Customer Reviews for

100 Recipes Every Woman Should Know: Engagement Chicken and 99 Other Fabulous Dishes to Get You Everything You Want in Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

To the review entitled "No Way"...read before you review. This book is good!

It's obvious you did not read this book because absolutely nowhere in the book does the author claim that cooking is a woman's duty or that men shouldn't cook. She only offers fun, easy recipes that will get women excited to cook. There are cookbooks marketed to men, wh...
It's obvious you did not read this book because absolutely nowhere in the book does the author claim that cooking is a woman's duty or that men shouldn't cook. She only offers fun, easy recipes that will get women excited to cook. There are cookbooks marketed to men, why shouldn't there be ones marketed to women? Get OVER yourself and only review books YOU'VE ACTUALLY READ!

I really love this cookbook. The recipes are fun, easy, and most of all, delicious! I love how most of these ingredients you already have onhand (or can find in a traditional grocery store, not just specialty stores). I've had parties with friends and cooked dinner for several people and every dish has been a hit. I'd definitely recommend this book and I am so glad I bought it.

posted by 9272067 on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

No Way

Just by reading the title I know I would never want to read this book. Do not want to touch it, and would not want to go near it.

What makes Cindi so presumptuous that she has the answer to what 'every' woman should know? Non-sense. Then, on top of that, she had asso...
Just by reading the title I know I would never want to read this book. Do not want to touch it, and would not want to go near it.

What makes Cindi so presumptuous that she has the answer to what 'every' woman should know? Non-sense. Then, on top of that, she had associated 'recipes' with 'women', so 'guys don't cook'? So is cooking a woman's 'duty'? I happen to know many guys who like to cook more than some women! So, another non-sense!

With someone who could give such a title to a book, you can't expect that she would have anything remotely valuable to contribute or that any of it could be worth your time.

posted by 7923005 on April 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    To the review entitled "No Way"...read before you review. This book is good!

    It's obvious you did not read this book because absolutely nowhere in the book does the author claim that cooking is a woman's duty or that men shouldn't cook. She only offers fun, easy recipes that will get women excited to cook. There are cookbooks marketed to men, why shouldn't there be ones marketed to women? Get OVER yourself and only review books YOU'VE ACTUALLY READ!

    I really love this cookbook. The recipes are fun, easy, and most of all, delicious! I love how most of these ingredients you already have onhand (or can find in a traditional grocery store, not just specialty stores). I've had parties with friends and cooked dinner for several people and every dish has been a hit. I'd definitely recommend this book and I am so glad I bought it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    100 ways to get everything you want

    I just picked up this cookbook recently. I must say that I am suprised how good it is. The only negative for me is no pictures. I always like to see what the dish should look like. Even though there are no pictures this book is great. I am going to list come of the dishes in the book. This will give everyone an idea of how the book is set up. I find that this is helpful for me.

    Contents:

    Foreward

    Introduction

    The Engagment Chicken Hall of Fame (So Far)

    Plus: Just How Easy is Each Recipe: This is just a one page guide showing you how easy each recipe is using stiletto icon. Its kind of cute if you ask me.

    Engagment Chicken, The recipe that started. This is the first recipe in the book. I am going to try this one soon. I will edit my review.

    First Section:

    Breakfast and Brunch

    Some of the dishes are
    He stayed over Omelet: Omelet with Fresh Greens, Cherry Tomatoes and Parmesan Cheese

    Big Day Steak and Eggs: Sirlon Steak and Fried Eggs and Tomatoes

    Its Cocktail Hour Somewhere Burbon French Toast: Brioche French Toast with Maple-Burbon Syrup

    I'm so healthy smoothie: Honeydew, pineapple and mint smoothie


    Nibbles:

    Any Excuse for a party pigs in a blanket:Cocktail Sausages with rosemary and spicy mustard

    Get Skinny Dip: Lemony White Bean Dip

    Hostess-in-a-Hurry Crostini: Broiled Baguette Toasts with Assorted Toppings

    Yes, I Make my own salsa: Fresh Homemade Salsa

    Drinks:

    Breakfast in Bed Mimosa: Tropical Fruit Sorbet and Champagne Cocktail

    Man Trouble Mojito: White Rum and Mint Cocktail

    Sexy City Cocktail: classic Manhattan with Maraschino Cherries

    Style on a budget white Sangria: Spanish Wine Cocktail with fresh fruit

    Soups and Salad:

