Possession (Fallen Angels Series #5)

Possession (Fallen Angels Series #5)

4.3 106
by J. R. Ward
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

#1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward explores what really happens when good and evil toy with humanity in her new novel of the Fallen Angels....

When Cait Douglass resolves to get over her broken heart and lose her inhibitions, she’s unprepared for the two sensual men who cross her path. Torn between them, she doesn’t know

…  See more details below

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Possession 4.3 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 106 reviews.
MadHatterReads More than 1 year ago
My rating: 3.5 out of 5 Possession is the latest in JR Ward's ultimate battle between good and evil. The creator has become bored and charged Heaven and Hell to a winner-takes-all challenge. At the crux of the challenge is Jim Herron, a fallen angel sent to interact with the chosen souls and to influence their actions into one path or another. Four out of seven souls wins...humanity is in the balance...and thanks to a deal with the devil, the score is tied. The Fallen Angel series has been a staple for me ever since Ward premiered it with Covet in 2009, with each installment drawing me deeper and deeper into the overall story arc. As always, Ward spins a good tale, but I just didn't connect with Possession like I did with prior installments. In the previous books the angelic and human story lines intersect and influence the outcome of each battle. In Possession, it's as if we're simultaneously reading two separate books: The Angelic-Jim with his decisions regarding Sissy and the consequences of that decision; and The Human-Cait, Duke, and GB and the relationship between the three (yes there's a mild love-triangle but that is resolved pretty quickly), as well as, the question of whose soul is ultimately in play. Given the way Possession plays out, the direction Ward takes makes perfect sense...what better way to influence an outcome than to distract and misdirect the main players. But that separation turned me off and made me want to smack Team Angel upside the head. As much as Team Angel frustrated me, the human side of the story captured my attention and had me turning pages to get back to their story. The relationship between Cait and Duke is immediately combustible, while the acrimonious relationship between Duke and GB is slowly revealed over the course of the book. It's that slow reveal that leaves you wondering just who is this round's soul...it's also a question for Jim once he decides to get his head back in the game. Even though it isn't my favorite of the series, Possession marks the start of some major changes in the great battle. Changes that we're going to have to wait for book 6 to find out about. Hopefully they'll be enough to give Team Angel an edge, because there's only two rounds left and they need all the help they can get.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
Possession is the fifth book in the Fallen Angels series by American author, J.R.Ward. With the score between the evil Devina and the saviour Jim Heron now three souls to one in Jim’s favour, Jim takes the wholly unexpected step of giving away one of his wins to Devina in exchange for the release of Sissy Barten’s soul from Hell. Of course, Jim has not thought through the further ramifications of this drastic action: Archangel Nigel’s shocking action is matched only by Archangel Colin’s reaction; Adrian, meanwhile, is concerned that Jim is ignoring the war in his distraction with Sissy. And the soul in question for the fifth round of the war? Could it be children’s book illustrator, Cait Douglass, who seems torn between her attraction for the charismatic G.B. Holde, and the sexy Duke Phillips? Could it be G.B., singer, composer and actor, who seems perhaps a little too good to be true? Could it be reticent road-worker and Iron Mask bouncer, Duke, who has a past he is unwilling to reveal? As Devina continues to collect trophies and play dirty, she seems to be gaining the upper hand (although her session with Adrian is ironically humorous). She makes a rather intriguing suggestion to Jim, one of several twists in the plot. Sissy, too, is a surprise once she recovers somewhat from her ordeal, both in character and abilities. Fans of Ward’s BDB series will be delighted mentions and cameos of characters from that series. Ward’s characters are engaging, her plot original and her dialogue has its own special appeal. There are plenty of hints and unanswered questions to have fans seeking out the next book in this addictive series, Immortal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm use to a better book by the Warden so I was a little disappointed. It was still a good book but not the usual 5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will continue reading this series because I absolutlely loved the first four. I found this book to be slow and boring, unlike the others. The story just kept dragging on without anything really happening.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love J. R. Ward's creative imagination and character development through this series as well as her Black Dagger Brotherhood series. Excellent read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm getting more and more pissed at Jim with each book. I wish he'd wake up already! Sissy seems like she's the one that'll heal him if he'd just get over himself already. Would love to see a love interest for Adrian too and have Eddie come back to life. Was shocked at Nigel's death...man o man, these last books I'm hoping have the ending we're probably all cheering for!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not the best of the series, but I still read it rather fast after swallowing the horrid hairdresser dialog.
txlamb More than 1 year ago
Cannot deny the book was well written and probably necessary to drag out the series but....I do not enjoy a looong , expensive read that leaves me so depressed..I will stick to the brotherhood and hope for a better ride.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i really wanted to like this series! the stories have such good story plots but 3/4 of the way through i shake my head and am like i can't believe i have read this!  You get to the point that you don't even like the characters but you keep going because you are half way through the book and by now you are invested and want to know the ending! i love the author and her other series is much better!
mggl More than 1 year ago
As always awesome
Crystaltat More than 1 year ago
I felt like I'd missed something from the last book to this one. It was a little slow in the beginning, but got a little better. I felt like this book was all filler even though there is only supposed to be 6 books in the series. I just hope the last book isn't rushed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WolfFaerie17 More than 1 year ago
Jim Heron is letting his obsession with Sissy Barten cloud his vision in the war against Devina. Jim is willing to trade one of his victory flags for Sissy's freedom. Meanwhile Cait Douglass, a college art teacher and illustrator is working on changing her image. She's trying out a new hairdo then meeting her best friend at local cafe. Cait meets G.B. finds herself attracted to him. Duke Phillips watches another woman get drawn into his brother's web. Duke's original goal was to get in his brother's way but something unexpected happened~he started to care about Cait. Devina gives Sissy to Jim but unsure what to do next. While Sissy readjusts to her new reality. She discovers a secret but neither Adrian or Jim believe her. Can Jim get his head in the game again? Will Sissy adjust to her circumstances? What will happen between Cait, G.B., and Duke? Your answers await you in Possession. I so wanted to smack Jim up side the head thru the majority of this book it wasn't funny. I used to be sympathetic to Devina but after reading this book not so much any more. I found Adrian's role in this book to be much better than Jim's honestly. I think Sissy will be a critical part of future books and their outcomes. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waste of time. No story just filler. Very disappointed.
mathphilosopher More than 1 year ago
J.R. Ward’s “Possession” is more than a romance novel. It’s a thriller and it really makes you think. It’s the fifth book in her “Fallen Angels” series. You need to read all of them to really understand the game that’s afoot. It’s a battle between heaven and hell, with a lot of plot twists and hot sex scenes. If you haven’t read these, make room on your bookshelf or free up the space on your e-reader, you’ll want to binge read them all! The characters are so well-written and multi-faceted and the story itself keeps you guessing and guessing. I’ve never read anything quite like this series. It’s almost as if Stephen King started writing romance novels!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'll have to say that this has been my least favorite book of the series thus far. The storyline was too slow. Jim Herron's character waned. He wasn't his usual rough, tough, and tumble guy in this book nor was Ad. It's not the Warden's best piece of work. I'll reserve that for the brothers as I am a loyal fan of all things BDB
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my fav Authors. But this series took a sad and confussing path. Jim Heron is becoming an annoying sap. I will read the next one in hopes of a happy ending.