After Obsession
  • Alternative view 1 of After Obsession
  • Alternative view 2 of After Obsession

After Obsession

4.0 44
by Carrie Jones, Steven E. Wedel
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Although they've only just met, Aimee and Alan have a history together. They've been in each other's dreams. They're bound by something they can't quite name. Something that rattles the windows, haunts the waters . . . and threatens to tear them apart before they get a chance to find out what their connection means.

The bestselling author of the Need series

…  See more details below

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

After Obsession 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good book there were parts that really creep me out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book a lot! It was really good, all about forging friemdships in the midst of fighting an unknown spirit thing out of their little town. A wonderful story with friendship, love, and a little horror, this was a fantastic book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want a review that is not 10 paragraphs long! Hehehe i never read it yet hehe
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started reading it and I was into the first few chapters when I thought this is just stupid. The characters may seem to have depth but none actually have it. The relationship between Aimee and Blake is just awkward and has the worst breakup scene ever. Courtney is a horrible best friend and I'm asking why would you even want her as a friend. I'm sorry also that I didn't know barging into someone's room without knocking such taboo. I don't recommend this book at all.
Shanella More than 1 year ago
I might have loved this book, really loved it, if it wasn't for the love story. After Obsession is written by two authors and the story is told from two perspective - Alan and Aimee. Aimee has visions, she sees the future and it's never pretty. Alan, half Native American, is labeled a Spirit Warrior by his spirit guide and is in touch with the spiritual aspects of his Native American heritage. Aimee's view is written in the odd numbered chapters while Alan's view picks up in the even numbered chapter. In the beginning, it was a little disorienting switching between views, however, both characters are so differently written that it was easy to slip into a rhythm and figure out who is who without needing to know which chapter you were reading. While Aimee was a fun character, I liked reading Alan's perspective, mostly because he went into things I haven't read much off - his Native American heritage. The possession story itself, while not completely scary, was still suspenseful enough to leave me biting my nails as I turned the page (but, I'm a bit of a scaredy cat, so I might not be the best judge of these things). Courtney is being possessed by an evil spirit, however, I can't say that I cared too much about what happened to Courtney, and I wish this was different. I might have rooted for her some more, if there was more story around why Courtney did and believed as she did. The biggest issue I had with this story was Blake. Or more precisely Aimee's relationship with Blake. Blake was a great source of conflict for Alan, however, every thing he did to Alan could have happened without him being to be Aimee's boyfriend. Aimee's excuse for breaking up with Blake - though a good excuse - seemed convenient. Her entire relationship with him seemed unnecessary. Along the same lines, the relationship that developed between Alan and Aimee seemed convenient and rushed. I couldn't believe in their sudden connection to each other, so whenever the romantic story line came up I couldn't help but feel a bit cheated, as though it was just there to be there. The love story aside, After Obsession was a quick and fun read and will be good for those who enjoy a little bit of suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I believe this is an awesome book. I do truly recommend this book.
Oxymoron_23 More than 1 year ago
awesome love story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Openbooksociety_dot_com More than 1 year ago
These two authors work great together!! Brought to you by OBS reviewer Annabell As of late, I have been stuck in a rut of bland storyline books with generic characters and predictable plot twists to the point of complete boredom. The idea of playing with a stack of bottle caps became far more intriguing. Then a little horror-paranormal gem caught my eye at the book store and after what seems like weeks of humdrum plots, I found one that brought back some of the magic I loved about books. After Obsession is a book with a fast paced plot and likeable as well as relatable characters.The story is told from two separate perspectives, Alan Parson and Aimee Avery. Alan is forced to Maine because his mother wants to be around to help his sister who lost her husband. Courtney, Alan’s cousin and Aimee’s best friend, isn’t too happy to have her cousin invading her life since they don’t really know much about each other and she still refuses to believe her father is dead, still determined to believe her father is just lost at sea and will be found. To make things worse, the town doesn’t have a football team and Alan was a football star back in Oklahoma City. He begins to think his mother made a huge mistake until he meets Aimee and starts to feel that maybe things won’t be so bad after all. But soon enough, Alan and Aimee realize they are the only two normal acting people in a town where everyone’s dark side is coming out full force. Alan and Aimee set out to discover the truth about the town and what really happened to Courtney’s dad.Most of the plot to After Obsession is very predictable from beginning to end but that didn’t stop me from enjoying it immensely. I really liked that the book was told from the perspective of opposite sex characters. It was a lot of fun being able to see the way guys think and act around girls they like. Both Aimee and Alan had distinct enough voices where you could find a connection with how they felt. The plot was really the best