Customer Reviews for

11/22/63

Average Rating 4.5
( 2630 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1618)

4 Star

(601)

3 Star

(231)

2 Star

(91)

1 Star

(89)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

150 out of 156 people found this review helpful.

First Stephen King book... not my last...

As a 41 year old guy trying to fit in a little reading into his life, I must say it was tough when I saw the page count of this book, which in my opinion is nthing short of a masterpiece. I was always put off of Stephen King as a reader, mostly because of the creepy mov...
As a 41 year old guy trying to fit in a little reading into his life, I must say it was tough when I saw the page count of this book, which in my opinion is nthing short of a masterpiece. I was always put off of Stephen King as a reader, mostly because of the creepy movies that came from his books, but this was different. This book was almost historical fiction with a time travel twist, and Stephen King makes every detail come alive, and I blew through it, crying like a schoolgirl as I read the last page. I couldn't recommend it more highly!

posted by 3356553 on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

56 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

Really????

For that price I expect a personal dance by Stephen King!! Prices are getting out of hand with nook -- what a turn off!!

posted by 7213754 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Sooo long

    Overall the book was okay. It was so long though and the plot just seemed to drag. I lost interest about 300 pages in. The same story could have been told with 400 fewer pages. The concept was fantastic but it just didnt hit the mark for me. Concluding thoughts: less is more mr. King

    8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Dont buy for nook

    This review is purley about the formating for the book for the nook. Not the actual story of the book. This was the first book I bought for my nook color and I'm very unhappy with it. The first few pages of the book, where the pictures are and news paper articles are all cut off. I can only see/read half of those pages. Also whenever I attempt to go back a page it just reloads the page.

    I would highly recomend buying the pysicall book and not speding the money on the digital version that you can't even let your family members who have nooks read when you are done with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Did not love it

    This book grabbed me early on but lost me just as quickly. It was my first King novel and left me wondering what all the hype was about. It could have been told in half as many pages and probably would have been better. Many characters felt contrived and i didn't care about most of them. The fisrt 200 pages were the best. After that it was just okay at best. I wouldn't have bothered to finish it if it weren't for my book club, though some in our group have abandoned it and don't plan to finish at all. By the reviews it is clear my friends and I are in the minority, but I just can't say I'm a fan of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A total departure from what King is typically known for, and not at all what I expected. A total departure from what King is typically known for, and not at all

    The premise of this novel is so different from anything King has done before, that when I first heard about it, I immediately added it to my ¿want¿ list. Traveling back in time to change history has been done a million times before, but for some reason, I was looking forward to King¿s attempt at it. Since the title of the book refers to the assassination of John F. Kennedy, I naturally assumed that the bulk of the story would center around it. However, I was wrong on that count. Although Jake¿s entire reason for entering the portal is to prevent the assassination, the story quickly takes a turn and becomes something else entirely. Much of it, almost half of the book deals with trying to prevent his student¿s family from being murdered. The rest of it is about the woman he meets while living in past and then there is the assassination attempt. Had this book been advertised differently, I think I would have enjoyed it more, but I was expecting to read more about the assassination attempt and a lot less about Jake¿s romantic interest. Was the story readable? Yes, but it lacked the character development that King¿s books are known for. I found myself skimming, especially through the romantic bits because I just didn¿t care for any of the characters and that pains me because I am a huge King fan. All in all, I can¿t recommend this one. It lacked depth, focus and the character development that I¿ve come to expect from King and left me very disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Way too long

    I found myself liking the book less as it went on, since it was soooo long. The story itself is a good one and the relationship between Jake/George and Sadie was beautifully written. But if the book had been about 2/3s the length it would have rated 4 or possibly even 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Who would not save JFK given the chance??? However that as a pre

    Who would not save JFK given the chance??? However that as a premise for a book is only adequate for a small portion of this story line.
    I was sadly disappointed that Stephen King used so many of his Characters from his previous books. It is like he has either written so many books
    he's not able to come up with new ones, Or he is living too much in the past and has no originality. Don't get me wrong I have read about everything 
    King has ever written. But because of that anything "Derry" is a little old for me. He was using themes, people  and back stories from his Novel "IT"
    Like it was going out of style! Im not done with it yet but almost. I am still a fan, But NOT HIS BEST WORK!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Loved it!

    I purchased the book when it came out but didn't get around to reading it. The book is kind of heavy so I thought I would purchase it and read it on my Nook. Love the story and it was so easy to read on the Nook. Kept me engrossed in the story line. I love everything Stephen King writes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Major Bummer

    Waited so long to read. First 2/3 couldnt put down. Ending was one of themost disappointing ever. Save ur cash

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Not Up To Par

    I have read and enjoyed most of Stephen King's books, however, this one leaves much to be desired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Not impressed

    I couldn't finish the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    As being my first King book I was very impressed...for the first

    As being my first King book I was very impressed...for the first few pages. After that I really lost interest. There was very little action and it got very boring not even half way, but I kept reading on. For a few chapters it would grab my attention then it would go on and on about stalking the killer and living in Jodie. So many times, I wish that he would just get to the point. Especially towards the end, he repeats the events so many times, I just wanted to stop there. Also, he waits until the last part to explain the whole sequence of traveling in time! I was not impressed my first Kings book and I am skeptical if I should buy another one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Dont want to read

    Bc the frist comment i seen was bad so i am not going to read but all the people out there that read it and liked it well good job only reason i wont get it bc it is expensive and also it sounds stupid for someone my age. I gave it too for all the comments out here that took forever to type.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Not What You Think

    While I enjoyed the book, If I wanted a romance novel I would have bought one. As a person infatuated with material on JFK I had hoped this was another way of looking at what his life and the world would have been like had he lived. You can apportion 80 pages of the novel to the JFK subject and 400 pages to the romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Just kind of piddled out

    This was the most expensive NOOK book that I had purchased. It started out pretty good and held my interest for a while then it got really weird and then corrected itself on the last few pages. It wasn't scary and it wasn't informative. King did seem to know about the music of the times. But he didn't really seem to know where Dallas is located or much about Texas. It was pretty easy to see his political leaning and his disdain for Texas and the South.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Good yarn JFK irrelevent

    This story would have worked with any historic date. The Kennedy reference was to sell copies. Could have done without the global warming and nuclear meltdown "future" Kept me engaged waiting for the big change, but it fell flat.

    Save your time and money

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Boring

    Sounds borimg to me but it might not you

    0 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    What the hell

    I orderthe ehhance onne,but would not open called the 1800 # they trick me into buying it twice requalar and enhance is that there way to up sales, i got the nook colar and wish i waited for a tablet like i pad or galaxy

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5