Customer Reviews for

100 Prayers God Loves to Hear, 100 Praise Songs

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    100 Prayers God Loves to Hear,100 Praise Songs

    ISBN: 978-1-4003-1549-9




    Created by: Stephen Elkins

    Illustrations by: Tom O'Connor




    My Review:

    Each devotion is brightly colored to attract your children attention.

    The lessons in this book is short but full of life of God's word.

    All of the stories in this book have a prayer and a song that

    go with it. It makes it fun for the children to relate a song to

    a prayer.




    For instance:

    "A Prayer for Jesus"

    "Jesus' song"-I got joy down in my heart"




    There are 158 prayers and songs in this book.




    In 100 prayers God loves to hear, they have a little prayer

    reminder, which is from a famous/influential person's quote.




    For example:

    Mother Teresa

    "God speaks in the silence of the heart".

    "Listening is the beginning of prayer."




    I love having this in this book because God has equipped many

    people with Godly wisdom that can be instilled in our children.




    100 Prayers God loves to hear has two cd's of all the songs

    that match the prayers in this book.




    Beloved prayers fill this book:




    For Example:

    Psalm 51:10.12

    "Create in me a pure heart,O God

    Restore to me the joy of your salvation

    and grant me a willing spirit,to sustain me".




    The prayer is on one page and a beautiful illustration is on the

    other side and then you listen to the cd after your prayer.




    This book your children will surely love, we did.

    Thanks again to Thomas Nelson for letting us review it.

    Have a blessed day!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    A Fun Way to Pray With Kids

    I was unsure about this book (100 Prayers God Loves to Hear) when requesting it from Booksneeze. Sometimes the "religious and spiritual" genre for kids can be pretty lame.

    Basically, this book contains 100 devotional type pages that a parent can read with their child, all centered around prayer. It's pretty cool because it features prayers from some of our spiritual fathers and mothers (Mother Teresa, St. Francis, Cecil Francis Alexander, etc.) that you can pray with your child.

    One of my favorite entries is one that tells how God made peanuts and grapes, and how we can eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches- and how we can thank God for that! Many of the devotions surround the idea of thankfulness, which is a real important (and difficult) one for kids to learn.

    The book includes 2 CDs with a song that goes along with each devotion. The songs aren't ones that adults would choose to listen to if they were by themselves, but they're not too annoying if one doesn't mind VBS-style music. Asante and Aly both really really liked both the book and music- Asante even asked me to put some music on while we ate lunch!

    Of course, there are a couple, okay, well, one, devotion that I wasn't too fond of (hint: the song that goes with it is America the Beautiful), BUT out of 100 devotions, I can easily skip over the one I don't like and the kids will never know. Overall, this is a really good book. I like the idea and it seems to be really appropriate for young children (probably ages 2-5). I think this would be a good gift to give!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Monday, August 23, 2010100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves To Hear By Stephen Elkins

    Monday, August 23, 2010100 Prayers, 100 Praise Songs God Loves To Hear By Stephen Elkins


    A Great Gift To Give To Your Kids!

    This Book /2cd Set Is A Wonderful Teaching Tool To Use At Home Or In Sunday School.

    Wonderful Illustrations With Many You Will Know And Alot You Will Learn For The First Time.

    Children Will Love This .My Children Listen To It Over And Over Again.

    Considering The World We Live In Today,With Mtv, Radio ,Etc.

    For Something Like This To Come Along And Be Able To Capture A Kids Attention

    Is Surely A Blessing. I Reccomend Anyone With Small Children To Purchase This Book.

    You Won't Be Dissapointed. Simply Heavenly!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Book Review: 100 Prayers God Loves to Hear, 100 Praise Songs

    This book was a answer to my prayer! Yes, my prayer was one that God loved to hear. I was praying for a book with verses and short prayers that i could read to my son before bedtime. I also wished for a CD with short, familiar christian songs that my son could listen and learn. My joy knew no bounds when i received this book from Thomas Nelson for review ! My son has even started calling this book "my book" !

    The author Stephen Elkins has done an excellent compilation of verses, prayers and small thoughts just apt for young minds. Each page has a theme followed by a prayer or a verse. It is filled with colorful pictures and also come with 2 audio CDs. Each CD has 50 melodious songs that can be easily learned by repetition. From cover to cover, this cute book will encourage children to pray and develop the habit of talking to God.

    I love to listen to these songs along with my son as it brings back memories of sunday school and VBS. You can make the investment on this book without second thoughts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect gift set for young ones learning to pray

    100 Prayers God Loves to Hear/100 Praise Songs is a very cute book/cd gift set for little guys and girls. It is appropriate for children of all ages, (I would recommend 0- 10 years,) and fun for parents to read aloud.

    Each page gives a different prayer, along with a little synopsis of where the prayer came from. Each page also has a quote or "prayer reminder." The illustrations are fun and relevant to each prayer.
    I enjoyed that the prayers come from all different sources. There are some directly from the Bible, some from religious leaders and examples like St. Francis of Assisi and Martin Luther, and also some from historical figures like Abraham Lincoln and Robert Louis Stevenson. Each page also features a little picture that tells you which CD and which track number the prayer can be found on. The songs are sweet, and helpful to teach children how to develop their relationship with God through prayer.

    This would make a great gift for your children or grandchildren. I am going to give it to mine for Christmas, though it is appropriate for any occasion, or no occasion at all! I would give this book 5 stars for content, illustrations, and relevance.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1