3.8 70
by Elana Johnson

View All Available Formats & Editions

Toe the line between rule-following and rule-breaking in this tense and twisted start to a smart and sexy dystopian trilogy.

Vi knows the Rule: Girls don’t walk with boys, and they never even think about kissing them. But no one makes Vi want to break the Rules more than Zenn…and since the Thinkers have chosen him as Vi’s

…  See more details below

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Possession 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 68 reviews.
pagese More than 1 year ago
I have two words for this book, forgettable and confusing. I knew while reading this that it would be a book that wouldn't really leave an impression. I spent too much time trying to decipher how this world functioned and the various terms and ideas presented and not nearly enough time getting to know the characters. I wanted to like Vi. At first she seems like the bright spot in a dismal world. Everything is so tightly controlled and monitored and she refuses to comply. Of course she's arrested and imprisoned not long after the book begins. This is when the story goes down hill. She's imprisoned with Jag, and I mean in his cell with him. The rest of the prison is empty. Both are then sentenced to be tagged and banished to Freedom. Freedom is under complete control of the Thinkers and there they will be basically reprogrammed. For Jag, this seemed an appropriate sentence but really extreme for Vi. Which led me to believe that there was more to Vi than we know. Jag and Vi escape (of course they do) and head to the only place that offers asylum to people like them. Turns out Jag and Vi do have something in common. When Vi discovers what she can really do and why they want her, I begin to wonder how she never figured out this before. Things fall into place way to easily for her, almost at her will. At the same time, it like her moves are known to well. The Thinkers always seem to be one step ahead of her. There are too many unknowns to factor into the story. Things that Vi doesn't know, but everyone else seems to be aware of. I also didn't really feel the love triangle in the story. Jag seemed placed in front of her. He's the image of everything she's every been told is wrong and bad in this world. But, yet he's nothing like what she thinks he should be. I could never figure out Zen and what side he was really on. It confused the hell out of me. In the end, I didn't dislike the book enough not to finish it. But, it left very little of an impression on me. It's one of those book you finish and have very little thought of it afterwards.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jag is an amazingly written character! My favorite
AbGirl More than 1 year ago
I feel like I've been introduced to the next HOT series at the very beginning. This book is amazing and fast paced as well. I was never bored. I couldn't get enough of it, and I loved all the twists that totally kept me guessing. It's one of my favorites. I would HIGHLY recommend it. Can't wait for the next one in the series! :D
haley18 More than 1 year ago
I am not much of a dystopian-lover, but I have noticed lately every dystopia book I have picked up so far..I have loved..so maybe this is a sign I need to start picking these up more. Possession by Elana Johnson did not fall short of my expectations what so ever, infact, it went way past them. Possession is about a snarky girl named Vi who lives in a world runned by the Thinkers, they tell you what to think..and if you don't listen to Them you get sent to the bad-lands a place for free thinkers..and this is exactly where they want to send Vi..she has gotten in more trouble then most..and now they want to punish her for it.the only thing is..being sent to the bad-lands isn't all that bad of an idea in Vi's head..I mean she would have Jag..the boy she just met, but can't stop thinking about.but what she doesn't realize is the Thinkers don't want to punish her, no, the Thinkers want her to join them, become one of them, become what she hates, or die.those are her choices. In a race against the Thinkers Vi will have to make hard decisions, ones that involve her head.and her heart.. I was quite surprised about how much I loved this book, I had been set up to think I wouldn't enjoy it based off of other bad reviews, but now that I have finished it I can say I loved it! I had a lot of things in this book I loved, the tech, the thinkers, the bad lands, but the thing that caught my attention the most was deff the characters. Elana Johnson has formed wonderful characters in this book, I absolutely loved Vi, and don't even get me started on Jag he was perfect. Even the 'bad guy' characters I found myself enjoying in this story. Now..time to talk about the ending.ARE YOU KIDDING ME!? That ending was crazy, such a twist, but I loved it, it will leave you ripping out your hair in irritation! The worst part? The next book doesn't come out till next June.NEXT JUNE. Ugh why must they torture me so? Anywho, Possession was a great debut, a great adventure, and an awesome romance. If you like dystopia books such as the Uglies, this book will not disappoint, even if you don't like dystopia you will probably like this. -WARNING: This book will get confusing if you don't read everysingle word, so if you're a skimmer I do not recommend this book