    Feel better fast chicken soup: Hot and sour chicken soup with cilantro and snow peas

    Complexion Soup: Carrot soup with ginger and lemongrass

    No-Fail Kale Salad: Caesar-style salad with kale, pecorino cheese and homemade croutons

    Workaholic's Salad: Stacked Tomato Salad with Polenta and Basil Vinaigrette

    Meat & Poultry

    Promotion Rib Eye: Seared Steak Drizzled with Warm Butter

    Prove to Mom You're Not Going to Starve Meat Loaf: Meat Loaf with Tomato Glaze

    Fight over It Fried Chicken: Fried Chicken with Paprika and Cayenne

    We're with the Band Moroccan Couscous: Moroccan Couscous with Lamb and Hot Pepper sauce

    Seafood:

    Bikini Season Baked Salmon: Salmon with Lemon, White Wine and Capers

    Season Finale Shrimp: Steamed Shrimp in Beer with Lemon, Garlic, and Butter

    Can We Talk? Crab Cakes: Maryland-Style Crab Cakes with Basil Mayonnaise

    Perfect Host Lobster Pot Pie: Seriously Loaded Shellfish-Stuffed Pastry

    Pizza and Pasta:Perfect Date Night Pizza: Basic Pie Dough, with Topping

    Marry Me Lasagne: Lasagne with Ricottae Cheese, Mozzarella Cheese and Basil

    I got thinner eating pasta: Pasta with fresh vegetables, herbs and ricotta cheese

    Happy Mess Pasta with Chorizo and Clams: Linguine with Littlenecks, spicy sausage and toasted bread

    Kitchen Basics: Thiry-Minute Pasta Recipes and Sauces.

    Which pastas go with which sauces.

    Meat Free Mains

    Engagement Pallea: Pallea with Smoked Tofu and Chorizo-Style Veggie Sausages

    Who Calls a Meeting at 5:00 P.M? Stir Fry: Flash-Sauteed Vegetables with Peanuts and Sesame-Soy Sauce

    Let's Eat with our Fingers Quesadillas: Sweet Onion, Potato and Goat Cheese Quesadillas

    Meatless Monday Portobello Bu

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    A must for every woman!!

    These recipes really are so simple! And they're diverse enough that you have a few options to choose from, and they'll make you seem like a culinary expert! I made the meatloaf last night and it was the best meatloaf I ever had! They're fast and simple too so this book is perfect no matter what your lifestyle is. Before you diss this book because you're somehow offended by the title, you should actually read it. You'd be amazed at what you could have missed because you wanted to stand on a soapbox.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Highly recommend!!! Great recipes!

    I am actually in this wonderful cookbook! Im one of the success stories. Not actually making the chicken to have my (then boyfriend, now husband) propose to me, it is quite a coincidence that he did 5 days later. The chicken was so easy to make and turn out moist and delicious. When I shared my story with Glamour, it was quite a treat when I got a call from the editor to share our cute little story and be a part of the making of this cookbook.The recipes in here are easy and very yummy!!! Some of my family members who pre-ordered the book have already started cooking from it and are raving about the food! Great job Glamour and thank you for sharing!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No Way

    Just by reading the title I know I would never want to read this book. Do not want to touch it, and would not want to go near it.

    What makes Cindi so presumptuous that she has the answer to what 'every' woman should know? Non-sense. Then, on top of that, she had associated 'recipes' with 'women', so 'guys don't cook'? So is cooking a woman's 'duty'? I happen to know many guys who like to cook more than some women! So, another non-sense!

    With someone who could give such a title to a book, you can't expect that she would have anything remotely valuable to contribute or that any of it could be worth your time.

    3 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Great recipes for young ladies

    Absolutely love the recipes in this book. They may be super basic but still super easy and great way to impress guests!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    the book wasnt as good as i would have thought. some of the meal

    the book wasnt as good as i would have thought. some of the meals were extremely basic- i am not a great cook but im also not a novice cook. I consider myself the average cook, most busy woman can only dedicate so much time during the week to acually cook certain meals. i like getting new ideas and like to buy different cook books every now and then to expand my knowledge; from the entire book i only got 2 receipes that i would try again. The rest either seemed bland, extremely basic and could have used more work, or just werent very appealing. i do recommend this book as a starter book to someone who is initially trying to learn how to cook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2