Obsession

Obsession

3.1 37
by Karen Robards
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“[A] creepily effective suspense novel.”—The Seattle Times

After surviving a horrific attack by masked gunmen, Katharine Lawrence awakens in the hospital—with an unfamiliar face staring back at her in the mirror.
 
Katharine may not recognize her appearance, but she does

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Obsession 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kcarter25 More than 1 year ago
I'm glad this novel was given to me by good friend to read. I'm still wondering how this mediocre story got published. Well, maybe I shouldn't wonder because there are some real dozzies (hope I spelled that word correctly) out there being promoted as bestsellers. When I started reading Obsession the plot unfolded and kept my interest and I felt really excited and I was very intrigued with the story. I read on and then my senses started to sour and then they turned off. At the very end I got a brief thrill. But overall the story was big let down. I don't understand why, because Ms. Robards is certainly capable of writing a decent romance/mystery novel. I won't say it's a terrible book, but if you have enjoyed all of Robards novel I would think that you will enjoy Obsession.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DelightedNovela More than 1 year ago
This story grabs you in the very beginning and holds you until the very end. It was hard to figure out who was who and what was what. But as the story unfolds the mystery is revealed and does not disappoint. I like Karen Robards writing style and storylines. She is definately a favorite of mine. I certainly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I listened to Obession as an audio book. The author would stop in mid-action to endlessly describe things you didn't care about. Also, as previously stated, the author used the same adjectives over and over within pages of just using them. This could have been a really good book but it was a poorly written mediocre one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LC112648LC More than 1 year ago
This book kept you reading - talk about twists and turns! Very enjoyable - I would recommend it to anyone who likes suspense!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read: Robards puts in enough twists to keep you guessing until the very end! Thrills make this a real page-turner!
Naia More than 1 year ago
Great book to read. It wasn't the one I expected; it had actions and suspense at the same time. A must read.
mac6912 More than 1 year ago
I did like this book and would recommend it to anyone for a good read. Karen Robards always has very enjoyable books.
rutica More than 1 year ago
I listened to Obsession as an audio book. While it was entertaining, I found it repetitve and boring. I can't say how many times the author wrote something similar to: 'her stomach clenched, her pulse raced, her heart pounded'. It seems liked every few pages Katharine/Jenna was experiencing symptoms of fear! I just got tired of the author listing the reactions over and over. And the descriptions were boring. "A white van with a ladder on the top and some kind of writing on the side rumbled by". Why do we care. Or why do we care that the lady in the convenience store who sells them snacks had a bad perm. The book seemed like it went in this order: boring descriptions, list of Katharine's reactions, dialog, action, repeat. And how could Ed not realize that Jenna was an imposter? She might look alike, but what about the experiences and conversations the two of them shared in the past? Katharine couldn't prepare Jenna for everything that could come up. Why couldn't the real Katharine have just said she was going on vacation, or going to visit Lisa, or going to work and then sneak out and testify a few hours during the day, instead of planning this elaborate body swapping?
boomer51 More than 1 year ago
The main characters are engaging and the plot, of course, weaves and twists in classic Robards style. It's not her best work but even on a bad day this is a pretty good writer. I read at night so can do without torture scenes, but main problem with this was implausibility of underlying identity switch/memory replacement premise. The villian she was sleeping with wouldn't notice any difference? But the romance is well done, male lead especially likable, and the pace never drags.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Robynn More than 1 year ago
This was my first book to read from Karen Robards and most likely, my last. She never developed the characters. It was up, down, up, down, which I found distracting and irritating. The plot was never given a chance to develop and unwind. It raced thru along with the characters and left me feeling tired and mad that I bought this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I gave this book 1 star for pages 333-381 (the end). The rest of the book was boring and extremely disappointing.