Customer Reviews for

102 Minutes: The Unforgettable Story of the Fight to Survive Inside the Twin Towers

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLY EXCELLENT!!!!

I find it interesting that most of the reviews of this book are rather lenghty. Is it due to the excellent writing of the two authors or could it be that we are given the opportunity to recall and recount our individual feelings of that day? Perhaps it is a combinat...
I find it interesting that most of the reviews of this book are rather lenghty. Is it due to the excellent writing of the two authors or could it be that we are given the opportunity to recall and recount our individual feelings of that day? Perhaps it is a combination of both. As I read, a visual reminder replayed over and over in my mind. Thank you Barnes and Noble for making this accounting of those events available. And may we NEVER FORGET!

posted by 7142666 on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book was very dry

I thought this book would be excellent but it was very dry. It was work to get through and I could not even make myself finish it. There were a million names on one page and it got overwhelming. I do not reccomend it. There was the occasional juicy part but most of i...
I thought this book would be excellent but it was very dry. It was work to get through and I could not even make myself finish it. There were a million names on one page and it got overwhelming. I do not reccomend it. There was the occasional juicy part but most of it was boring and dry.

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    HORRIBLY EXCELLENT!!!!

    I find it interesting that most of the reviews of this book are rather lenghty. Is it due to the excellent writing of the two authors or could it be that we are given the opportunity to recall and recount our individual feelings of that day? Perhaps it is a combination of both. As I read, a visual reminder replayed over and over in my mind. Thank you Barnes and Noble for making this accounting of those events available. And may we NEVER FORGET!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I read this book in paper form over a year ago, and still think back on it from time to time. Very well written, with incredible insight from people who were really there. This is one I'll read again, and I don't say that about many books.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    This was an absolutely amazing book. Not just because of the true-life accounts of many who survived (or, in many cases, didn't), but mostly because the authors pull no punches in telling the story of 9/11/01.<BR/><BR/>This isn't a book that bashes the government, both local and national, but it does tell both the good and the bad, the positive and the negative. While I was uplifted and encouraged by so many examples of human kindness, I was devastated to read that so very many deaths could have possibly been avoided, if there had just been better communication between political-minded departments.<BR/><BR/>Also, the fact that so many shortcuts were taken in building the World Trade Center, simply to create more rentable space, shows just how far people will go to make a buck. It saddens me that so many lives might have been saved if there were more staircases, if they had been spread out more, if they had had proper fireproofing.<BR/><BR/>If you're interested at all in the story that is 9/11, then this is a must-read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A gripping, compelling piece of investigative reporting that shows what it was like to be in the World Trade Center on September 11th.

    It seems hard to believe that we're approaching the 10th anniversary of September 11th. At the time, I had just moved to Manhattan about two weeks before the attacks. When it happened, I was alone in a Greenwich Village apartment scared out of my mind. I remember hearing the roar of American Airlines Flight 11 as it flew over my roof before crashing into the North Tower. I remember seeing an armed military fighter jet flying overhead ready to shoot down any more hijacked planes. I remember hearing people hysterically crying as they returned to my apartment building and made their way up the corridor of steps that passed my door. I could go on, but I can only offer a limited scope on a day that defies all magnitude.

    I've wanted to read 102 Minutes: The Untold Story of the Fight to Survive Inside the Twin Towers by Jim Dwyer and Kevin Flynn for quite some time now. And I'm not afraid to say, it took me awhile to gather my courage before I could pick it up. I wasn't sure that even 10 years later I was ready to read about what happened inside the towers on that fateful day. The horror is beyond all imagining, but Dwyer and Flynn provide an important historical resource filled with humanity and backed by a gargantuan reporting effort. The amount of facts, interviews, phone recordings and email accounts is seamlessly woven into a gripping narrative that is utterly fascinating. I could not put it down once I started and ended up finishing the book in two days. The writers' ability to make you feel like you are inside the towers while these catastrophic events are unfolding is nothing short of investigative journalism at its best.

