Customer Reviews for

1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die, 4th edition

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    So i just recently got this book, and so far im loving it. I finished reading it awhile ago but i do enjoy going back in and looking. The good thing about this book is that, in the front is a check list. And i've only saw 42 of the 1001 movie, so i have a way to go!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Great book!

    I'm a movie buff and this book will help me in watching great movies for a lifetime!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    Just what you need

    Impressively International, well organized, and broad in scope. Sure, favorites are missing... but this isn't a book about reassuring us that we have the right picks... it's about introducing us to the new and never seen. A great anthology of IMPORTANT, ground-breaking film work over the last 125 years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    Big, Broad, and Flawed

    The sheer size (960 pages), scope (films from every era, genre, and country) and pictorial splendor of this work is enough to give it a 4 star rating. The lack of a fifth star is due to A) A confusing melange of voices reviewing the film that lead to several films by noted directors (Powell/Pressburger, Welles, Hitchcock, etc.) being hailed as their 'best' B) A rather too eclectic choice of 'Must-sees' (How many other lists of this sort would include 'Angel Face' and-ye gods!-'Pandora & The Flying Dutchman'!!!) and a confusion between intelligent discourse and 'gush' (I am perfectly willing to concede that 'Letter From an Unknown Woman' is greatly underrated, but '...one of the greatest films in world cinema history'? I think not. and C) Some basic errors that are all too easily correctable to have slipped by (e.g. Victor Young did NOT have anything to do with 'Buttons & Bows' from 'Paleface', and-more egregious, if only because the clip is arguably the single most seen movie number of all time, Gene Kelly does NOT wear a 'yellow slicker' in his 'Singin' in the Rain' number-he DOES wear one under the titles). However, for all its flaws, this IS a worthy addition to the canon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Definitely worth missing

    While there were a few movies that deserved to be mentioned, it was heavy with thinly disguised propaganda pieces poorly written and edited, Michael Moore's screeds, for instance. As a game I was counting movies that were legitimate to mention and movies best NOT watched and it was running pretty close to 50-50. You would do better just going to the video store and reading the backs of the boxes rather than wasting time and money on this loser book.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Not worth it

    You know the types of people who use a large vocabulary just to sound impressive? That's how this book comes off. It's loaded with obscure films few people have heard of, and lacking several movies of great cinematic, social, and cultural importance (ie Super Size Me, Bowling for Columbine, Kill Bill Vol. 2, American Psycho to name a few). To make it worse, many of the movie's listed have their endings revealed in the description. I've seen several movies from the book, and those that I hadn't seen already were very disappointing. Granted, it has a lot of great films, but, as for myself, I'd already seen them. If you're looking for a good movie to watch, various websites (like IMDb) will produce much better results.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    great

    an amazing book and a great adventure for those up to the challenge. to watch all 1001. an amazing book and it is stressed in the beginning exactly the problem with making such a list of movies of books. there really isnt a number big enough to list all the greatest movies. but this is atleast in the ballpark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2