Obsession (Alex Delaware Series #21)

Obsession (Alex Delaware Series #21)

2.9 53
by Jonathan Kellerman
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

With scores of millions of books in print, translation into two dozen languages, and one of the most popular heroes in contemporary fiction to his name, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jonathan Kellerman is the unequivocal “master of the psychological thriller” (People). In Obsession, Kellerman delivers a tour de

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Obsession (Alex Delaware Series #21) 2.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 53 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy reading his books. This one is not quite up to par, non the less it was a good story.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
As a long time fan of both Jonathan Kellerman and Alex Delaware, OBSESSION does not disappoint. As I was immersed once again into another case of past meeting present, I was reminded of how much I love these characters!

When Dr. Delaware is contacted by a former patient after her mother dies, a very strange story unfolds. The girl's mother was a "saint," a nurse who kept the E.R. running smoothly with her tenacity and talents. The fact that she died after a brief illness, and after confessing to having committed a terrible deed, leads her daughter to seek Alex's help. The fact that her mother's boss was Rick Silverman, Milo Sturgis' significant other, only adds to the creative layers of this case.

Tanya Bigelow, now nineteen, once suffered from OCD, and thanks Dr. Delaware for "curing" her. Although Alex has his doubts about the state of Tanya's condition, more stressing matters are on his mind when bodies start piling up, and the "terrible deed" and possible murder that Patty Bigelow confessed to on her deathbed is only the beginning.

OBSESSION is a must-read for all Delaware fans, and for readers who really love a good thriller/mystery. I promise, you won't be disappointed -- although you will be wondering when the next Alex Delaware novel will be published!
Mystery7 More than 1 year ago
Excellent read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read all the Alex Delaware novels and was so looking forward to this one coming out in paperback. I've had to make myself read the first half and have no motivation to finish: there are too many characters and it's flat out boring. Unfortunately, even paperback price was too much. I'm afraid Jonathan Kellerman's gone the same route as Patricial Cornwell and a few other authors who were once great but have lost their touch.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been a big fan of the Alex Delaware series. He and Milo pretty much carry the plot line but in this novel there are way too many characters. Let's bring family continuity back with more Robin and Spikes predicessor. I also like Rick. This storyline just rambled on and on until I was speed reading the last chapter just to get it over with. Money wasted.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Have always enjoyed the Alex Delaware series. So disappointed in this one and could barely finish it. Also way too much description of characters' wardrobe/attire- found these especially annoying - a waste of time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my first book that I read from this Author. I was sorry I ever bought it. The book has no action. I was hoping the ending would make up for the dullness. But as with the whole book, it was also a let down. I've had more fun getting root canal.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Obsession Jonathan Kellerman Ballantine, Mar 27 2007, $26.95 ISBN: 0345452631 Tanya Bigelow was not even four years old, when her slutty mom Lydia finally dumped her on her single Aunt Patty. The ER nurse took in her niece and raised her as best as she could. She got the child help from psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware and ultimately Tanya proved her aunt¿s assertion that she is a lady turned out true. Now nineteen, Tanya calls Dr. Delaware to ask for his help. Just before dying from pancreatic cancer, Aunt Patty told her that she committed a homicide years ago. Tanya has trouble believing that the caring person who sacrificed so much for her could have killed someone, but needs to know the truth to obtain final closure about the person who was a mom to her. Unable to say no, Alex enlists the help of his friend LAPD detective Milo Sturgis as they determine ¿A did-it-even-happen¿ investigation? As they make inquiries into Patty¿s past, both are stunned with what they learn including a new murder tied to their maybe cold case. --- Though a light case for the level expected of the Milo-Alex tandem, this remains a fascinating tale as the investigators assume Patty was delusional at the end until they begin to find unexpected clues otherwise punctuated by the modern day murder. The story line is action-packed from the first call until the final consultation that Alex knows is only the beginning for Tanya. Dr. Delaware¿s fans will enjoy this combining a client¿s psychological need with a maybe murder investigation. --- Harriet Klausner
Boundlessbookreviews 10 days ago
Action packed non-stop suspense! I absolutely loved this psychological thriller! The story line is imaginative; I felt compassion for Tanya immediately, loved Dr. Delaware, and either found most of the other characters amusing, downright weird, or instantly hated them. The perfect book! The narration by Rubinstein was done excellently as well, an all-around great listen! I would like to add; both my husband and I loved Obsession, so this is a good one for your next road trip too. Definitely a 5 Boundless Star book!...Beth
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never have I read such a disappointing Alex Delaware book! Deb U.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the part where Alex was taking care of Milo after he got shot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago