Customer Reviews for

11/22/63

Average Rating 4.5
( 2630 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1618)

4 Star

(601)

3 Star

(231)

2 Star

(91)

1 Star

(89)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

150 out of 156 people found this review helpful.

First Stephen King book... not my last...

As a 41 year old guy trying to fit in a little reading into his life, I must say it was tough when I saw the page count of this book, which in my opinion is nthing short of a masterpiece. I was always put off of Stephen King as a reader, mostly because of the creepy mov...
As a 41 year old guy trying to fit in a little reading into his life, I must say it was tough when I saw the page count of this book, which in my opinion is nthing short of a masterpiece. I was always put off of Stephen King as a reader, mostly because of the creepy movies that came from his books, but this was different. This book was almost historical fiction with a time travel twist, and Stephen King makes every detail come alive, and I blew through it, crying like a schoolgirl as I read the last page. I couldn't recommend it more highly!

posted by 3356553 on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

56 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

Really????

For that price I expect a personal dance by Stephen King!! Prices are getting out of hand with nook -- what a turn off!!

posted by 7213754 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 601 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 31
  • Posted November 24, 2014

    A fascinating story, ¿11/22/63¿ brings to life another time.  Ki

    A fascinating story, “11/22/63” brings to life another time.  King does an excellent job of describing the sights and sounds of the past painting a vivid picture that the reader will feel that he/she is a part of.  As it’s based on real life, there are times between action and plot development which seem to drag on a bit but overall it flows well.  The characters are likable and well written which makes you want to root for them even more and added to my enjoyment of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    King Never Disappoints

    I was hesitant about reading this thinking that it would be another pseudo-biography on Kennedy. I just so happened to start reading it shortly before the 50th anniversary of Kennedy's assassination. In true Stephen King style, he wove around the Kennedy events and focused more on Oswald while weaving in his own memorable characters. It was a page-turner holding my interest. I can't say it equaled "The Stand" but it was a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A twist of history

    First of all this has to be one of my favorite reads this year. I've been a fan of Mr. King's movies but I never read any of his books. 880 pages is a lot to ask from a reader however, I wish it were more. Mr. King was just getting to a great ending and before you know it - it was over. I want to know more about the two main characters. Hell, I want to drive to Jodie TX right now and become their new neighbor.

    You start off with knowing that if you could go back in time to change history, would you? What if you did, what would happen to the world that you know it? Would it turn out better or worse? I will not get into the details because you should read this book.

    I really enjoyed living in the past with Jake/George. You really get a history lesson on what was legit and what was not in a time long ago. Time was really different as it is now, just like in 50 years people will say the same about today. What I don’t know or understood is how easy it was for Jake/George to spy on Lee H. Oswald without Lee realizing it. I guess that was in a time where everyone trusted his or her neighbors. Boy has time changed.

    This is a great book with a twist of reality/history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Grey

    "Absoulutly" he smiled lightly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Recommended

    I thought it was a bit slow starting but then found I couldn't put it down. A good "review"of the happenings of the time but you can't tell where the author is going with the story. Different from the usual King plots

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    11/22/63 by steven king 3 1/2 stars

    The story of a porthole in time allows Jake Epps and a handful of others to travel back in time, Jake goes back and prevents a murder from happening on his home town of Derri Maine, After have Success in this case he decides to travel back in time and prevent the murder of JFK the porthole sends him to 1958 so hae has about five years to live in the past he is able to save JFK but a woman he meets & falls in love with in the past is killed in by Lee Harvey Oswalt, he return to the porthole and enters the present many things in the world have changed by changing the past the present is different

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Don't judge this book by it's cover

    When i first heard about this book i had no interest. A friend of mine recommended it so i gave it a shot. I loved it. This story is very thought pervoking. I would recommend it to anyone who likes character driven fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Not the best Stephen King book

    Not the best Stephen King book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    This was a very interesting, thought-provoking story, and beauti

    This was a very interesting, thought-provoking story, and beautifully told. Stephen King's stories have a much different 
    tone now than in his earlier works, and I'm hooked all over again. You still need to be willing to believe in things outside
    the norm to get lost in his stories, but King's works have never been for the close-minded reader. Add this book to your 
    collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rich detail wrapped around one of US history's major events

    This story was rich in detail surrounding everyday life during the '58 to '63 time period in America with the life changing JFK assassination serving as the backdrop. The story effectively brought me back in time recalling what life was like during my early years. The details surrounding the period before and up to the JFK assassination was well researched and intricately woven into the storyline. King captivates the reader with his idea of time travel and the choices that can be made to change history and effects this can have. But more importantly he writes so that the reader becomes familiar with and caring of the people in the story. Their lives are as important to the reader as the main theme and really draws the reader into the overall story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Loved it!

    I was very impressed with this latest tome from Mr. King. For those with an interest in time travel, it is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Fabulous

    King at his best!

    The only part of this purchase that was lacking was the video,which would not play all the way through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Good concept

    OK, I'm not a Stephen King fan.... I think he's too twisted and weird for my taste. But, my cousin is a huge Stephen King fan and read this book and was completely wrapped up in it that she had to call me often and tell me about it. She is already reading it for a second time. Well, for me.... it was good, yes, it was good. But I didn't think it was THAT good. Perhaps it's just my overall view of the author, I don't know. It was actually good up until the last chapter for me. I just didn't like the way it ended. I had a hard time finishing it once I got to the end. It just .... eh....

    If you're a die hard Stephen King fan then you'll probably love it. I'm just not a fan....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Wow! I went through the 800+ pages in record time.
    This was my first Stephen King novel and I know it will not be my last.
    This author has created a characters that stay with me and I wanted to keep reading about them-even though the book ended.
    While a reader could possibly be a bit lost in some of the time travel 'strings' King sorts all that out plausibly at the end of the book.
    Definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Wow

    King's writing sucks you in to a whole other world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Would recommend

    I really liked the book. I like history but it can be a little dry so this fictional story with a lot of history in it was very interesting me to. It was a little slow at one point, and there is kind of a lot of smaller plots in the book, but it was never boring. I would have liked a little more from the end after jake completes his mission, but they book was already very long so I see why the author couldn't do that. Overall I liked the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Great!

    Always loved King books and this one doesn't disappoint! Loved how he tied in events and characters from "It". Overall very engaging book. Gets the imagination going on what would happen if you could change the past, even if it was just a little change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Great book!

    I finished this book and loved it. Recently I have found it tough to find a book that kept my attention, but this one did, I highly recommend it, once you start...you wont put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Engrossing read, but...

    I found the ending rather anti-climactic. I think King suffers difficulty ending books, but i still enjoyed the adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Great read

    Great read not his normal weird thing very interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 601 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 31