deppfreak4234 More than 1 year ago
So last week I was in borders ( sorry BN .. it was in the mall) but I was looking around and noticed this book and read the back and was a little apprehensive about it but I stuck with my gut and got it. The next day I got pulled it from my book shelf and started to read. OH MAN. This book was amazing! At first I was like what the heck is going on .. but soon got into it and I finished it in 4 hours. I couldn't put it down. It has romance, suspense, action, everything that I love! However some parts were kinda boring and like can we get this over with ... but other than that it was enjoyable. If you like the Hunger Game series you'll most definitely love this book! :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series was way to confusing. Great characters, great story lines, although way too many, crappy editor. Pretty sure there was no editor. It jumped from one thing to the next, they acted like we're supposed to know why they're going to each city. I read the whole series because I felt invested in the characters, its almost like I feel sorry for the characters having to endure this mixed up story line. And let's talk about good guy/bad guy. Make up your mind. You can't have a bad guy kill an important character, show horrible ruthlessness then in one paragraph decide you want to pretend for him to have just been playing along so were supposed to like him now? I think the author has potiential, she just needs to slow down, don't try to fit so much in, explain facts and decisions, and get a professionial editor to tell her when something doesn't make sense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would not waste your time. This book is poorly written, confusing, disjointed and could not get me to be invested in the characters. There was absolutely no flow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like this book well worth 9.99!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unpredictable. Johnson leaves you wanting more with every chapter and never lets you get to comfortsble with the setting.
WhatsBeyondForks More than 1 year ago
After being disappointed by a few dystopian stories lately, this was a much needed read for me. It hooked me pretty quick. There were moments where I got a little confused, but I think I pieced most things together by the end. I really don't know who to trust when it comes to the characters as a whole. No one is completely forthcoming to Vi. They all seem to have their own agenda. Everyone has lied to her, and/or is hiding information from her. I think there is still much she hasn't learned. I'm looking forward to finding out more of this information in upcoming books. Possession by Elana Johnson was provided to me by the author for review. The opinions are my own
Autumn2 More than 1 year ago
I received this book to give an honest review. The only reason I gave this book a 4 star rating is because for me I felt as though I could not at times distinguish who was talking or who would be replying. If Jag said something then it would follow though with a response but I had to go back and say oh okay he was talking with Vi or talking to this person. Also Vi seemed to make stupid choices, she never seemed to think things through. I would have liked for her to be a bit more smarter in her choices. Other than that the story line was great, I found myself sucked into the story and the action just waiting to find out what was going to happen next. When I found out who Gavin really was I was in shock just like Vi. Not only that but with the Director also, I was like WHOA! Are you serious nice little surprise thrown in their for the readers. In Possession you see the world though Jag and Vi's eyes and see what they have to endure. If you have read Resist you now understand why Zenn is the way he is. I do want to read more in this little series as I want to know what is Vi going to do with Director. Will Jag and Vi be together? What will happen with Zenn? Heck what is going to happen overall!!!! There is a bit of love going on between Jag and Vi but it is like a growing love I guess. Jag had me a bit confused on why he would leave and what not but at the end I understood why he was acting that way and doing those things. This is a great read for YA and over.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a young adult I found this book enticing and well worth the time. I loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tianna12 More than 1 year ago
This book was totally intresting....it had me hooked from the begining Violet is a strong,funny,and humorous girl i read this book it 2 days i recommend this book
kydirtgirl68 More than 1 year ago