    What surprised me is that even after a decade of continuous media coverage there was still so much that I learned for the first time in this book. There were roughly 14,000 people in the towers when the first plane struck and over 12,000 made it out alive. That is a staggering number. When they descended multiple stories of narrow staircases, the survivors then had to exit a lobby from which bodies and fiery debris were dropping from above. The fact that so many were able to safely evacuate is astounding.

    There are so many individual stories profiled in the book, but one that stands out for me is Battalion Chief Orio J. Palmer, a marathon runner and FDNY firefighter. His determination led him to climb 78 stories to reach the impact zone of the South Tower. He made it to an elevator staging bay where people would transfer to complete their ascent or descent. Many were waiting here when American Airlines Flight 175 slammed through. The death and destruction Palmer witnessed and radioed back was beyond belief. The saddest thing is that despite a valiant effort he too perished minutes later when the South Tower collapsed.

    A poignant section features photographs taken inside the towers that day. You see Palmer in full uniform in the lobby. You see NYPD officer Moira Smith escort an injured man to safety before she herself perished in the collapse. You see pictures taken by survivor John Labriola as he snapped images of firefighters rushing up the stairs while a whole line of people trickle down and the lobby of the North Tower whose windows overlook a plaza filled with burning debris. These images are haunting as they offer a fleeting glimpse inside a moment of history.

    The horror of the day is told in pieces, but it adds up to a frightening whole.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Powerful & haunting

    For most people the images of 9/11 are indelibly burned into my brain. I watched the Twin Towers explode, burn & collapse but never really connected with the hundreds of people who were fighting for survival & those who attempted to rescue them inside of those buildings. 102 Minutes... paints a vivid picture of these courageous souls' struggles & the obstacles they encountered while trying to reach safety. After reading this book, those images are now viewed from a totally different perspective. I no longer just see structures but focus on the lives saved & lost within. This book is unforgettable.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book really puts you in the place of what happened, the horror and pain and fear that gripped everyone involved.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Riveting

    This book tells stories that have never been told. It puts the reader on the floors above the impact, from the eyes of a man who saw the plane coming, the 1st Responders and the survivors. We must never forget!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Intense!

    I'm over halfway through this book and truly appreciate all the research the authors did to bring us the details of the 102 minutes. My only disappointment is that in the eBook version I was unable to read the informational diagrams as they are absolutely tiny. I actually borrowed a hard copy from the library so I could see what I was missing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    Riveted!

    My family was residing out of the US when 9-11 happened. I read this book just before the September 2011 happenings in NYC, Washington, DC and PA. This account about the Twin Towers kept me riveted throughout my reading. Emotions of extreme sadness washed over me often, especially when I realized that both towers were gone within the titled "102 Minutes!" Dwyer and Flynn's words drew the reader into the experience without morbidity. I'm thankful for their care in researching and reporting these events, especially as we remember ALL those impacted by 9-11.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    This book will take a great deal of courage for me to read

    I read parts of this when it was originally published. I bought the book and will read it some time in what I hope will be the very near future - when I am able to work up the courage to open the cover. Based on what I read previously, I can say, without any reservations, that this is one of the most powerful pieces of literature you will ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Great Book! Recommended To Everyone.

    102 Minutes felt very relevant to me. As a high school senior, I look back on the events of September 11, 2001, and remember being about ten years old and very confused. Our school district decided that it would be better for the students to remain at school instead of calling parents to come get us. At the end of the day, my dad and a lot of other parents came to school to pick us up which was unusual. I knew something was wrong. When I asked him what happened, he told me that we would talk when we got home.
    Reading 102 Minutes gave me a much better understanding of the events that took place on 9/11. I got a first hand account of what the rescuers and survivors went through on that terrible day. The narrator's descriptions made me feel like I was experiencing the tragedy with them. The map located at the beginning of the book shows the area surrounding where the towers stood. It very much helped illustrate where things took place that day in New York City.
    Since the events of September 11th happened during my lifetime, I thought it was a very easy read. I could think back and clearly remember some of the things they described. I think anybody who enjoys reading about history, or is a younger person like me, could really learn a lot about what happened by reading this book.
    I think that whoever reads this book will realize how dramatic this event was and how our country united as one to become safer and more secure. It changed so many things, for so many people, that in some ways our country will never be the same. I'm glad I chose this book and hopefully I can encourage more people to learn about the events that took place on 9/11.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    The best book I have ever read

