Customer Reviews for

100,000+ Baby Names: The Most Complete, Fascinating, and Helpful Name Book You Can Find

Average Rating 3.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

100,000 Baby Names

I love names, and this book has one hundred thousand of them! I really enjoyed the beginning section of fun statistics of names, and just the sheer number of names. One thing I would change though, would to to omit the name variants after each name, in favor of pronunci...
I love names, and this book has one hundred thousand of them! I really enjoyed the beginning section of fun statistics of names, and just the sheer number of names. One thing I would change though, would to to omit the name variants after each name, in favor of pronunciations. I would rather know how to correctly pronounce a name, than know all the made-up nick-names for it. I still enjoy it and use it for reference, but I also need to get a second names book for pronunciations.

posted by MrsLittle on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

100 names repeated 1,000 times each

If you have time to read the same names in about 500 different categories that they can fit into, this is the perfect book for you. Or if you are specifically looking to name your baby after a celebrity, celebrity's child, an artist of some type, a president or some oth...
If you have time to read the same names in about 500 different categories that they can fit into, this is the perfect book for you. Or if you are specifically looking to name your baby after a celebrity, celebrity's child, an artist of some type, a president or some other specific category...you'll find those categories here.

posted by Anonymous on September 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    100,000 Baby Names

    I love names, and this book has one hundred thousand of them! I really enjoyed the beginning section of fun statistics of names, and just the sheer number of names. One thing I would change though, would to to omit the name variants after each name, in favor of pronunciations. I would rather know how to correctly pronounce a name, than know all the made-up nick-names for it. I still enjoy it and use it for reference, but I also need to get a second names book for pronunciations.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    Good Book for researching names

    Very good book to start with when trying to determine what name to choose, however, there are lots of names in the book that are duplicates which if they're really talking about 100,000 is a stretch.

    But, good place to start

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Luv

    Great to figure out what to name you child and what each name means.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    My fav names

    Girls
    Isabella
    Elliot
    Claira
    Alyssa
    Boys
    Jacob
    Alexander
    Aaron

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    100 names repeated 1,000 times each

    If you have time to read the same names in about 500 different categories that they can fit into, this is the perfect book for you. Or if you are specifically looking to name your baby after a celebrity, celebrity's child, an artist of some type, a president or some other specific category...you'll find those categories here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    All diffrent kinds of names

    Short names

    Brooke
    Jade
    Anne
    Lee
    Lin
    Sky
    Blue
    Rose
    Sta
    Paige
    Saige

    Food names

    Pepper
    Hazel
    Peprika
    Margerita
    Parsley
    Coco
    Ginger

    Nature

    Autumn
    Winter
    Spring
    Sky
    Star
    Rose
    Petunia
    Robin
    Raven
    Liana


    Color

    Hazel
    Sage
    Blue
    Baige
    Pink
    Scarlet

    Pretty

    Ariana
    Katherina
    Noelia
    Sophia


    Bible

    Mary
    Delilah
    Hana
    Rebekah
    Leah
    Lydia
    eve
    Magdeline
    Sarah

    Nice names

    Grace
    Joy
    Hope
    Faith
    Miricale
    Pacitence
    Honesty
    Serentity


    HOPE THIS HELPED

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, Informative Lists - Great for Writers

    I stumbled across this book in the sale section, and I'm very happy with my purchase. I've always been fascinated by names and their meanings, but this book also has many detailed lists explaining what the name is associated with (ex. names inspired by fictional characters). Great guide for writers as well.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Great But....

    This book is great and has a lot of interesting name ideas, but I think it might actually have too many names and variations. Maybe it would be better if instead of having a different entry for every different spelling and telling you to refer back to the original name for the meaning, all of the variations should just be listed under one name with the same definition. Great book though :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    For help

    Lakena brownie jasmine taffy chris john jacob bella edward joshua lily makayla gracie yaritsa christine jack button sam samantha taylor troy alyssa jamie vanessa

    From Mrs helpful

    I hope i helped you

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    It pretty awesome

    Now if they would only make an app so i could search by language or meaning like a dictionary

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Help!

    Please help! I need names for a book. Girl names, boy names, teacher names, horse names, school and dorm names.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Sample

    The only complaint i had was that a few of the pages cut off the words. From the sample that is.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Xxx

    This book is kind of dumb. No offense to the authors. Anybody could think of some of these names.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great

    This book samppl it self had many greatt names in it the boook can only be better i recomend to all expecting and dont know wht to name there child.......p.s im saying thi and im a 12 year old girl

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    dont waste your time

    Its pretty much every name you have ever already thought of and then names you would never ever dare call your child!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    The best baby name book!

    I am an immense lover of names and this book has the best collection and the most diversity and information I've seen yet. Whether you are naming your children, animals, or characters in your next work of art, this is a great source for inspiration.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Get it! You will like it

    This book was awsome! Since we have 5 children (Opal, Delaney, Christoper, Hannah, and Marty). We had no idea what to name our next baby girl. So my husband and I chose Vanessa. I hope you like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a great baby name book in that it is not only vast it's also an interesting read! There are facts about names and various blurbs about others naming their babies and interesting 'and unfortunate' names. This book has lists of most common names of various decades and you can see where the name you picked ranked in popularity the last few years. We had perused many baby name books, but this is the one that we liked the most. Honestly, they all pretty much have the same names, right?! This book puts a nice spin and new perspective on an exciting, sometimes frustrating, time of our lives that is heavy with the responsibility in giving a child the perfect name. We used this book when selecting names for our twins and I definitely recommend this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Nasty

    U are weied

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4