Vi lives in a world where girls are good, Thinkers do your thinking for you, pick your match and as long as you do what they say you are fine. Vi sneaks out one night with her match Zenn. Clearly a big no no. When she gets caught she is thrown in a cell with Jag who clearly is all wrong for her and a not part of the goodies. Vi must soon decide what to do. Do what the Thinkers say and be with Zenn or run with Jag. I will start with our 3 main characters. Vi is a good strong character the only flaw I see with her is that at first it seems she wants to be a bad girl but not break any of the rules. Kind of hard to do. She did grow on me as the book progressed and really started to show her strength around Jag. Zenn I didn't like him. Not really much I can say about him. I know there is reasons behind it but he seemed like a sheep to me. I just can't see him with Vi.Now that leaves Jag. Love him so much! He is a free soul, rebel and yet you do get to see his soft side. I think when I read his softer side that wrapped it up for me. Hello a hot guy showing emotions what more could you ask. The plot is a good one. In a world where you are supposed to do as you are told and obey all orders but you still have rebels. I enjoyed reading about this dystopian world full of people fighting to think for you and people fighting for freedom. It does have a good love story even if it is one of the dreaded love triangles. I have my pick of who I want her to be with. At first the book has a slower pace but the last few chapters it really picks up and does leave you wanting more. If you love dytopian books I would say give this one a try. I luckily have the next book so be looking for that review up soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing. Cannot wait for the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good so far but a little confusing. At times it doesnt flow well
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a thrilling love story that maybe was confusing at some parts but in the end it was all smoothed out. BUT this series does sound alot like the uglies series and Delierium series. I kept confusing possesion characters with the other books, Lena, Shay etc.. but at the same time it was original at most parts. I give it 4 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story line was good, enough for me to be interested in reading the second book. But there were several things I found annoying: 1. Vi's internal dialogue e.g. the constant that was "Jag speak for..." it felt condescending at times, like the author felt the need to spell out every single thing 2. Vi's and Jag's relationship. The exaggerated roller coaster of ups and downs, it was a bit unbelievable and they were both way too sensitive, which made me dislike them as characters 3. The "secrets" and constant keeping of things from Vi, that had this really big build up, but just disappointed when it was revealed as not such a big deal
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
When I got an ARC of Surrender, I'm like shoot, I didn't read the first book yet. I have seen this book in many other blogs before, but because of its simple cover, I didn't know what to think of it. I never gave it much thought, which led to never picking it up either. This was like a message from heavan. How can I have not picked up this book earlier? Because I loved it more than I expected it to be. Vi, the main protagonist, is my favorite female lead till now. I just loved her so much! Her characteristic was so strong and powerful, and oh the sarcasim. I loved it all. The book starts off in a very creative dystopian world, the "goodlands", where girls are not allowed to touch boys. Vi does the following rebellious act with her future match, Zenn. While the Thinkers think they have brainwashed everyone, Vi does not seem to agree. Vi was all about doing what her heart tells her to do. I loved her strong will, and her determination to let no Thinkers brainwash her. When Vi is taken away for the 7th rebellious act she has done, she is sent to "prison". There, she meets Jag Barque. While Vi is confused they put her in the same cell with Jag, she is slightly glad. Jag is definitely an amazing "bad" boy. He's from the badlands, the place where all the "bad" people reside. Both Vi and Jag have crazy hair, and that's where their interests meet. Im not going to say what happens, but I loved the flow of the story Elana created. It was not love at first sight, and not the very fast crush that most YA novels tend to have. It was thoroughly planned, and it was all filled with excitement as well. I loved the characters, and let me tell you, this book shocked me till the end! Even the last page had my mouth gaping. I should really say how much I loved the dystopian world Elana created. It really made me think that it might actually happen later on. It felt realistic to me as well. That it was actually possible. Apart from that, the book kept it's stand till the last page of the book. I have to say it was a shocking ending, and I just want to get my hands on the next book. I don't know why I didn't start this book before. Every page was action packed and full of fun. At some points, all the new tech was hard to understand, but I still loved it. If you are a dystopian, Sci-Fi fan, I highly recommend "Possession". I have to say the ending didn't feel like an ending at all to me, but that's what makes you want to pounce on the next book! I can't wait to see what Vi and Jag have more for me in the next book, "Surrender".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive read the matched series by ally condie, and this seems just like it...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago