Obsession

Obsession

4.5 8
by Monica Burns
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A woman on the edge of sin...

Helen Rivenall is willing to do anything to escape the brutality of her uncle's home. But a promise of honest employment is a ruse. Drugged and auctioned off in a notorious London brothel, she finds herself won by a man who wants nothing from her except her participation in a harmless charade. Left with no choice, she reluctantly

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Obsession 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be very enjoyable. I found myself actually IN the story instead of just reading about the story. I feel the characters were well developed. The story was VERY enjoyable!!! I LOVE reading her books!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very good, 945 pages. The beginning was good and the storyline was good but the first 425 pages Sebastion and Helen just lusted after each other, that part was a bit long, but overall the book was exciting and held my interest. I would recommend it. I was getting so tired and disgusted with the New Adult Books, they were all reading the same!!!
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
"This is a revised and expanded reissue of the 2006 edition of Obsession. New content is included in this digital edition." An interesting and intriguing tale of two souls with dark secrets that haunt them both. A Victorian re-take on Jack the Ripper's London, with many twists. Fast paced with tortured and injured souls, secrets, passion, romance,diabolical murders,past hurts, and finding forgiveness and healing to move forward. Well written with beautifully written erotic scenes, engaging characters who desire more than passion but need security and finally some peace and love. Compelling,with moments of scary situations, intriguing with mystery and suspense. A must read. Ms Burns is a constant storyteller who wins fans hearts with your compassionate, loving characters and her unique, intriguing storylines. An absolutely wickedly delicious and seductive tale from the first page to the last. The Rockwoods are fantastic in more ways than one. A must read. Fans of Historical Romance, Victorian era romance, erotic romance and epic love stories will enjoy "Obsession". I adore this authors stories, her charismatic characters and her unique storylines. Well done. Can't wait for the next grand adventure. *Received for an honest review from the author Rating: 4.5 Heat rating: Steamy Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
grandmareads102 More than 1 year ago
Sebastian Rockwood wants and needs an orderly life. Nothing spontaneous for him. He knows what can happen if he deviates. Unfortunately his life is turned upside down when he rescues Helen from a brothel. She is a beautiful, caring woman who is to easy to love. She has known too much pain and cruelty. He will make sure that she's safe and cared for, but he needs her help. She will pretend to be his fiancée and stop his aunt from matchmaking. What happens next is pure romance. Monica Burns has written characters that I enjoyed. The battle of wills between the feisty lady and the powerful lord is entertaining. She is no timid miss and he's not use to being ignored. The sparks fly. The story is well plotted. It's filled with a passionate romance as well as suspense and danger. With Jack the Ripper terrorizing the city and Helen being pursued by her cruel uncle, I was on the edge of my seat. I enjoyed the setting and the sparkling dialogue. Thank goodness this is the first book in the series so there will be more stories to follow. The Rockwood Family can't stay out of trouble.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was good, but the first 500 pages nothing really happend, no passion or anything ....the book was way to long....it would have been better with less pages...the action all happened after 500 pages...it was way to long...also I didn't care for the epilogue ..I wish louse and Devin had there own story , but we had to hear there little piece of there life in the epilogue wich left me with what happened to them. (Devin)...I give this book more like a 3.5 ..
AustenStudent More than 1 year ago
I completely fell in love with Sebastian from the beginning of this story. An earl, he is a kind and very responsible eldest brother taking care of his family, running his estate, and trying to match his siblings while trying to keep his beloved Aunt Matilda from matchmaking him. He’s very self-disciplined and used to being in complete control of his life and Helen upends it completely; the way he constantly looks at his timepiece is hilarious. He’s also a consummate pianist and he plays to relax when he can. He stumbles upon Helen in a brothel, when he helps his brother, Caleb, rescue a young woman who has been kidnapped; she is being auctioned to the highest bidder. He feels for her and is disgusted by the process so, to protect her and keep her from his loathsome nemesis, Viscount Templeton, he bids for her and wins. He takes her to his family’s London home and, in exchange for helping her, he (ashamedly) asks Helen to pose as his fiancée for his fastidious aunt. Because she feels indebted to him, she agrees, especially after he also rescues her precocious younger brother, Edward. Helen and Edward are on the run from an abusive uncle. They hope to find their estranged maternal grandfather in the hopes that he will take them in, but they have no idea how to accomplish this without Sebastian’s help. Slowly, Helen comes to appreciate Sebastian’s actions on her behalf and his great kindness, hidden behind his careful façade of distance and aloofness. The mantle of earl was thrust upon him at the very young age of seventeen and, ever since, he has felt the great weight of familial responsibility. He saved the family estate from financial ruin but he is also very lonely. I loved Louisa, Sebastian’s spirited sister. Her charm and ease with Sebastian and her warm and affectionate welcome of Helen and her brother endeared me to her. Aunt Matilda is also a sharp observer and tries some matchmaking of her own. The slowly growing love between Helen and Sebastian is both sweet and sensual. Each learns the other’s secrets and comes to care deeply about the other. Both are devoted to their siblings and there is this strong theme of family throughout the story. Historical events in the background create an atmosphere fraught with tension and danger, most notably the Jack the Ripper murders in Whitechapel. And there is also mention of Salisbury who was Prime Minister three times between 1885 and 1902. Memorable moments: “Marriage to her, or any woman, would destroy the well-ordered existence he’d created for himself.” (p367) “'Sebastian is rough around the edges, but all he needs is a little bit of coaxing to make him a prince among men.'” (p436) A beautiful and sexy love story with strong themes of family and honor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago