Customer Reviews for

11/22/63

Average Rating 4.5
( 2567 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1578)

4 Star

(591)

3 Star

(221)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(88)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

143 out of 149 people found this review helpful.

First Stephen King book... not my last...

As a 41 year old guy trying to fit in a little reading into his life, I must say it was tough when I saw the page count of this book, which in my opinion is nthing short of a masterpiece. I was always put off of Stephen King as a reader, mostly because of the creepy mov...
As a 41 year old guy trying to fit in a little reading into his life, I must say it was tough when I saw the page count of this book, which in my opinion is nthing short of a masterpiece. I was always put off of Stephen King as a reader, mostly because of the creepy movies that came from his books, but this was different. This book was almost historical fiction with a time travel twist, and Stephen King makes every detail come alive, and I blew through it, crying like a schoolgirl as I read the last page. I couldn't recommend it more highly!

posted by 3356553 on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

56 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

Really????

For that price I expect a personal dance by Stephen King!! Prices are getting out of hand with nook -- what a turn off!!

posted by 7213754 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    King missed it again.

    This book starts out okay. It kept my interest although it could get a little long-winded, and was pretty predictable. About 1/2 way through it seems to become a history lesson on the movements of Oswald. In great detail every move he made for months is outlined. And I couldn't really tell that any of it had to do with the storyline. I finally had to just quit reading it. If I'd wanted a history book on the assassination of JFK I would have bought one. It seems that King needs a new editor. One that will stand up to him and cut about 1/2 of his writing out of story.

    18 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    First good King book in years

    Not since "The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon" has King tempted me into reading one of his books, and it was a long time prior to that that I had more or less given up on him. However, this story grabbed me from the overleaf and, though a bit long, kept up the interest without the predictable and repetetive over indulgence in the gore and vulgarity that has marred King's more recent works.

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Not what I expected from King

    11/22/63 is a different kind of book for King and being a young boy when Kennedy was assassinated drove my interest in reading what may have been should Jake Epping aka George Amberson be successful in his time travel mission. The book was certainly not a page turner but it does capture your interest to stay with it as Jake charts his time from the fall of 1958 to that fateful day in November 1963. Once November 22, 1963, passes King closes out the book rather rapidly and, in my opinion, rather weakly from what I would have expected. Personally, I would have wished November 22, 1963, came earlier in the book and to have had a more in depth read/treatment of how history could have been.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Ok concept, but King shouldn't write love stories

    This book is more of a love story than I expected or wanted. It is about 80% love and 20% other worldly. Overall a book to finish reading if you bought, but think twice before buying.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Avid King Reader

    I have been reading King's books for over 20 years now. Usually they draw me into the reading and I can't put them down until I finish (couple days tops). Although this book is enjoyable I didnt have that same feel and it took me over a week to finish. I enjoyed the character interaction and the theory behind changing the past always effects the present one way or another, but honestly he could have shaved 100 pages from the book and the reader would have gotten the point and maybe enjoyed the book more. It makes me sad to write not so great things about my favorite author, but like Stephen always says he listens to his faithful readers, which I will always be one. - Looking forward to the next one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    I really wanted to LOVE this book. If there was any way to give

    I really wanted to LOVE this book. If there was any way to give a "2.5 stars" I would do so; yes. I thought "11/22/63" was somewhere between "below average" and "good." I liked the concept. Anybody who understood how they could have a hand at significantly changing a most terrible event of the past having discovered a time portal into the late 1950s would also understand how they could do the same if they found a portal in, say, the late 1990s. Excitin' times, pardon the pun. Someone TESTIFY! Please, yes, convince me otherwise of the following complaints (* * * HEAVY, HEAVY spoilers * * *):

    -- I thought Stephen King's politics went more toward the Left (I mean, if he and Glenn Beck gets along nowadays). And I'm not complaining about his politics, mind you. But, his history (the "string" he's offered to his readers) following Kennedy's save from Oswald's bullet(s) results in a dystopian-like state of the world? I mean, I know King does "unhappy" endings like no other mega-bestseller, but, come on. I don't think he would've disappointed a single reader if the 2011 that Jake/George went back to was rife with wars being solved by skilled, Navy SEAL-like units from each country vs. use of mass armies, A society that has its billionaires and millionaires, but, 0 poverty. I know. Sounds like a utopia. But, what Kennedy promised paired with the constant thread through this book of how "there is a high probability of JFK being saved ending up in something better than 'Nam and the 'death of innocence in America'", heck, I just found an Orwellian, instead, highly unconvincing. And stupid, for that matter. Not telling King how to write (I mean, who SHOULD!?). But, more thought needed to go into the result. And HE GAVE happy ending anyway, with late 30s or early 40s George/Jake having that Hallmark television time-travel special of the year when he spun that dance with old Sadie.

    -- That whole thing where George/Jake was employed at the school. I dunno. 'Bout 300 pages could've been devoted to something that would've enhanced "the mission" a bit better. For about as many pages, I was thinking, "school play, school play, school play. Jocks breaking out of their shells." I mean, man, with all the research King supposedly did, "school play" was a big focus of the book?

    -- "The past is obdurate." Yes, Jake/George. So, WHY even risk doing things that would jeopardize the REASON why you went back into time. "The past is obdurate," so, what? He makes the conscious decision to go steady when he knew his own marriage ended up tragically?

    -- Kyle and/or the guy with the colorful card. So, what, this guy, what? He gets to jump over to other time strings?

    -- A mad husband's murder of his wife and some of his kids is much more tragic than the murder of a statesman. I'm sorry, it's true. It's not as famous, but, it's true. But, no dystopia when Jake/George came back from that first time when he whacked Daddy Dunning.

    -- some of King's Afterward at the end is just . . . I dunno. King's convinced that Oswald was the lone shooter in this situation, but, his nod to Zapruder's frame 313 somehow also seems to convince the reader that the bullet came from some phantom Right-winger assassin, Dallas being hostile, Confederate flags waiving and all. Truly puzzling. Well, King true-believers. I am your target. Let it rip (but, I'm pretty convinced of what I'm saying here-la).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Meh... Great in beginning and end

    This is the first Steven King book I have ever read, and it was a struggle. There were parts that were repetitive and unnecessary. This book defiantly doesn't keep your attention, but does turn into a nice love story towards the end... Once I reached somewhere in the 500th page of the book it got interesting. Overall it was ok for a winter read but I wouldn't recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Scary

    Scary Read

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    JFK

    An interesting book but taking so long to get to one day event end. Still King is King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Anonyms

    A good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    Given the fact the premise of the book bordered on science ficti

    Given the fact the premise of the book bordered on science fiction, the main character being a "time traveler" , 
    I thought the story might be too far fetched. It was , however interesting and thought provoking and has one 
    Wondering what might have been, if in fact President Kennedy was not assassinated. The characters are 
    interesting and the story contains accurate historical events to support its plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    A repeat of The Talismam

    Waa ok but long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Far fetched

    This book was too long. Lots of fluff added to the plot that wasn't needed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Long winded

    It would have been alot better as a shorter story a good book but very boring at times very boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    drags on much too long

    interesting story line but really drags on much too long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Blake

    Sorry i like the killing gore blood etc.but i dont the the controlers and stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Hey N&N, this ebook is $7.99... why are you listing it as a

    Hey N&N, this ebook is $7.99... why are you listing it as a book under $5?  Do you need help with the math?  This is not the first one I've seen.  Is this supposed to be bait & switch?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    I am quite the Stephen King fan and have read many of his books,

    I am quite the Stephen King fan and have read many of his books, including the huge ones like "The Stand." Generally, his books are page-turners and I finish them quickly. This book disappointed me. The side plots with Sadie, Harry and the girl shot by the hunter weighed down the book, without adding much. I kept thinking, "Come on, tell me about Kennedy." I was also disappointed that King thought so little of his readers as to go into great detail about the meaning of the "Yellow Ticket Man." I didn't want him to reveal the symbolism. I wanted that left to my imagination. I found the romance with Sophie sweet and it did make me cry, but I kept resenting her butting in. After waiting an ETERNITY to find how George stopped Oswald, he breezed through the last 200 pages haphazardly. there was no real explanation for the 2011 world George returned to after saving Kennedy. So much was contrived and not believable. I'm used to a King who can make his readers believe there are indeed boogie men under the bed. This one left me with a lot of unanswered questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Just okay for King

    Its long but detailed. Its intriguing but the plot drags sometimes. Just not creepy enough in most parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Not the King I remember

    Stephen King wrote a love story, complete with heartbreak and sentimentalism. Jake Epping, aka George Amberson, visits the past in an effort to prevent the JFK assassination and falls in love with Sadie along the way. However, the past is not so easily altered. Will saving Kennedy really brighten the future? Jake learns the answer and is faced with a difficult choice that will affect the future of the world as he once knew it. This is the first King book I've read in 17 years and it's not what i expected but I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12