Secret Obsession

Secret Obsession

3.8 89
by Kimberla Lawson Roby
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Paige Donahue has always lived in her sister Camille's shadow. As children, Camille had the grades, the friends, and their parents' love, while Paige was left with hand-me-downs and criticism. Now as adults, Camille lives an idyllic life with her husband, Pierce, and her two perfect children in a beautiful home, while Paige is stuck in a small condo with bills she can

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Secret Obsession 3.8 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 89 reviews.
ShanaP More than 1 year ago
On the outside, Paige Donohue appears to be the normal entrepreneurial professional who is living a good life and even enjoying some luxuries, even though she can ill afford them. She harbors a deep-seated resentment against her mother for showing preferential treatment to her sister, Camille, during their childhood years. She hates Camille, who has excelled in all areas of life and has entered into an opulent lifestyle with a successful husband and children. Paige has done none of these things and is determined, in her mind, to "make things right". Her hatred for Camille leads her on an obsessive journey to destroy Camille's marriage and take over her home, husband and children. She is determined to obtain this objective by whatever means possible. Roby engulfs the reader in Paige's unimaginable schemes and you find yourself compelled to continue reading to find out what Paige will do next and whether her plans will backfire. Ultimately, we learn the deep dark secrets, not only of Paige, but of her family. Roby's novel is reminiscent of the movie "The Bad Seed" and seems to borrow some elements from that movie, albeit, while dealing with obsessive behavior in an adult, rather than a child. I would rate this novel 8 out of 10 and would highly recommend it. Shana Plummer Sweet Soul Sisters Book Club MD/DC
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was insane!!! It kept me on my toes and I was turning pages under the covers to the wee hours of the morning. So much that went on...but you can totally relate! All I can say...add it to your collection! Great book!
aambcreviews More than 1 year ago
Roby does what she does best in Secret Obsessions; she kept me reading. The storyline was intriguing. Camille's envious and demented sister, Paige, attempts to take her husband, Pierce, and her family. Paige uses sex, rape, blackmail, and a fantasy romance to snatch Pierce away from Camille, but alas, love prevails! Always anticipating Paige's next move, it was hard to put the book down until I finished. Nevertheless, the story was predictable almost immediately. While I couldn't wait to read about Paige's schemes, it was easy to guess what she would do. Roby also did a lot of telling instead of showing. I never felt as if I was in a particular environment and all of my senses were activated. There were times when Roby seemed like she was on a soapbox or information was written as filler, such as the monologue about Kem, the singer. I appreciate Roby's mention of mental illness as this awareness is needed in minority communities. However, the thoughts of the mentally ill character, Paige, seemed superficial and underdeveloped. I've followed Roby since Here and Now, through the Curtis Black series and I must say her best writing was in the beginning. Natasha Hines AAMBC Reviewer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this one in two days!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book as usual by Roby. You will not be disappointed.
RoxanneNY More than 1 year ago
I love Kimberla Lawson Roby and have read most of her books. They are all very good however Secret Obsession lacked something. It was over too fast for me. As soon as I was getting into the book, it was over. It was less than 200pgs and should have been 5.99 on Nook in lieu of 9.99 for this short story.
OOSABookClub More than 1 year ago
Born in her older sister's shadow, Paige Donahue has always felt less than while Camille was the apple of her parents' eye. Even now as adults, Camille is married to a wonderful man with two children, a boastful home, and whatever her heart desires. Paige is determined to finally land on top of the pyramid no matter who she has to hurt to get there. Will this family be able to handle the betrayal, lies and deceit? "Secret Obsession" is predictable from start to finish and wraps up with a happily ever after ending. I believe that had this story been told from multiple points of view, the drama and suspense would've been bumbling over. Instead, it just didn't have enough finesse for this reader. I'm sure fans of Roby will like it just fine. Reviewed by: Crystal
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good Book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SapphireDG4L More than 1 year ago
I lost quite a bit of sleep reading this book. It was that good! Read it. You won't be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very talented author. Ive read most of her novels and this one kept me on my toes and i couldnt stop reading. I highly recommend!
max02factor More than 1 year ago
Wow! lot's of twist and turns and secrets! Loved it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ebgl123 More than 1 year ago
The overview of this book sounded like a great read and I was dying to pick it up. I ended up finding it at my local library and checking it out. I'm so glad I didn't buy it. This book was bad, so disappointing and horribly written. I don't understand the reviews of those who liked it and lead me to check it out in the first place. What was good about it? What made it enjoyable to read? I hated this book. Okay, maybe not HATED, but I really didn’t like it. It wasn’t real thought out. It was unrealistic and disjointed. It read like one of the badly done Lifetime movies of the week. The book never explains the details behind Paige’s obsessions and her mental illness, we get about 5 to 6 pages in the epilogue a year later, no explanation about any consequences for her behavior or punishment regarding her illegal schemes, no talk about her mental status and diagnosis, nothing. It also never explains why she is so hyper focused on Camille, the only one in the family who showed love and support for Paige. The book tells us Paige never forgave her parents for their treatment of her and kept her distance from them but that is the extent. Why wasn’t she angrier at them? They were the responsible party. What about a revenge scheme for the parents? Why didn’t her father step up and say something about how the mother treated her if he loved her so much? How is it that Karla and Paige are best friends yet we don’t hear about Karla until page 20 and then 22? There is no background on their friendship, how well does Karla really know her friend? She has no inkling of Paige’s obsessive behavior. How does Paige keep this hate and mental defect completely hidden for years until she can engage this plan without anyone seeing anything? Not even a hint of this obsessive behavior? It’s just all wrong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first book that I have read from this author. At first I was thinking that the time line and some of the "detail" information did not add up or make sense, but as I continued, it started to flow some what. I will check out a few more books from this author with the hope that I will become a fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a really great book. It show's what can happen to a person when they have unconditional love dispite the issues they have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At first I was reluctant to read this book, but my girlfriends selected it as our first biokclub choice. From the very furst page of the prologue, I was hooked! The author kept my interest on each and every page. To avoid spoiling the story - I only want to add that the book ministered to me and led me to forgive my personal situation. Now I see that I was meant to read it, and discovered many other titles to keep me reading all summer long!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago