BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

1022 Evergreen Place (Cedar Cove Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Return to Cedar Cove...I missed my "friends"

Time to re-visit Cedar Cove and catch up with all our old friends and some of our newer friends! I was a bit disappointed in the last couple of Cedar Cove books, but this one turned it all around for me. It was like a welcome home for me.

This time around the story...
Time to re-visit Cedar Cove and catch up with all our old friends and some of our newer friends! I was a bit disappointed in the last couple of Cedar Cove books, but this one turned it all around for me. It was like a welcome home for me.

This time around the story focuses on Mary Jo Wyse and Mack McAfee. They both love each other, but have been skirting around telling each other and keeping each other at arm's length. They are brought together through a series of letters Mary Jo finds under the floor boards of her closet (she found them in [book:92 Pacific Blvd]. They tell a story of a soldier during WWII and his love for the girl back home. They both are exciting to solve the mystery of what happened to both the soldier and his girl.

Secondary stories include:

*Shirley and Tanni Bliss. Mother and daughter are both dealing with love issues.

*Christie and James. These two have been going back and forth with each other for years. It is a small story line, but it is nice to follow up with them again.

*The whole McAfee family. They are going through so many changes and Roy and Corrie are having a bit of a hard time keeping up with all their children.

*Rachel, Bruce, and Jolene. Rachel and Jolene still aren't getting along and Bruce seems to just ignore it. More complications set back the family and it seems they just might not be able to hold it together.

I love stepping back into Cedar Cove. Macomber has a way of making all the characters come alive. You may not like all of the characters, but she paints them in a why that you can understand them. They are all real and feel like people you may know in your own life. After 10 plus books, they have become like friends to me.

As usual, the book have vignettes of each character's story and then jumps to the next story. Each time it would happen I would be disappointed, but within a couple of lines I was excited to read about the next character's woes.

I honestly can't say I was all that excited to read about Mack and Mary Jo. They were only so-so to me in the past books. I liked them, but just did not get me all that excited. I was surprised at how quickly I came to like them and care about them. They frustrated me, but I hoped for them to work things out.

My biggest complaint is that it ended and I have to wait until September of 2011 to return to Cedar Cove and catch up with my friends! No, No, No! I wish I could just keep reading about them. I want to know how they are all doing. *sigh* I will just have to wait.

Well written, fast read. An excellent addition to the Cedar Cove series.
*I received this book from the publisher via netgalley to review*

posted by Elmira on June 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very frustrating - spoilers included

I have never been as annoyed with fictional characters as I was with the ones in this book. Half of them had conversations where they admitted the wise decision to make and then just decided to do the opposite for no real reason. A woman who knew from experience how t...
I have never been as annoyed with fictional characters as I was with the ones in this book. Half of them had conversations where they admitted the wise decision to make and then just decided to do the opposite for no real reason. A woman who knew from experience how three lives were affected when a woman didn't tell her ex that she was pregnant decided that in her case it was perfectly okay and paternal rights weren't something that she needed to recognize. And the blended family that let a bratty teenager destroy a marriage made me scream too. I realize that people make mistakes and let situations get out of control sometimes, but this was ridiculous, and that's coming from a soap opera fan.

posted by 1916578 on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 381 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Return to Cedar Cove...I missed my "friends"

    Time to re-visit Cedar Cove and catch up with all our old friends and some of our newer friends! I was a bit disappointed in the last couple of Cedar Cove books, but this one turned it all around for me. It was like a welcome home for me.

    This time around the story focuses on Mary Jo Wyse and Mack McAfee. They both love each other, but have been skirting around telling each other and keeping each other at arm's length. They are brought together through a series of letters Mary Jo finds under the floor boards of her closet (she found them in [book:92 Pacific Blvd]. They tell a story of a soldier during WWII and his love for the girl back home. They both are exciting to solve the mystery of what happened to both the soldier and his girl.

    Secondary stories include:

    *Shirley and Tanni Bliss. Mother and daughter are both dealing with love issues.

