Customer Reviews for

12.21

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's A Date

    From the disease ravaged streets of a quarantined Los Angeles, to the sweltering heat and nearly impenetrable jungles of Guatemala, this book is full of nonstop suspense and action. It is a real page turner. The threat of a civilization ending disease is coupled with the ancient Mayan doomsday calender ticking down to 12/21/12. Many believe it is a date upon which the world as we know it will cease to exist. Dr. Gabriel Stanton and his staff try to find a cure for a mysterious brain disease that is rapidly spreading throughout Los Angeles. Dr Chel Manu, an expert on Mayan language and customs, risks her career by receiving and attempting to translate a rare Mayan codex smuggled into the U. S., which incidentally, might reveal clues for a cure for the deadly disease. As the source of both the disease and the codex converge in Guatemala, Stanton and Manu must decide together if there is any chance of finding a cure in the remote Mayan jungle. This book was provided for review by the well read folks of the Random House Publishing Group.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of

    There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of them. A great summer read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Prions, the CDC, a stolen Mayan codex, a race to stop an epidem


    Prions, the CDC, a stolen Mayan codex, a race to stop an epidemic and the approaching
    date of 12/21/12 make for a heart-pounding novel and a fun summertime read. A cross between a Robin Cook/Michael Crichton medical/biological thriller and a Clive Cussler/James Rollins action/adventure novel, it combines the best of both in an intelligently written book that takes the reader on a journey from the lab to the museum to the jungle.

    From the land of the ancient Maya to present day Los Angeles there is little chance for boredom and a great chance that the reader will spend time worrying about the truth behind this original story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Great book

    A great book kept my interest the whole time a great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Rediculous

    This book was good in details

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Good storyline which is believable, good character development, and some intrigue and mystery. The slow reveal of the answer to their puzzle was good; it kept me wondering how it was going to be solved. It was much in the same style as "The Rule of Four" which I found to be a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Wwwwwwwww

    Ggdgvffgggg

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    We waited eight years for this???

    The Rule of Four was a beautifully written thriller, so I was eager to read the first new book by one of these young authors. Well, we now know which one is the gifted writer. Not only is the writing in 12.21 pedestrian, the plot is completely silly. The nuanced characters of the first novel are nowhere to be found here. Finally, the discussion of prion disorders is completely inaccurate. Literary license is one thing, but the lack of accuracy here is unacceptable, particularly from a writer who is also a physician. Dr. Thomason, you should have consulted with a neurologist! Anyone know when we can expect a book from Ian Caldwell?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Awesome!

    Great book!! - if you are a fan of James Rollin's books, then you'll love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Excellent thriller

    Nice, fast paced read. Very interesting details about Mayan culture. Interesting take on Mayan end of year calendar predictions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Do not recommend

    So disappointed by this book. Got 30 pages from the end and could not even force myself to finish the book. The characters are flat and the plot is tedious. Wish I could get a refund!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    A good read

    I did enjoy reading this book. There were some loose points - some of the background could have been more developed, and some of the scenarios (especially at the end) were not even realistic, but it still kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    historically interesting

    interesting from a cultural perspective

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Loved it

    I had trouble putting this book down. Very intertaining read. I have been recommending this book to all of my friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Engaging

    Thomason's not trying to write great literature. He's writing apocalyptic fiction and doing a very nice job of it. This will make a great movie, and it's an entertaining weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Won't lose any sleep over 12 21.

    This was an "okay" book. I didn't stay up all night reading it. I found the information about the Mayan culture interesting, but for that I could have read a history book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    recommended

    not a bad read,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Good read ! Reccmmend it !

    Exciting and full of action and adventure ! Hope it never comes to this for sure !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Slow starter but stick with it through the first few chapters.

    Slow starter but stick with it through the first few chapters. It only gets better. It's the kind of book that once you get started you become fully engrossed. I will read his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3.5/5 Okay, you've probably heard about it - the latest date for

    3.5/5 Okay, you've probably heard about it - the latest date for the end
    of the world. December 21, 2012 will be the final curtain according to
    some interpretations of the Mayan long calendar. Dustin Thomason sets
    his latest novel - 12-21 - (a solo effort after his successful
    co-authoring of The Rule of Four in 2004) a few weeks before that date.
    Dr. Gabriel Stanton is a world renowned expert in the field of prions -
    those tiny agents responsible for what we commonly call mad cow disease.
    When he receives a call from a local doctor insisting she has a case he
    needs to look at, he reluctantly attends. But when he arrives, what he
    discovers is unthinkable - a prion disease with no known cause or
    cure....and no way of knowing how it's being spread. Dr. Chel Manu is
    an expert in her field as well - Mayan documents and dialects. When a
    known looter leaves an artifact with her, she too is stunned. It's a
    rare codex describing a time period in Mayan culture that has never been
    documented - until now. Gabriel's patient? From Guatemala. Manu? From
    Guatemala. And now Gabriel and Chel are thrown together in a race
    against time to discover answers, antidotes and more....before it's too
    late. Thomason has crafted an excellent tale, drawing us in in many
    ways. The mystery of past civilizations has always fascinated me. There
    are examples of Mayan glyphs throughout the book. At first I thought
    they looked quite cartoonish and of course had to go online to check
    them out. Turns out, that's what they really look like. There were other
    bits of story line that I followed up as well. Tomason has done his
    research. The whole prion disease thing is scary - and the disease
    Chel and Gabriel encounter? It's real. Lots of food for thought - except
    maybe meat. All of this provides a good solid foundation for the main
    two characters. They're well fleshed out and I liked them both - Chel a
    little more. Some of the supporting characters seemed to be a bit
    cliched. And I question the purpose of the 'Monster' character. He
    didn't seem to add anything to the story. I did enjoy the insertions of
    passages from the codex, written by Paktul, a Mayan scribe. There's
    lot of action and run up to the final chapters that kept me eagerly
    turning pages. I was a bit disappointed by some of the end scenes -
    although exciting, they were slightly unbelievable, which was
    disappointing given the research and care put into the rest of the book.
    But, all in all, 12-21 was a good, entertaining read. ( And I can see it
    being made into a movie) Fans of Michael Crichton and Dan Brown will
    enjoy this blending of science and history. Thomason could not have
    picked a more perfect time to release this book. Dec 21 should be an
    interesting day.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3