Customer Reviews for

Quick & Easy Family Dinners Cookbook

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Fills your heart, home and family dinner plate with loving, tasty goodness!

First off, I'm a fan of Gooseberry Patch Cookbooks. So this is a biased review and I got the book for free today on my NOOK color. I have their print and ecookbooks. I'm a huge fan of the paper books just because I love curling up with a cookbook and marking pages with ...
First off, I'm a fan of Gooseberry Patch Cookbooks. So this is a biased review and I got the book for free today on my NOOK color. I have their print and ecookbooks. I'm a huge fan of the paper books just because I love curling up with a cookbook and marking pages with sticky notes. BUT I have to admit I'm becoming a quick collector of their ebooks, especially when they offer their freebies. I'm now getting copies of ebooks of paper books that I own. I love taking my ereader with me to the store. Never again will I forget an ingredient to a new, tasty recipe.

I LOVE my NOOK! It makes reading ebook so easy. There is a table of contents so I am able to quickly see all the recipes and go to the one that I want right away! Using an ereader isn't the same as pulling a book off the shelf but it comes pretty close! I"m also a huge fan of their new line of photos of every recipe. These cookbooks can be enjoyed with the paper copy and the NOOK color.

Gooseberry Patch has made a business out of collecting recipes from kitchen all across America and producing cookbooks chocked full of tasty recipes and helpful tips. Not every recipe is one that I would make but I love reading what other kitchen moms are making and trying. As with all cookbooks, being that a Gooseberry Patch or some other brand, I can almost always find something new to serve my family.

For this cookbook, I love looking at the variations of recipes that are already familiar with me. So for example, in this cookbook, a reader submitted Mom's Potato Salad. I'm a mom and I've been making potato salad since I was a kid. I don't even have my own written recipe for this salad because I make it different every time. That is why I appreciate reading another "Mom's Potato Salad" because now I have some new ideas to add to my ever so changing potato salad. The recipe in this book is mayonnaise based, red potato with a zing of horseradish. Bam! That is it. I'm going to add horseradish to my next batch of potato salad. See I found a new idea!

The recipes in this cookbook could easily be called Family Favorite Comfort Foods because that is what they are! Casseroles, fried chicken, baked spahgetti, apple pie (crustless), brownies and more! Pair any of their tasty mains with a healthy salad to balance out your menu that you serve your family. The book was full of such tips. I loved the "Spicy side" which instructed one to take frozen corn and stir in red roasted chilies, cumin, chili power and serrano chile. Yum!

I LOVED the chapter, "Keep these basic pantry items on hand & you can whip up just about anything!" which is helpful for any kitchen.

True to their Gooseberry Patch style, this cookbook will fill your heart, home and family dinner plate with loving, tasty goodness! Thanks Gooseberry Patch.

posted by SusieQTPies on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

???

The recipes are good, quick and easy...my complaint is that out of the 17 pages on this ebook, 7 have no recipes.

posted by Anonymous on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fills your heart, home and family dinner plate with loving, tasty goodness!

    First off, I'm a fan of Gooseberry Patch Cookbooks. So this is a biased review and I got the book for free today on my NOOK color. I have their print and ecookbooks. I'm a huge fan of the paper books just because I love curling up with a cookbook and marking pages with sticky notes. BUT I have to admit I'm becoming a quick collector of their ebooks, especially when they offer their freebies. I'm now getting copies of ebooks of paper books that I own. I love taking my ereader with me to the store. Never again will I forget an ingredient to a new, tasty recipe.

    I LOVE my NOOK! It makes reading ebook so easy. There is a table of contents so I am able to quickly see all the recipes and go to the one that I want right away! Using an ereader isn't the same as pulling a book off the shelf but it comes pretty close! I"m also a huge fan of their new line of photos of every recipe. These cookbooks can be enjoyed with the paper copy and the NOOK color.

    Gooseberry Patch has made a business out of collecting recipes from kitchen all across America and producing cookbooks chocked full of tasty recipes and helpful tips. Not every recipe is one that I would make but I love reading what other kitchen moms are making and trying. As with all cookbooks, being that a Gooseberry Patch or some other brand, I can almost always find something new to serve my family.