    *Christie and James. These two have been going back and forth with each other for years. It is a small story line, but it is nice to follow up with them again.

    *The whole McAfee family. They are going through so many changes and Roy and Corrie are having a bit of a hard time keeping up with all their children.

    *Rachel, Bruce, and Jolene. Rachel and Jolene still aren't getting along and Bruce seems to just ignore it. More complications set back the family and it seems they just might not be able to hold it together.

    I love stepping back into Cedar Cove. Macomber has a way of making all the characters come alive. You may not like all of the characters, but she paints them in a why that you can understand them. They are all real and feel like people you may know in your own life. After 10 plus books, they have become like friends to me.

    As usual, the book have vignettes of each character's story and then jumps to the next story. Each time it would happen I would be disappointed, but within a couple of lines I was excited to read about the next character's woes.

    I honestly can't say I was all that excited to read about Mack and Mary Jo. They were only so-so to me in the past books. I liked them, but just did not get me all that excited. I was surprised at how quickly I came to like them and care about them. They frustrated me, but I hoped for them to work things out.

    My biggest complaint is that it ended and I have to wait until September of 2011 to return to Cedar Cove and catch up with my friends! No, No, No! I wish I could just keep reading about them. I want to know how they are all doing. *sigh* I will just have to wait.

    Well written, fast read. An excellent addition to the Cedar Cove series.
    *I received this book from the publisher via netgalley to review*

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Very frustrating - spoilers included

    I have never been as annoyed with fictional characters as I was with the ones in this book. Half of them had conversations where they admitted the wise decision to make and then just decided to do the opposite for no real reason. A woman who knew from experience how three lives were affected when a woman didn't tell her ex that she was pregnant decided that in her case it was perfectly okay and paternal rights weren't something that she needed to recognize. And the blended family that let a bratty teenager destroy a marriage made me scream too. I realize that people make mistakes and let situations get out of control sometimes, but this was ridiculous, and that's coming from a soap opera fan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    Don't waste your money on this misogynistic retread

    I admit, I enjoyed the earlier books in this series so I ignored all their many flaws. However, this book was so ridiculously bad, the problems with this series, and this book in particular, were so glaring. First, the writing in this book is completely lazy. Forty percent of it is merely recapping the first nine books in the series. I didn't pay the price of a new book for almost half of it to be a summary of everything else I already read. I don't see why these books only come out once a year when most of it is recycled from earlier books.

    Second, Macomber's portrayal of women is pretty misogynistic. Apparently, she would like to pretend that the last forty years never happened and that women are helpless little creatures that are not complete until they find a man who can rescue them. There are a couple of independent career women, but most of the females in these books are simpering idiots.

    Next, her portrayal of relationships themselves are RIDICULOUS. Everyone in these books falls in love in about forty seconds flat. These people rarely date (usually they fight with each other and then get married without ever having spent real time together like um, actual relationships). And because we are pretending the last few decades did not happen, of course no one has sex at all before marriage. Just a few chaste kisses and then they get married so they can do the deed. Before all you moral police get all over me, is it really any more moral to get married immediately just so you can have sex, because realistically relationships like that result in divorce ? Please. And if a woman in these books dares to have pre-marital sex, of course she feels like a total whore because in Debbie-land, women cannot be independent creatures who own their decisions, sexual and otherwise. Ultimately, they will be rescued from their whore-dom and restored to almost-virgin status by a man though, of course.

    Finally, my problem with these Cedar Cove books is that everyone is a heterosexual, white, Christian virgin. Apparently this town is really just a cult, because no cities like this exist in America that are so totally homogeneous. There are no African-Americans, no Asians, no gays, no Jewish people (this is true of all her books, too, because I can't think of a single non-white person in her Blossom Street or Buffalo Valley series as well). It is one thing if you are writing a novel centered around 2 people where you can limit the diversity in your cast. But when you are writing about an entire town, you need to broaden your scope a little to reflect what goes on in a real American town.

