Customer Reviews for

100 Ways to Simplify Your Life

Average Rating 3.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Quick read, lasting influence.

This book was a quick read, but if the recommendations are put into practice the effects will be lifelong. As a previous reviewer noted, there are some contradictions, i.e., 'don't be afraid to say 'no' to things that you can't accommodate', yet at the same time the bo...
This book was a quick read, but if the recommendations are put into practice the effects will be lifelong. As a previous reviewer noted, there are some contradictions, i.e., 'don't be afraid to say 'no' to things that you can't accommodate', yet at the same time the book emphasizes that you will gain more joy from serving as many people as you possibly can. That being said, contradictions are minor and infrequent and the take-aways are worth the read. The lessons are simple and confidently conveyed. The key to making this book work for you is to use personal discipline to put the '100 ways' into play.

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

100 ways is too many to be simple.

By the time I got to the end of the book (skimming the last 1/3 because it was starting to be repetitive) I was overwhelmed by all the many ways I needed to 'simplify'. The premise is great and she has many wonderful points and down to earth examples, as she does in all...
By the time I got to the end of the book (skimming the last 1/3 because it was starting to be repetitive) I was overwhelmed by all the many ways I needed to 'simplify'. The premise is great and she has many wonderful points and down to earth examples, as she does in all her books, but I'd rather see her list maybe 10 ways to simplify and it would have made a stronger point with more impact on me. I guess it was just like writing a book on '100 Ways to Make Housekeeping Simple'. It doesn't seem simple anymore and the reader can't keep track of it all.

posted by Anonymous on September 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    Quick read, lasting influence.

    This book was a quick read, but if the recommendations are put into practice the effects will be lifelong. As a previous reviewer noted, there are some contradictions, i.e., 'don't be afraid to say 'no' to things that you can't accommodate', yet at the same time the book emphasizes that you will gain more joy from serving as many people as you possibly can. That being said, contradictions are minor and infrequent and the take-aways are worth the read. The lessons are simple and confidently conveyed. The key to making this book work for you is to use personal discipline to put the '100 ways' into play.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    100 ways is too many to be simple.

    By the time I got to the end of the book (skimming the last 1/3 because it was starting to be repetitive) I was overwhelmed by all the many ways I needed to 'simplify'. The premise is great and she has many wonderful points and down to earth examples, as she does in all her books, but I'd rather see her list maybe 10 ways to simplify and it would have made a stronger point with more impact on me. I guess it was just like writing a book on '100 Ways to Make Housekeeping Simple'. It doesn't seem simple anymore and the reader can't keep track of it all.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    100 Ways to Simplify Your Life

    I was impressed with Joyce Meyer's list, and as much as I'd love to do them all right away (or at least most of them), some of them require me to really think and re-program my thought process. Some of my more favored items from the list are: #1 Do One Thing at a Time, #6 Let Go of What Lies Behind You, #7 Learn How to Say No, #18 Establish Boundaries, #69 Be Realistic in Your Expectations, #87 Beware of Distractions, etc. I could go on and on. Many of the items on the list apply to me in one way or another. <BR/><BR/>Each section is only a few pages long, and it contains an inspirational saying, and a passage from the Bible. Joyce also uses some examples from life to help the reader understand how to apply the item to their own life. <BR/><BR/>This was a nice and helpful book that will need to remain on my nightstand for quite a while as I try to work through some of the items on the list that are more meaningful to me at this time. <BR/><BR/>These are not outlandish ideas, but rather things that occur regularly in life that when added together or tackled separately (you really don't need to tackle all 100 items at once! I'm going to start with two or three and do them well prior to adding more.) will help to create a simpler life. I would encourage you to pick up this book and read through it yourself.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    BE WARE!

    Be ware trying to download this one. I have been trying to get this to load since the first of January. Nothing but problems. 5 phone calls and still no solution. Can't get it to load and can't delete it. They are blaming the network. I can download other books just not this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I didn't realize how many things we can simplify and really make life easier!! Great insight/ loved this book that Joyce has written. Hard to put down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    I love this book ...

    I read all 100 and started all over again. I usually read one a day or so and this has been a most enlightening book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Battlefield of the mind Devotional

    I am currently busy reading this wonderful book. Her book change my whole life. I never thought that what was going on in my mind was the reason why most of the things went wrong in my life. This makes me control my mind more often. As soon as a negative thought of worry,etc. came into my mind, i immediately pray and think of the possitive of the situation. Me and my husband use to have a fight every evening and i saw as soon as i think of all the work to do, i get so frustrated and my mind was so filled with negative thoughts that moment that i immediately take something small and it develop in a big fight. In other words, I satisfy the devil by acting on my negative mind. My mind is now so open for things like that...yes it will still take time and a lot of praying, but this changed my life so much that i sometimes sit in my work and pray and just sometimes cry for the person that Jesus changed me into by taking in the words that Joyce so beautifull described in her book. You have to read it. It will change your life....and also those of your family by changing the way you think.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Easy Read

    We read a chapter or two a night and go back over the chapters we read the night before. It is an easy read a page or two a chapter and the 100 ways are common sense. Practice will make it become natural and give you a happy heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2007

    Awesome book!!

    The main points in this book are superb!! You will come away from reading this and really feel like you have a new-lease on life as you better understand what your options are, and how much strength you yourself have!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Not what I expected

    The book is very religious and contradicts itself. One tip tells you to do one thing, and later in book contradicts itself. It list 100 items, but not much help on how to accomplish the tips.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Excellent help in Simplifying your Life with God's help

    Found ways to recognize how to simplify my life and help from God to do it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended. Quick Destresser!

    Feeling pulled in too many directions at once? Finding it hard to cope with all you've agreed to do? This book can help you change that! Short chapters make it easy to complete in short time segments. I first listened to the book on cd, then purchased for my NOOK so can periodically refer back to it. Full of easy to understand and incorporate in daily life, this is a great self-help book, enhanced with references to God and scriptures that encourage us to better living.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great book

    Worth reading. I really got a lot out of it and enjoyed reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Easy and Quick Read

    As always Joyce Meyer is straighht and to the point, this is great when you need to get some devotional time in quickly..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    PERTINENT FOR TODAY AND ALWAYS

    My second Joyce Meyer book and it was pleasurable to say the least. Self-help devotees will savor it all as the author points out so vividly what life's priorities really are, and how to achieve more satisfaction from those hectic schedules and demands. The writing is clear-cut and void of any dichotomies. The one item of interest that stuck in my mind was about setting boundries (#18). The solid tips offered are profitable, then convincing, and finally down-to-earth. This little book makes a great gift idea, and is perfect for individuals who are at their rock-bottom in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amber

    To GOD be the Glory for truth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    STOP

    Does not download.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    awesome

    can't stop reading it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Love the simple way Joyce Meyers gets her point across so you can understand it.

    Great ideas and thoughts! Inspiring and motivating. Love the way Joyce Meyers is so down to earth and writes so you can relate to every point she makes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Joyce Rocks!

    This book is great to keep on hand to refer to a good quote if you need one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6