×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

101 Things You Thought You Knew About the Titanic . . . but Didn't!
     

101 Things You Thought You Knew About the Titanic . . . but Didn't!

4.2 8
by Tim Maltin, Eloise Aston
 

See All Formats & Editions

April 15th, 2012, will be the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic.

People have an endless fascination with the Titanic, yet much of what they know today is a mixture of fact and fiction. In one hundred and one brief and engaging chapters, Tim Maltin, one of the foremost experts on the Titanic, reveals the truth behind the most

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

101 Things You Thought You Knew about the Titanic ... but Didn't 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
charlottesweb93 More than 1 year ago
The 100th Anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic is coming up this Spring. Author Tim Maltin took this time to debunk some of the common myths about the Titanic. Some he even validated. But the movie is referenced several times in the book. Like when Molly Brown ordered the lifeboats back, no she did not do that. And most of the lives lost were not lost due to drowning, but hypothermia. An interesting fact that I had not heard before for that there were two kidnapped kids on board of the Titanic. It was a custodial kidnapping and their father perished, an interesting little tidbit. Overall this is the type of book that diehard fans of Jack and Rose will enjoy. I admit that it made me want to pull out the movie and watch it again. With the Anniversary coming up there will be a lot of talk about that fateful April night, 101 Things You Thought You Knew about the Titanic will help get you started.
a_silent_song More than 1 year ago
This year marked the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the R.M.S. Titanic, but despite all the years that have passed since it plunged to the Atlantic's sea floor, taking over 1,500 lives with it, myths and stories and misconceptions have continued to make their rounds. And in the midst of all the floods of books that came out to mark the anniversary, Tim Maltin's 101 Things You Thought You Knew About the Titanic...but Didn't! emerged as an excellent example of how to correct the storyline the RIGHT way. Though the book is fairly short (only 172 e-pages on my Nook), it is straight to the point, categorizing the different stories and then listing them, one by one, and either confirming or sinking the story as true or false. And in the process, Maltin does a great job of educating the reader in the finer points of the ship's sinking and the events that surrounded its planning, construction, and all the people involved. I would highly recommend it to Titanic enthusiasts, to those new to the story, and even to those who don't know much but want to know more about what has become the most famous ship sinking in history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was so interesting
CrossroadReviews More than 1 year ago
I guess that this book was released to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic on April 15, 1912. The book was accetully very intresting. If you think you know everything about the Titanic well then your wrong! Read this book it really does include 101 things about the Titanic that I bet that not many people know. So if you like the Titanic then this book is deff. for you! "*I received a copy of this book for free to review, this in no way influenced my review, all opinions are 100% honest and my own."
efm More than 1 year ago
easy read, learned things that I had not read in other Titanic books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this book good?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it