    This is a book you won't be able to put down. The details of the people inside the tower...the sites..you almost feel like you are there and you wish you could help all of them get out. Truly amazing and a must read for all people interested in what happened that horrible day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    Captivating

    As someone personally affected by the 9/11 attacks, I was apprehensive on reading this book, but hoped it would provide me with some answers. Once I started reading, I could not put it down. It gave me so many insights into the WTC buildings, our goverment and government agencies like the NYPD and NYFD, and into the attacks themsvelves. It allowed me to reflect upon my loss, but also opened my eyes to hope that we can learn from 9/11 to prevent it happening again. Thanks to the authors for telling such compelling stories and painting such vivid pictures of the 9/11 events as they unfolded. I truly believe that this book should be required reading by every American.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Lest we forget

    Most people already feel that this book wasn't necessary because they are 'sick of hearing' about 9/11. Even as the anniversary comes around, I see students who have already grown tired of it (I'm a sub. teacher). This book is important because if we do not remind ourselves of the horrors of that day, and those who experienced it, we will forget it. Reading this book makes it real because it is not a simple plot to a fiction book. Rather, it is a part of recent history, driven to remind us of what we should never forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    Powerful Read

    As a survivor from Tower 2, who has blocked certain aspects from 9/11 from my memories, I found this book to be a look inside while I was watching the drama unfold from the outside. While no one but the unfortunate people who were inside can truly know what happened during those '102 Mintues' those who managed to reach out to family, friends and/or coworkers, told the tales of heroism, comradary, fear and pain in ways we will never be able to fathom. While everyone experienced the events of 9/11 in some shape (either in the towers, on the streets or watching it unfold on television) the path to healing make take longer for some than others. I found pieces of the events I experienced that I had previously 'blocked', were made painfully clear yet are an important part of the healing process, for me anyway. This book was truly a powerful read that I was completely unable to put down. This book answers questions that I'm sure many have wondered about such as what happened on the floors above the impact zones, what did they see up there as well as countless stories of people saving total strangers, coming together to aid whoever they could while disregarding their own safety.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    This is the one...

    If you've been waiting for just the right book to read about September 11th, this is the one. Dwyer and Flynn put you there. With meticulously documented personal accounts, cell phone calls, answering machine messages and emergency personnel communications, the authors make YOU the one on the phone to your spouse and ducking under your desk as the plane hits. YOU are the one descending the stairwells or trapped in an elevator. Diagrams throughout and photographs add depth of understanding but its the prose that reads at a break-neck pace that keeps the pages turning. The ultimate you are there experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Considering how horrific this tragedy was I could not put this b

    Considering how horrific this tragedy was I could not put this book down. This is one that I would definitely read again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    AWESOME ACCOUNT OF THAT DAY

    I have read this book a couple of times. This day should never be forgotten. My heart goes out to all of those who lost loved ones. I have the utmost respect for all of the brave heroes who went into the buildings to save others, and it broke my heart knowing many of them never came back home (especially those who were off that day and decided to go help, only to perish). How sad. This book puts things into perspective. Nothing is guaranteed in this world, and all of us need to live each day to the fullest, because tomorrow is not promised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    This is good to know about

    Hi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is an almost visual account of the Twin Towers on 9/11. Many of the flaws of big business and our government are shown. What a shame so many had to die and nothing has hardly changed. A real eye opener!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5