character. The chapters were short and never felt like they dragged. The book is fast paced and written with light touches even in dark themes. I really like the idea behind the demon having so much power to actually possess an entire town of people. It was a fantastic twist to the plot and created an authentic scary story. I also like the link the demon has to Aimee as well as Courtney. The suspense in the plot was palpable and strong. The characters were pretty well written but weren’t as well rounded or developed as strongly as the story behind the plot. I would have liked to see more broadened characters. Also, the romance between Aimee and Alan was sweet but not as built up as I would have liked. I wasn’t able to fully be emotionally invested in them. I also really enjoyed the connection the story made with ancient myths of American Indian culture. I loved that Alan was Navajo and not made to be just the generic blue–eyed-blonde-hair-golden-boy-character. Fans of Carrie Jones’ Need Series will be thoroughly satisfied and for those who don’t know author Steven Wedel (i.e. me! hehe) will find a new voice who works great long side Jones (Jones wrote Aimee’s character while Wedel wrote Alan’s character). After Obsession is one of those books you will find yourself willingly staying awake to finish and feeling so happy you did. This review and more at openbooksociety dot com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I looooved this book...but thought the ending was a little weak
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg i loved this book it was amazing i recommend this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Three words captivating........ scary............. and sexy. Truly magnificent!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AnnabelleMarieV More than 1 year ago
While it wasn't awful, it wasn't really what I'd been hoping for at all. I felt disappointed and kind of annoyed upon finishing. And my rating is definitely generous. I do, however, want to make on thing clear: I liked this book! It just wasn't my absolute favorite. Truth to be told, Aimee was kind of annoying. She has these ridiculous prejudices that make no sense. She's also kind of a hypocrite. I thought at first that she might be a strong heroine, but she seemed to get progressively weaker as the story went on, to no real avail. I didn't hate her, really--I simply don't have strong feelings about her at all. She was vapid and irritating--but harmless. Kind of like baby cousins. And, as aforementioned, I hated her stupid prejudices. And here's the character I liked even less. For one thing, I couldn't even picture him as even vaguely handsome, no matter how hard I tried. I thought he was really self-centered. He also kind of sounds like an idiot. At one point in the novel he thinks of Aimee: "Her mouth is sexy when she chews." Okay, a few things wrong here. 1) No one thinks that. 2) When is the last time you've found someone's chewing mouth sexy? (Also, this is totally in direct contrast with something she Jones writes in Need about it being awkward to watch someone you like chew. I mean, come on, you cannot have it both ways. Make up your mind.) Just…no. I thought he was one of the most boring characters I've ever come across. I've since rethought that--he might just be the most boring character. He was probably the only character I felt any sort of connection to. Still, he wasn't exactly extremely likable or anything. Still, I cared what happened to him more than anyone else in the entire book. I consider this sad. And Courtney? Stereotypical high school girl much? I mean, come on, Carrie Jones! I have some major problems with the romance. First off, Aimee's breakup with Blake was completely unbelievable and had no base whatsoever. I felt like it was done simply because Aimee had to get with Alan somehow and Blake was in the way. It didn't ring true to me at all, and it was one of the reasons this book annoyed me from the beginning. I didn't feel anything at all. I doesn't ring true with me and I cannot fathom their relationship. I'm not a huge fan of Jones' writing in her Need series, but I was hoping to see a different style here. Unfortunately, I didn't really see that. There is another author listed, but I could barely see his writing obviously, if at all. Another problem with Jones' writing is that she has all these ideas she tries far too hard to get across. In After Obsession, she majorly tries to push these racism issues, which completely detracts from the already questionable plot and writing, making the book, unfortunately, even worse. I thought this was such a shame. The ending was stupid. I hate saying something so negative, but it was. It didn't make a whole lot of sense and too many strings were left untied. I wish that some things had been made clearer--I was left confused and had to go back to clarify a few too many things that should, if the book was better-written, been obvious.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Geo_Spin More than 1 year ago
Carrie's writing skills have really improved since she wrote Need. I didn't care for that one, but this one was pretty darn good! Dark and haunting - it definitely had the creep factor. It was a quick read and went smoothly. The descriptions were great but not too lengthy, I was able to get a good picture in my head without getting bored. I think this would make a great movie! I liked that it switched back and forth between Aimee and Alan. It gave me a good idea of what they were both thinking and feeling and I was able to get to know them both instead of just focusing on one character. It made their emotions more personal. I loved Alan. L-O-V-E-D. Why aren't there guys like that in the real world? He was hot, like smokin' drool-worthy HAWT (hint: I pictured him as Taylor Lautner), but still had a sensitive side and was thoughtful, and yes, chivalrous! Sigh, commence mental swooning. Between books and Disney, it's no wonder our expectations are set so high, right ladies? To see this review and others, please visit geobobspinelli[dot]blogspot[dot]com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago