Fool's Errand (Tawny Man Series #1)

Fool's Errand (Tawny Man Series #1)

4.5 138
by Robin Hobb
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For fifteen years FitzChivalry Farseer has lived in self-imposed exile, assumed to be dead by almost all who once cared about him. But now, into his isolated life, visitors begin to arrive: Fitz’s mentor from his assassin days; a hedge-witch who foresees the return of a long-lost love; and the Fool, the former White Prophet, who beckons Fitz to fulfill

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Fool's Errand (Tawny Man Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 138 reviews.
Dragonfriend More than 1 year ago
This whole series picks up where the Assassin's Apprentice series left off. A great read!
Thundar More than 1 year ago
Robin Hobb is a master story-teller. The mystery of the Fool is maintained with snippets of info, doled out as if nuggets of gold. And Fitz is a believable character = a man of humble beginnings (originally an unacknowledged royal bastard) whose sense of honor and duty force him into decisions for the throne that result in catastrophe for himself, again and again. A totally unwilling "hero" if you will. Weaving in bits and pieces of story line from the dragon (Rain Wild) series (reminders for those who have read it) creates a wider tapestry of the world, and hammers home that no man is an island. I want more! =Thundar
BluHawk More than 1 year ago
I find these books so captivating that I completely forget where I am when reading them! Hobb definitely has a way with words and her characters are complex and interesting. If you are a fantasy lover, these books should be on you "must read" list (be sure to start with "Assassin's Apprentice")! If you like this author, you might also like "A Shadow in Summer" by Daniel Abraham, "Through Wolf's Eyes" by Jane Lindskold, and "Thief's Gamble" by Juliet E. McKenna!
Laurel52 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book although I had not read the author's previous series. Having not read much fantasy in the past, I was pleasantly surprised at the depth of the characters, especially the main character. I felt myself thinking about this character for a long time after finishing the book. I especially enjoyed the special skills he had that allowed him to communicate with his wolf. This relationship was the most fulfilling and touching part the book and written in a believable way that respects both human and animal feelings. I will defnitely read the rest of the series and recommend it to anyone who wants a story with unforgettable characters who learn and grow, and the escapism that fantasy novels offer but without a lot of violence.
Grandpa More than 1 year ago
Fifteen years have gone by Fitz and Night Eyes have wandered the world and finally ended up in an out of the way cabin in the wilderness. Starling the Minstrel visits now and then, sparking up emotions and memories. One day she brings a small child, "Hap", she found on the streets, to live with Fitz, hoping to fill his lonely days. Fitz sees "Hap" as himself growing up with no one to care for him and tries hard to teach "Hap" how to survive on his own. This fills the first half of the book, not a lot happening but day to day experiences. Enter Chade, who pays a surprise visit and asks Fitz to come home to Buckkeep and teach Prince Dutiful the wit and skill. Fitz hesitates until he is paid another surprise visit from an old friend, The Fool, who after staying a while almost convinces Fitz to return to Buckkeep. Then a messenger arrives with an urgent request from Chade to return immediately. Prince Dutiful has gone missing. Now begins a long, long trek first to find the Prince, then bring him home. They are in for a few surprises along the way. I thoroughly enjoy all of Hobb's work. She develops characters who live and you care about. This book has a good, if not action packed, story line that keeps you reading. I was very sad at one part in the story, because it was very similar to one of my life experiences. This trilogy is definitely worth getting,especially if you have already read The Assassin's Apprentice, as it carries on the story with the same characters. I am starting The Golden Fool as I write this, and suspect this trilogy will come to a great and satisflying end as always.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, the cover and first chapter seem to coincide against the marvel of this book. Once you get into the heart of the story, Hobbs magic takes over again and you are once again immersed into the Farseer world again. You will be amazed at how many puzzle pieces fit together if you read the Liveship Trader series before Tawny Man. I believe it is essential to the full story. Enjoy!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the Farseer trilogy and hated when it ended. I was overjoyed to discover that Ms. Hobb has decided to revisit those great characters and begin a new trilogy. I have just finished ' Fool's Errand' and loved it. I stayed up many nights to read it and actually cried when one of the characters I loved died (Sorry, I don't want to spoil anything but I had to say it) I am sure any true fan of fantasy will love this new trilogy, too! Thank you Ms.Hobb and keep on writing...if only the story of Fitz could go on forever!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had previously read the Assassin trilogy, and for one reason or another I found it intolerably depressing. Reading this book reawakened me to Robin Hobb's writing; I am rereading the Assassin trilogy... and enjoying it this time. Immensely. The detail put into the environment is impressive enough, but truly unsurpassed are Hobb's characterizations. There is, in her books, a feeling of reality that is lacking in most fantasy. When I first encountered her work, I was unprepared for anything but fairy-tale fantasy where the Good Guys are Invincible Heroes who inevitably smite Evil in a Great Big Fight at the end, then go on to live happily ever after. I am glad my tastes have changed, and in such a timely literary era: A new generation of fantasy authors are changing the genre. People like Robin Hobb, Robert Jordan, George R.R. Martin, Guy Gavriel Kay, and others are bringing to the fantasy genre a literary quality not seen since the great J.R.R Tolkien.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am currently half-way through 'Fool's Errand'. Love it!! I have read the 3 'Assassins' books from the 'Farseer' series; and the 3 'Ship of Magic' books from The Liveshp Traders series. They are all fantastic, unable to put them down when reading. I was excited to read of a connection in 'Fool's Errand' between these two series of books. Anxiously await the next story of The Tawny Man. Robin Hobb is a wonderful author. She absolutely pulls you into the story - always a real page turner!! These books are a MUST READ. I know I'll read them again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is beautiful. Truly, there is no other description of it. It continues to weave the story of Fitz, the Fool, Nighteyes, and the entire Farseer kingdom in an enchanting way. I usually don't like my heroes being as old as Fitz is in this book, but I truly loved it anyway. A wonderful addition to the 3 Farseer books already in print!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sybie More than 1 year ago
The only problem with this series is you can't put it down. I almost have to set time limits. You get lost in this beautiful story and almost feel as if you are part of it. Robin Hobb is one talented writer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I HAVE READ MANY BOOKS, THIS SERIES TAKES THE PRIZE. ROBIN HOBB IS TALENT BEYOND BELIEF.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great, engaging, and fresh book!  I LOVE it and am just starting! Ms. Hobb can write from so many perspectives. It just starts quite slow. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Althor18 More than 1 year ago
I actually liked the Tawny Man series better than the 1st three in the Farseer Trilogy. Very Good