Deadly Obsession

Deadly Obsession

4.6 28
by Kristine Cayne
     
 

When an Oscar-winning movie star meets a department-store photographer...

Movie star Nic Lamoureux appears to have a playboy's perfect life. But it's a part he plays, an act designed to conceal a dark secret he carries on his shoulders. His empty days and nights are a meaningless blur until he meets the woman who fulfills all his dreams. She and her son are…  See more details below

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Deadly Obsession 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
twimom101 More than 1 year ago
My take... Lauren James needs this one moment in time with Nic 'The Lover' Lamoureux to make a name for herself. No, no...not THAT kind of name for herself! Lauren wants to get herself out of the department store portrait studio and start doing freelance work. And taking Nic's pictures will only help her career. But gosh, here is the man, who had the starring role in all her fantasies since the 11th grade, even before he was a big time actor. She better not screw this up or it is back to taking pics of snotty nose kids. Once Nic lays eyes on Lauren he realizes he has it bad for her. Spending an afternoon with her has him fantasizing about spending even more time with her. Not to mention fantasizing about the things he wants to do to her. What is it about her that gets his blood pumping in certain areas? He could have any girl he wants; he is Nic the Lover after all. Yet, Lauren is absolutely perfect and she is all he can think about. But, when the relationship starts to heat up…so does the threats from his biggest stalker. This stalker has upped the ante and is now making threats against those that Nic loves and now Lauren. Will Nic give up on the idea of love to keep Lauren safe? Or will he man up and find out who this deadly stalker is to protect those that he cares most about? Deadly Obsession was such a good book. But note to those who read it: HOT, STEAMY romance is what you will find within the pages of this well written book. Hot romance that had me blushing tremendously…steamy romance that made for a VERY interesting read…great written characters and a fabulous storyline. This book has it all. But also…it had that perfect mystery I find I am enjoying more and more in the books I read. I love playing detective right along with the characters. Of course I realized who the stalker was long before the characters, but it was interesting watching it all play out. I so enjoyed this story and think that you will too. I will definitely be looking into more of Kristine’s work. But will only read it when my children are not around. Yes, I made that mistake and it only hampers the enjoyment of the read. If you decide to read Deadly Obsession, let me know what you think of it.
LadyRavenRAVE1 More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars BRIEF SUMMARY Lauren gets the chance to jump start her career by doing a photo shoot for the handsome, Oscar winner Nic Lamoureux, thanks to winning a photo contest. The sparks between them are immediate, but Nic's agent and mentor doesn't like what she says one bit and let's Lauren know that. Nic is being harassed by a stalker and now the stalker is harassing any woman Nic gets close to. Lauren is a widow with a son and Nic doesn't want to bring danger into their lives but can they stay away from each other? THOUGHTS I really liked this story! Bravo the author, Kristine Cayne. Lauren and Nic both have hurtful secrets in their past and with the help of one another they work through them. The stalker was pure evil and devises a plan to get Nic to see she is the one for him. However, Lauren and Nic will not allow that to happen. This story was a page turner with the stalking suspense along with the love scenes that are steamy! The secondary characters were good as well, maybe another book starring Rachel and Remi? *hint hint*. Another great example how love and forgiveness can bring us to the path of happiness we never thought we deserved. Story: VERY GOOD Intimacy: SPICY Enjoyment: VERY GOOD *Reviewed by Davia for Romance Novel Junkies
MollyzReviewz More than 1 year ago
Okay. Seriously. This is the best book of 2012 ever so far. Kristine Cayne has hooked, hooked, hooked me! I loved every roller coaster minute of this amazing romantic suspense novel. And the cover? LOVED it. It is eye catching and goes PERFECT with the story line. Ms. Cayne has got some amazingtastic writing skills and this one is on my eReader to stay and read over and over. Nic Lamoureux. I want one. Just reading about his description in the novel really had me drooling. And someone is out to have him for their self. But, the question is, who? Why would someone be so obsessed with Nic The Lover, million dollar Hollywood actor? After Nic The Lover meets Lauren James, a familiar stranger, during a photo shoot, he's about to find out. Lauren