Customer Reviews for

The 100 Thing Challenge: How I Got Rid of Almost Everything, Remade My Life, and Regained My Soul

Average Rating 3
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Read for Simplifying Your Life!

Dave has great approach to breaking over consumption habits. It was inspiring to read how the challenge changed his life and the honest and humorous struggles he went through. He has tips at the end for doing your own challenge. I started clearing out my closet at Chap....
Dave has great approach to breaking over consumption habits. It was inspiring to read how the challenge changed his life and the honest and humorous struggles he went through. He has tips at the end for doing your own challenge. I started clearing out my closet at Chap. 1.

posted by HappeChick on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time

I admit I didn't read the book. I read the Introduction and Bruno wrote that, "domestic cats are replaceable". I was enraged at that line and would not respect anything he had to say. Maybe he knows about paring down, but obviously, he doesn't know about cats. If you ha...
I admit I didn't read the book. I read the Introduction and Bruno wrote that, "domestic cats are replaceable". I was enraged at that line and would not respect anything he had to say. Maybe he knows about paring down, but obviously, he doesn't know about cats. If you have ever lost a cat and know they are not replaceable, don't get this book."replace" it with one of the many others in this category.

posted by pilch92 on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Don't waste your time

    I admit I didn't read the book. I read the Introduction and Bruno wrote that, "domestic cats are replaceable". I was enraged at that line and would not respect anything he had to say. Maybe he knows about paring down, but obviously, he doesn't know about cats. If you have ever lost a cat and know they are not replaceable, don't get this book."replace" it with one of the many others in this category.

    15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    Disappointing Book-waste of money

    I was intrigued by the idea and also my daughter went to Pt Loma Nazarene Univ and I am looking to retirement and downsizing,so thought this would be interesting. The book is disappointing, boring and poorly written. I was also surprised at some of the words and some of his "humor" he uses since he works at a Christian University. It is not really 100 things, considering the way he counts his items, doesn't seem like he really gives up much. I think I have less "stuff" then he has to begin with. If you are trying to learn to live without, people like Dave Ramsey and Mary Hunt do a better job...

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    High hopes... big disappointment.

    Very interesting concept, the writing however was abysmal. Made it a struggle to get through.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Interesting idea; Very disappointing book

    I am not a person who reviews every book I read. I review only those that I find extraordinary in some respect. Unfortunately, this one is extraordinarily boring. I read the entire book just waiting for a redeeming insight or at least a chuckle. I got neither. Dave Bruno sets this up to be a major challenge but nowhere in the book do we see him facing much of a challenge. Yes, I was annoyed at the way he counted his things - how hard can it be when you don't count most everything in your house because you share it with your family - but I'm also annoyed that the book was not compelling even given the limits of the challenge. If you want to read a good book about taking a hard look at your lifestyle and how it relates to the world around you, I recommend "The Power of Half." If you want an entertaining read about gimmicky lifestyles/pursuits, read anything by A.J. Jacobs.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    He Hates Cats, They're Just Things To Him!

    I would never buy this book, because in the sample he goes on and on about how dogs are superior to cats, which makes them just 'things' to him. Whatever your uninformed opinion is, cats are family members when you adopt them, just as valuable as dogs! They're intensely loyal, and if you've never bonded with one and figured it out, that's your problem, not ours. No veterinarian would share your opinion. In fact, I am sure they would all tell you to keep your cats indoors after hearing about your coyote problem. And not let them get eaten, and then take it out on cats and cat people. You've chosen not to protect your cats. Just because you haven't done that, and you feel, in consequence, that they are just losers and ' easily replaceable', okay, that makes you a monster! Dying because your guardian isn't protecting you doesn't make you in the slightest bit disloyal. I think your priorities are way off. I'd say they were put in a blender.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Great Read for Simplifying Your Life!

    Dave has great approach to breaking over consumption habits. It was inspiring to read how the challenge changed his life and the honest and humorous struggles he went through. He has tips at the end for doing your own challenge. I started clearing out my closet at Chap. 1.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Great book to help you think about having too much stuff and how to get rid of it without feeling guilty.

    I thought this book was just what I needed to organize all of my "stuff". I have way too much orf everything, everywhere. I need to do this challenge at work as well as at home. I have two rental units for storage and have things hidden under beds and in every nook and cranny in the house.

    I did not know where to begin to organize my clutter but this book gave me some needed help.

    I don't know if I will scale down to a hundred things because I have at least a million but I want to start somewhere and this gave me ideas.

    Thank you Dave Bruno

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Ask 100 Cat Lovers if their cat is replaceable...

    They will all say no! Don't bother with the households where dogs & cats are mixed. Clearly one person living there wants cats while others want dogs. True cat people adore their cats because unlike dogs they don't slobber and jump all over you the second you get in the house. Why would you adopt other cats and let them go outside after losing a cat to a coyote? You shouldn't be allowed to adopt a fish let alone a cat! I have no interest in readiing thce rest of your fudiculous book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    A must read book.

    Read and do. You will be better off and have more money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    What an ass

    A pompous ass, he is one of the useless objects that should be tossed in the trash, someone please rescue those poor cats from this jackass! What a windbag!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2