter and George W. Bush. That should suit your tastes. While one's views on the quality of those on the list might vary along with your political views, it must be noted that Goldberg's Introduction is far superior to Huberman's (While, again, you might hate what he writes in it for his dislike for liberals). While Huberman's seems to only serve as a rant about how Goldberg got it wrong in his book, Goldberg himself writes about what it is he dislikes about liberals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    Finally someone not scared to be politically incorrect

    I absolutely love this book for several reasons. First and foremost, it tells the truth about almost every aspect of American culture today that we, as Americans, are too proud and ignorant to acknowledge. If you have a problem with rap music degrading women and the English language, you will love this book. If you have a problem with people using their 'disabilities,' such as being black, poor, or non-english-speaking to manipulate the system and blame white people, then you will love this book. If you believe the media is liberal-biased and the majority of lawyers pride themselves on profiting from frivilous tort claims, then you will love this book. Otherwise, don't bother reading it because it is completely politically incorrect and will most likely offend you. Another great thing about this book is that you do not necessarily have to read it from from cover to cover, you can pick and choose which 'chapter' you want to read and it will not mess up the succession of the book. Lastly, I love this book because it is very blunt. The author doesn't try to avoid potentially hurting anyone's feelings and tells everything like it is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    This book was OUTSTANDING!

    Much like many other people I have this discussed this book with, Al Franken needs to be higher on the list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    Lifelong liberal exposes enemy from within his own ranks

    Bernie proves that not all liberals will be silent forever. He is exposing some of the most dangerous people in America today, most of whom, but not all, are notorious liberals. If you can't handle truth, don't read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Goldberg exposes the hypocrites!

    Mr. Goldberg offers a concise, and often quite humorous, explanation of the hypocrites on the far liberal left. He calls it like he sees it, and whether you agree or disagree, it is well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Bernie Does It Again

    Bernie Goldberg does it again with this new addition to today's real situation regarding America's social and political status. Indeed most on his list can be seen as harmful to the status of America in the world today. The research and historical references are there for all to see and appreciate. Although it does seem to be slightly slanted to the right, so is the country on a whole, thus making it appropriate for general reading. It is no surprise that most on the list are left wing zealots, because a new philosophy of elitism has spread across this end of the spectrum of social and political ideas in America - again, making his selections appropriate. He is correct in saying that any one of us may take some off his list, and place our own candidates for this topic onto our list of potential contenders, but it is quite illuminating to see a seasoned journalist's perspective. I enjoyed every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Buy This Book

    THis is an excellent book. It is thought provoking which is what a book should be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Finally!

    A great book. The truth in a humerous way and finally someone that is not politically correct.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    too funny!

    the use of humor is wonderful, but that doesn't cloud the heart of the message. a great read for anyone who can handle a candid opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    AMAZING

    Truth on all the disgusting liberals. Proves how idiotic they are and shows how they truly 'screw' up America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Great

    What a fascinating book! The only people whose 'antics' threw me for a loop were Susan Serandon and Tim Robbins who supposedly named their child after a murderer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    He says what needs to be said

    Goldberg says what needs to be said concerning the dumb loudmouths in hollywood and the extreme liberal fools that feel it's ok to bash America. He also hits the nail on the head when it comes to conservative extremists. And Finally, it's nice to know that someone else doesn't agree with the liberal maniacs that call themselves college professors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2005

    Everyone Should Read This

    This is a great book. For years I've had to endure the moral platitudes of people who feel they're in touch with the 'real' America because their personal assistants have said they were and now someone sticks a pin in their hot air balloons. This isn't right vs. left this just points out people who let their egos run wild. Mr. Goldberg spreads the criticism which makes the book great. My only problem is that Al Franken should have been much higher on the list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    I love this book!

    This is a great book! Thank You Mr. Goldberg! Write about another '100' please. Some complain that W and other Conservatives aren't on the list, but unfortunately many young Americans are paying more attention Eminem or Moore movies, than to the Bush Administration. Young Americans are the future. So, yes, Goldbergs list is correct. Some may think he is bias. Well, he wrote the book. For all those who don't agree, write your own list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Great book

    Ive been waiting for a book like this. Humorous yet factual. Yes, the presidential administration and those that govern this country are more likely to be responsible for ruining america, but many celebs etc listed here do play an important role. Figures like Ludacris and Eminem, just to name a few, spout garbage (murderous and dehumanizing lyrics) into our society, corrupting the youth and slowly decimating our moral values from within. This is fact, plain and simple! This will ultimately have a ripple effect throughout our country for years to come. No, Ludacris is not running this country and is therefore not solely responsible for 'screwing up' america, but he and a few others listed in this book, sure need a good swift kick in the pants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Worth every penny!

    I paid full price for this book while standing in a book store in the Providence, RI airport and it was worth every penny. I wound up showing certain people on the list to the people sitting next to me on the plane both coming and going and they just laughed and laughed. When I got home from my trip, I stayed up until I finished it even though I was exhausted, I just had to finish this book! Buy it, you will not regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    He's a Genius

    This man couldn't be more right, though he does leave some people out of his book, the rest is a gold mind of truth. Finally, a book that talks of the people and media that hurt this country

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Read It

    Great book, period. It confirms what common sense told you was true--- but the media expects you to ignore. My only complaint is this: why did Bernard give any publicity to franken?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    RIGHT ON....MR. GOLDBERG

    THIS BOOK IS LONG OVERDUE... FINALLY A JOURNALIST THAT WRITES WHAT THE AVERAGE BLUE BLOODED AMERICAN HAS BEEN FEELING FOR YEARS. IN SPITE OF THE EFFORTS OF THESE '100' AMD MORE..AMERICA IS STILL A COUNTRY THAT IS PROUD...A COUNTRY THAT BELIEVES IN 'ONE NATION UNDER GOD'..A COUNTRY DEVOTED TO FAMILY.. A COUNTRY OF GOOD, DECENT, HARD-WORKING PEOPLE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Hooray for TRUTH!!!!

    This is a really good book. He writes his opinons with alot of intelligence. The people he includes are very bad for our countrty because they don't agree with patriotic AMERICANS who they are pretending to be. Only why is Al Franken number37 he should be NUMBER ONE!!! Also Micheal Moore!!!We need more serious minds to lead our discourse so it is more freedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2