James has loved Nic The Lover since 11th grade in high school. Problem was, he never knew that the high school photographer existed (or did he....????). Widowed for 5 years, she has a chance to come face to face with her high school crush during a photo shoot in D.C. And the excitement begins! Someone is after her crush and sending out photos and text messages that could only lead to trouble. As Lauren gets reacquainted with the man of her fantasies (and what fantasies they are!), her fantasies and her life long dream of making a better life for her and her 8 year old son seems near. But, with Nic and Lauren both keeping secrets from the past, can they protect each other from this obsessive stalker? Will they move on from the past and embrace the future together, or will the obsession with Nic The Lover become so overwhelming it could end up only one way: deadly? This fast-paced, ADDICTIVE novel is the amazing start to a FANTASTIC series. I could NOT put this book down. I wanted to turn each page and see what would happen to Nic or Lauren, and what was happening between the two of them. The bedroom scenes? TO DIE FOR!! Ooo lala is putting it mildly for these two characters' spark-flying attraction! And the ending? A WHOPPER!!! I am so glad to have had the chance to read this. I want to keep singing it's praises but if I do I know I'll spoil the story for everyone else. So I will say this: GET A COPY NOW and see for yourself just what I loved about this story. With fantabulous secondary characters and a whirl wind plot line this is most definitely a 5 Book worthy novel. I am already dancing in my seat, anxious for the release of Deadly Addiction, book 2 in the Deadly Vices series! This review originated at Reviews By Molly in part with a blog tour.
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Amy P. Book provided by the author for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book Lauren James spent all of high school fancying Nic Lamoureaux and comforting herself with the belief that while he may not know who she was, she could live with that, so long as she could love him from afar. But life does strange things to us. Years later, Lauren finds herself in a hotel room with Nic Lamoureaux. Now, before you go there, these two are together because Lauren, a struggling photographer, is there to take pictures of Nic. Her high school crush, you see, has become a huge movie star, known as Nic the Lover. He’s accumulated an Oscar and a long line of nubile playthings, but of course, his life feels empty and meaningless. Does Nic remember Lauren from high school? He certainly has his version of those days. What he is absolutely certain of, however, is that he is very, very attracted to her. By the end of the photo shoot, Nic and Lauren engaged in a tingly session of tonsil hockey a photo of which, unfortunately, winds up on the cover of a tabloid. Poor Nic just couldn’t help himself – or his hormones, and Lauren certainly wasn’t going to turn down the chance to lock lips with the man she obsessed over in high school. But true love does not follow a smooth course, and theirs is fraught with potholes, boulders and flash floods. First, there are the secrets each has, both relating to their families. They need to trust each other enough to completely bare themselves, and they are reluctant to do so. Lauren’s concerns rest on her eight-year-old son, Jason, whom she is desperate to protect. Nic wants to protect his sister, Rachel, from prying paparazzi eyes, and, as a stalker emerges, he also wants to protect Lauren and Jason. Yes, a stalker. Someone starts sending Nic threatening emails, and when the photo of him and Lauren snogging emerges, those emails threaten Lauren as well. Nic wants to make sure Lauren is safe, and not just because of the sex. Oh, yes. SEX. Lauren and Nic tear up the bed sheets (and a shower stall and several walls) in some pretty steamy sexy times. They can’t keep their hands off each other, which works out well for us as readers. The mystery here is not so much the identity of the stalker – any reader with any sense can figure out who it is within the first few lines – but rather how the stalker can be caught and stopped. Really, though, it’s secondary to the romance. Nic and Lauren fall hard for each other and quickly. And here is where things get just a little bit too sappy. Some of the touchy feely things they say to each other ought to come with an insulin warning. I found myself rolling my eyes several times. Thank goodness for those sex scenes. This is a decent book. It won’t burn in your memory, and it likely won’t be one that you race to tell your friends about. But if you’re in the mood for a frothy romance with a little suspense thrown in, this might work for you. One minor quibble: several of the characters say “anyways.” I hate that word, mostly because it does not exist. It’s “ANYWAY.” Not plural. Ugh.
BookWormInCali More than 1 year ago
What do you get when you take a gorgeous, sexy, Oscar winning actor, add in screaming, breast flashing, psychotic fans, dangerous, hunky bodyguards, stalkers, and an eccentric, obsessively protective agent? You get a typical day in the life of playboy movie star, Nic “The Lover” Lamoureux. But when you toss widowed mom, Lauren James, and her adorable son, Jason, into the mix you get Deadly Obsession, a romantic, exciting, and very hot story. Deadly Obsession is the first book in Kristine Cayne's Deadly Vices series and my first taste of this author's writing. While there are some predictable events and a couple of moments when I had wished things were moving a little quicker - because I wanted to find out what was going to happen next, overall the story is easy to follow, the writing flowing at a comfortable pace. Our hero and heroine are, despite Nic’s over the top stardom, down to earth people who want the same thing we all want out of life – happiness. They have their flaws, that's for sure, but it was important enough to them to work around each other’s imperfections so they could be together, and that was fun to watch. Kaden, Rémi, Jake and Rachel made a great supporting cast of characters, all worthy of their own story – and I hope they get them because I'm truly looking forward to reading more in this series. The bottom line – I laughed, I cried, I sighed and was left wanting to read more. If you're looking for a new voice in romantic suspense, and a story with something a little different, I'd recommend picking up Deadly Obsession and giving this author a try. I'm sure you'll be pleased that you did. My thanks to Kristine Cayne for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really great book by a great author. Full of hot romance and edge of your seat suspense. Kept me guessing. Intricate plot, good character development, and great chemistry. A must read. Thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book. You get love and the crazed obsessed of a delusional person.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tpg1 More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I read by Kristen Cayne. I love this book and this series!! Kristen Cayne is one of my favorite authors!!
srfeike More than 1 year ago
I'm a sucker for books about celebrities, covert love affairs, and creepy deadly stalkers. It's probably not healthy, but hey, what can I say? I purchased this book over a year ago after first reading Deadly Addictions (Deadly Vices #2), and I have no idea why I put off reading it for so long. Just so you know, these books can be read as stand-alone stories. As mentioned, I read #2 in the series without having read #1 and had no problem jumping into the stories, the characters, etc. However, I'm glad I finally have some of the back story on the characters who are in both books. So about Deadly Obsession…Lauren is a single mom who is still trying to get over the loss of her husband years before. She is struggling to find her place in the world and start her career. She is strong and passionate, and she cares deeply for her friends and family. Nic is your seemingly typical playboy celebrity type. He likes to have fun and doesn't take life too seriously. Or at least that's what he lets people believe. Inside he is fighting to keep his life together and to put on the perfect face for the crowd. Both characters were realistic with real problems and emotions. Overall I love Kristine Cayne's writing. She has a way with words, and her stories are sexy, fun, engaging. I am definitely looking forward to more from this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It's a different concept, in that it is SO obvious who the stalker is early on, and you just wait, and wait, and WAIT for the characters to figure it out! But that kept me intrigued, wondering what other evil schemes were coming up. I liked the author's writing style, and appreciate the good editing. I'm finding that is a bit rare with Ebooks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, it had everything you would want in a romantic suspense novel. You have very likable characters, a crazy stalker that will keep you guessing until the end, and plenty of steamy scene's. I devoured this book and hope that Kristine Cayne will entertain us with many more novels in the future. I highly recommend this book.
Allyson0 More than 1 year ago
This book had me enthralled from page one, I couldn't put it down! Nic  was a Hollywood heartthrob, known playboy, glamorous life who seems to have it all but looks can be deceiving! Nic is hot, sweet, charming and and single mother and photographer Lauren James is trying hard not to fall for him! Nic has a secret that makes him think that he doesn't deserve Lauren but feels the needs to protect her when his stalker gets to harm her and her son! Deadly Obsession is filled with suspense, and romance! I highly recommend reading this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You will not be disappointed by this book at all. Romance, thrills, Nic the lover is adorable and he falls in love, while trying to keep the ones he loves safe from a physco stalker. You will think you have it all figured out and then.....you find out you were so wrong. You will love this book...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read for .99!!! Nic the Love is super hot!!!!
