Customer Reviews for

101 Dalmatians

Average Rating 5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    One of the best books I ever read

    It is fun to read over and over! My favorite part is where they are trying to escape from the de Vil mansion and the Cadpig walked out backwards so she could watch the tv to the very last moment before leaving. The Disney movie doesn't catch the humor and joy of this book. A classic book that should not be missed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    As good as I remember

    I read this book over and over and over when I was a kid. My copy was taped together. I was excited to see this available but was afraid I wouldn't enjoy it and that my memories would let me down. No fear! This book is still delightful for an adult audience. There is much humor and fun in the dogs. The Disney version can't compare to the original.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The movies may have been kinda' corny, but don't let them spoil the book for you. The original novel is GREAT!!!!

    The 101 Dalmatians contains a lovable pair of Dalmatian parents as they set out on a difficult and exhausting quest to rescue their fifteen pups from the evil clubs of Cruella. The book is full of exicting events that keep you on the edge of your seat, the writing of a great author, and even some funny happenings that will make you laugh out loud! I highly enjoyed this book from begining to end, and, (if you read it), I hope you do too!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    THEY SHOULD MAKE A MOVIE ABOUT IT!!!!! Wait a second....

    FANTASTIC!!!!!EXELLENT!!!!!SUPERP!!!!! When I saw the Disney movie when I was a little, I was enthralled. Back then I had no idea that the book existed, and when I got my hands on it, I was even more enchanted. I was even a little mad at the movie makers; the book was SO much better and it was changed so the movie would seem better. So that's my little speech on DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS MOVIE. The original book is way better, and you'll see why when you read it. I highly recommend it!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2000

    A Great Adventure For All !!

    This is my favorite childhood book, a loving and thrilling story that will capture one's imagination. Please beware of the hacked-up version from Disney, this novel is the one to read, children and adults.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    The world of dogs comes to life

    This is a must read for every animal lover. The movie has nothing on this story. It is rich and full of life as Dobie Smith weaves an intricate tale of love, life, and loyalty to family. As in every rich story, the villain allows you to hate her and be glad she gets her just rewards. You will cheer, sit on the edge of your seat, and pull along as the Pongos make new friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    The Real 101Dalmations

    This is a great book I have been looking for this book for 30 years. It is not in print anymore that i have found. It is one of the reasons that I purchased a NOOK Tablet.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    i love dogs

    i enjoy reading books about dogs and hope that you would too. hope enjoy it too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    My son loves it~

    Great condition! Will buy from this vendor again! Thanks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    From a mother of two who loves children's books

    After having read this book as a child, and having seen the movie as an adult, I was thrilled to find that I could obtain the original story still. It seems odd to talk about character development about dogs, yet Dodie Smith gives Pongo and Missis true personalities and makes of them believable, helping to make the book a true joy to read. It's a wonderful book, and it leaves the movie in the dust.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    Fun Book on Which the Disney Classic is Based   It¿s a double we

    Fun Book on Which the Disney Classic is Based
     
    It’s a double wedding for Pongo and Missis and their pet Mr. and Mrs. Dearly.  The new couples are settling in to their life in London, and even more exciting, Missis is expecting puppies.
     
    However, the newlyweds are living down the street from Cruella de Vil, an old school mate of Mrs. Dearly.  Cruella loves furs so much she actually married a furrier.  And after seeing Pongo and Missis, she’s decided that a Dalmatian coat would be lovely.  So when the puppies go missing soon after they are born, Pongo suspects he knows who stole them.  But can they find them in time?
     
    This is the book that inspired Disney’s movie of the same name, and if you’ve seen the movie, you have a broad outline of the story.  Obviously, there are some difference (Perdita plays a different part in the book, for example), but there is much to enjoy.  The characters are good and the plot moves along quickly.
     
    The biggest change for me is in the humor.  While the movie’s humor is broad and slapstick, the book is more subtle and more focused on how dogs see the world versus how we do.  It was amusing and fun.
     
    So if you are a fan of the movie, I recommend picking up this book and enjoying the first version of this classic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    IM

    SEXY AND I KNOW IT!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Flameclaw

    Oh yah

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    PUPPIES!

    Cute... full of,"puppy love". ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Pear

    This is the med den

    -Pear

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    I loved this book and you will too!

    101 Dalmations is the best old book i' ve ever read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    cool asome

    You would love it,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    I thought this book was exquisite!

    this is the best book i ever read! it is way better than the movie. i think it is exciting and exquisite and so... so... AWESOME! I give it 10 thumbs up! If you ever need something to read, this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    WHOA!

    WHOA! This was an awesome book! It created a movie like picture in my mind; which is what the author is supposed to do. I recomend this book to all ages.Acspeacialy if you love dogs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Great book

    I loves this book because there was so much excitment and adventure. Don't get the releases from disney they are just trash they mix everything up. This is easy to read and follow dont be confused with disney stuff this is the right book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2