    Come out of the 1950s, Debbie! Please! Too bad I can't give it no stars, because I would.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Always wanting more

    Debbie Macomber again leaves me wanting to know more about these characters. She has a writing style that is easy to read and I can always envision her characters in real-life. It is beginning however to get a bit cumbersome for her to write these books for readers who are new to the series. Too much of the book is taken up with explaining the back story of the characters. By this tenth book, she has a lot of characters and a huge back story. Maybe just a bit longer in the character description at the front of the book would give her current characters more room to live in the text. Still would recommend this book and will continue to read all that she produces.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well written

    In Cedar Cove, Washington, when firefighter Mack McAfee and Mary Jo Wyse met as neighbors they were attracted to each other. He even used his paramedic skills last Christmas while she gave birth to aptly named Noelle (see A Cedar Cove Christmas). Excited by their feelings, he proposed and she accepted. However, both begin to doubt the wisdom of their rush. Mary Jo distrusts her former husband David Rhodes and fears he will come for their daughter Noelle; not because he wants her but to punish her mother. David vows to keep the mother and daughter he loves safe.

    Mary Jo becomes enthralled with a box of WWII love letters she finds underneath the floorboards (see 92 Pacific Boulevard). She wants to know more about the man who wrote them. She turns to Mack to assist her in learning who this romantic was; even as they learn who they are to each other and to baby Noelle.

    The return to Cedar Cove will excite fans of the saga as the continuing stories of the cast supports the prime story line of Mack and Mary Jo coming to grips on their feelings for each other; newcomers on the other hand will find it difficult to take the plunge. Well written, the audience will welcome this fine tale as the back-ups in previous entries take center stage.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed reading this book that is a bunch of stories of

    I really enjoyed reading this book that is a bunch of stories of people living in Cedar Cove, WA. I must admit, the book ended in quite a weird way. I was pretty upset about that, but then read other reviews and realized that this is part of an ongoing series. The next book should be out in a couple of months and I'll be in line to get it so I can find out what happens next! I'm now wondering if I should go back and read the first nine. Has anyone read this series and know if that would be a good idea or will having read the tenth mess up the storyline?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Wonderful Series

    Just love this series....I can't wait to read the next one. Debbie Macomber has done a great job telling the story of this little community. Love her books!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Recommended highly

    Enjoyed all of the books in this series. Debbie made you feel as you lived right there in Cedar Cove

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Thanks to Debbie for an amazing sequel.

    This story relates to so many couples relationships in today's world. So realistic.

    Just an FYI...as a girl in school with reading difficulties, I hated to read. Because of the Cedar Cove Series, I know love to read and my husband gave me a Nook Color for my birthday. I would of never guessed that one day my 2 favorite hobbies would be reading and knitting...This is what happens when the kids grow up...Loving my life and waiting for 1105 Yakima Street. Thanks Debbie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Paytons room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Excellent book and series!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Excellent book and series!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    A fabulous read!

    Anyone who has not read any of the Cedar Cove stories should start at the beginning and just keep on reading until the last! I sure hate to see this series coming to an end. Guess I will have to start at the beginning of another one of Debbie Macomber's other series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Recommend.

    I bought this item in the beginning of November and up to now I have not received it. However, the payment was already made! Today is December 11th, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    I love this series, easy reading. I do agree with many that goi

    I love this series, easy reading. I do agree with many that going over the character back ground in every book is not needed. It's a series people should start with the first book and read on. I hope this series goes on longer then the current 12 books. I started reading this series because it was going to be on TV. The TV show isn't half a good as the books. This was my first time reading any books by Debbie Macomber and I got hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I loved every book in the cedar cove series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommend Highly

    The story of a small town around Puget Sound and its inhabitants keeps moving as the lives of the residents weave in and out in life's drama. Interesting and a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Loved It!

    Debbie Macomber has a way of making the characters in the stories come alive. I have enjoyed the books in the Cedar Cove series and look forward to others.
    LA-TXN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    I enjoyed very much.

    It is like living in a small town with all the problems, trouble and joys that come with that type of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wow

    I can not believe how much I dislike Will. Also how much I hated this ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Love it!

    Keep making the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 381 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20