deloresj More than 1 year ago
A MUST READ!!!!!!!!! Ok you would think since this book is .99 it's going to be a short one. But no 800 pages that keeps you turning the pages. Can't wait to read another book by Ms. Cayne.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
preciousferret More than 1 year ago
Deadly Obsession is the first book of Kristine Cayne's that I have read and you can be sure it will not be the last. It is a fantastic and marvelous romantic suspense with a wonderful and riveting plot and the chemistry between Nic and Lauren is electrifying making it a definite must read!!!!!!!!!!!!
Penumbra1 More than 1 year ago
Deadly Obsession is told through the eyes of three characters: Lauren James a photographer, Nic Lamoureux a movie star, and the Stalker. I don’t even know where to begin my review with this book. It was one of the most suspenseful, riveting, and romantic books I have read. I didn’t want to put it down, but I needed to sleep, lol. The book blurb pretty much describes what the story is about, so I won’t go into that in much detail. What I can say, is that Kristine wove this story like a tapestry. There was just the right amount of tension, interspersed with every day occurrences and the growing romantic attraction between Lauren and Nic. By the time we’re ready for the two to get between the sheets, the sex is sizzling! I really liked how Kristine handled the romance between the two MC’s; there was no ‘instant love.’ Lauren knew Nic from long ago (I won’t tell where from) and had been following his career for a long time. Nic had a sense that he knew Lauren from somewhere but couldn’t place where. The attraction and love the two had for each other was palpable, so much so that I often teared up. Also the fun times they had together and the humor they shared between them had me smiling throughout the book. I don't want to forget to mention that the secondary characters, Rachel, Remi, Jake, Tommy all were great characters and are worthy of having stories of their own. The one thing I’m not clear about is how the identity of the Stalker was revealed. I pretty much knew who the Stalker was from the first tense scene. Later my suspicions were verified when the author had the Stalker ‘think’ something while staking out Lauren’s home, and what the Stalker thought, told me who it was. Unlike many mysteries, I got the impression the author wanted the readers to figure out who the Stalker was right from the very beginning. This gave a certain ‘creepiness’ to the story because we know who the Stalker is and can see the inevitable confrontation looming on the horizon but can do nothing to stop it. So I’ll go with that explanation of why the identity of the Stalker was revealed so quickly even though gender and a name were not supplied immediately. I’ll just finish saying that this is one of the best mystery/romances I’ve read. If you like this genre, I highly, repeat highly, recommend this story. I will definitely be reading Kristine’s next book(s) in this series.
pimser More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because it sounded a bit dark and edgy. I thought the story was well written, and the book looks great. However, it was a romance, and I am not often a romance reader. The formula that romance readers require an author stick to is just too predictable for me. That is not a knock on the book, it is simply my likes and dislikes. For people who love romances I would highly recommend this book. I really liked Lauren. She seemed real, like a person I would go out to lunch with. I also enjoyed that she was not stunningly beautiful. It was refreshing to see a movie star fall in love with someone who was not a fashion model or have the looks of a pin up girl. Her personality was strong and independent and I liked her realistic way of thinking. I also liked her courage. I did not care as much for Nic. Although I liked him, I never felt crazy about him. I guess it is because he was a little too perfect to seem real. The whole special needs/makeawish and the sister he feels quilty over was a bit too goody goody for me. But, again, I like a darker story. Reader preference. I am sure that many romance readers will love this about him. I also wish that it was not so obvious who the stalker was. That was a bit disappointing. But, again, I don't think the gist of this book was to be thought of as a mystery, so I get that. In short, those readers that love romance novels should grab this one and delve in. They won't be disappointed and, in fact, they will be quite entertained.
mrsgodiva More than 1 year ago
I loved Nic and Lauren from their first appearances on the page. This story is all that a romantic suspense should be. It was unpredictable, twisty and turny on every page. The characters are flesh and blood and I would love to meet them in real life...especially uber-hot Nic Lamoureux.