    For this cookbook, I love looking at the variations of recipes that are already familiar with me. So for example, in this cookbook, a reader submitted Mom's Potato Salad. I'm a mom and I've been making potato salad since I was a kid. I don't even have my own written recipe for this salad because I make it different every time. That is why I appreciate reading another "Mom's Potato Salad" because now I have some new ideas to add to my ever so changing potato salad. The recipe in this book is mayonnaise based, red potato with a zing of horseradish. Bam! That is it. I'm going to add horseradish to my next batch of potato salad. See I found a new idea!

    The recipes in this cookbook could easily be called Family Favorite Comfort Foods because that is what they are! Casseroles, fried chicken, baked spahgetti, apple pie (crustless), brownies and more! Pair any of their tasty mains with a healthy salad to balance out your menu that you serve your family. The book was full of such tips. I loved the "Spicy side" which instructed one to take frozen corn and stir in red roasted chilies, cumin, chili power and serrano chile. Yum!

    I LOVED the chapter, "Keep these basic pantry items on hand & you can whip up just about anything!" which is helpful for any kitchen.

    True to their Gooseberry Patch style, this cookbook will fill your heart, home and family dinner plate with loving, tasty goodness! Thanks Gooseberry Patch.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Gooseberry does it again!

    How they fit over 35 recipes in 15 pages is beyond me, but there is at least that many; more, if you count the quick fixes like uses for leftovers, side dishes and salad dressings. Always tasty, sometimes just a slight variation on favorites that give an old recipe a new twist. Great ideas for mealtimes and a list of standard pantry items included. Definately worth "free".

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must have- Gooseberry Patch and the Crockpot are a gal's best friends after all!

    My girlfriend told me about the lasagna in this book and told me I had to have it! So, when I saw it was available via E-book I was stoked. I love having my recipes at my fingertips on my laptop and on my phone in the grocery store!

    I am no stranger to Gooseberry Patch-- and this book falls right in line with all of their other wonderful books! I can't wait to give that lasagna a try and many other great recipes like Pumpkin Pie Pudding (Yum!), Tex Mex Chili Dogs, Apple Brown Betty and there is even a cake and a cookie recipe in there!

    Perfect for the first time Gooseberry Patch cook or a life-long collector like myself.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Yummo

    I love the variety of selections in this book! I plan to first try the Oven Beef Noodles. Regarding other reviews that mentioned "too few recipes," sometimes what is published on here, is taken from a larger volume of work. Not always, but it may explain why some booklets are so short. Whatever the case, I'm grateful for the awesome books Gooseberry Patch always offers us Nook users, especially the FREE cookbooks. :-) I love collecting them. Give this one a try!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Wonderful

    As usual gooseberry has put together another great cookbook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Sexy 19567

    Awsome cook book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    I love this book

    I am literally going to try and make every one of the recipes! I love cooking, and country recipes are my favorite. This book has some really great ones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Sex



    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Mmmm good!

    I use these wonderful and easy recipes a lot! Thank you for this free book! I definetly will be looking for more recipe books by these ladies! These recipes and the must have pantry item list have made my time in the kitchen enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Oooh

    Ouj good book please buy must buy come and get it today

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

    HghghghghHghghgghghghghghghghghghghghghghghghghggGHGHGHGHGHGHGHGHGHGHGHGHGHTYTHGYGHTYGHTYGHTYGHTGHTYGHTYGHRUFJGTRRUFJTYGHRUFJTYGHRUFJTYGHRUFJGYTHRUFJGYTHRUFJTYGHRUFJTYGHRUJGYTHRUFJTYGHRUFJTYGHGRUFJRFUJTYHGRFTGYHRFTGYHYHUJYHTGRFRFTGYHUJYHYTGRFTGYHUJYHTHGRFTGYHUJYH

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    food!

    I love the food idas

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Quick & Easy For Sure!

    Would definitely recommend. Delicious recipes using everyday items in your pantry. Would like to see more by Gooseberry Patch offered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1