Customer Reviews for

127 Hours: Between a Rock and a Hard Place

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What a journey!

Excellent book. Very, very detailed - sometimes too detailed for the average non-climber who is not familiar with the vocabulary of an experienced outdoorsman. There are a lot of technical climbing and gear descriptions. The chapters alternate between Mr. Ralston's hike...
Excellent book. Very, very detailed - sometimes too detailed for the average non-climber who is not familiar with the vocabulary of an experienced outdoorsman. There are a lot of technical climbing and gear descriptions. The chapters alternate between Mr. Ralston's hike during which he got stuck by the boulder and past expeditions. I especially liked the stalking bear story.

posted by sassypickle on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

TO BORING

I was unhappy with this book because Aron did nothing but boast. You would think that he would have learned not to be such an imature show-off after almost killing his friends. He was constantly risking the goodwill of others with his childish self centered behavior (ex...
I was unhappy with this book because Aron did nothing but boast. You would think that he would have learned not to be such an imature show-off after almost killing his friends. He was constantly risking the goodwill of others with his childish self centered behavior (example the colorado near drowning)he put those other boys in a horrible place and ruined their trip. Even after getting to the hospital all I hear is his bragging. This guy could care less about who he hurts emotionally or physically. Aron remember what the guy said "it's not what you do, but who you are"!!!!

posted by GMAAZ on October 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a journey!

    Excellent book. Very, very detailed - sometimes too detailed for the average non-climber who is not familiar with the vocabulary of an experienced outdoorsman. There are a lot of technical climbing and gear descriptions. The chapters alternate between Mr. Ralston's hike during which he got stuck by the boulder and past expeditions. I especially liked the stalking bear story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    I remember sitting in my doctors office nearly ten years ago rea

    I remember sitting in my doctors office nearly ten years ago reading an article about a man who had to cut his own arm off after it got stuck beneath an unmovable bolder. At the time I was intrigued by the story but couldn’t quite bring myself to believe that I was true. “How could anyone ever do such a thing to themselves” I wondered; such a task seemed too painful and unreal. After a few days of musing over the incredibility of this article it slipped from my mind and I didn’t think about it again until year later when I saw a movie preview on the television. The preview showed that the movie followed the story of an adventurous man who found himself in a dangerous and life threatening situation while hiking alone in the canyons of a remote desert. For some reason the events of the movie summary triggered a memory in my mind but in the moment I could not think why. The second time I saw the movie preview on TV I again recognized the story so I decided to look up more of what the movie was about. After a quick session of research it suddenly struck me that the movie was telling the same story that was expressed in the magazine article that I had read years ago. Again, I was intrigued by the story but, again, I didn’t really do anything to find out much about it. This year however, after finding out that I was required to read a memoir in English class, I finally brought myself to read this unbelievable story. After completing this novel I am very pleased with my memoir choice and would recommend this reading to anyone else looking for a story that will inspire them to always keep fighting and not give up.
    Not only is Aron Ralston’s story “127 Hours: Between a Rock and a Hard Place” inspirational, but the book is also a very effective and well written memoir. For anybody who enjoys adventure and exploring (not fictional adventure but nonfictional, accomplishable adventure) Aron’s story is very relatable. Throughout the book Aron describes the scene in a way that allows the readers to feel apart of the story. The descriptive language that is used helps distinguish each setting from the others. By making each sub-story setting unique and interesting, Aron is able to make the scene of the book as a whole very exciting and intriguing. Never once as I was reading did I become bored with what was being described. Although the focus of the book is a situation in which Aron’s surrounds do not change, he is able to keep the readers involved by switching between the current situation and flashbacks to his childhood and previous exploring adventures; the chapters alternate between him being stuck below the rock and some other memory or alternate event.
    Throughout the book Aron effectively describes how and what he discovered about himself during the five days he spent below the rock. This self-discovery is an important component of what makes his memoir so effective. By being stuck alone for so long Aron is required to think about and analyze both his own life and the lives of those around him. Aron not only tells the readers about his self-discoveries through the text in his book, but he also tells the general population about these realizations through the videos that he left when he was convinced that he was going to die. Although the readers are unable to listen to the videos by reading the book, the dialogue that describes what is said in these videos is very accurate. The dialogs in Aron’s recordings describe how he was able to gain appreciation for what he had accomplished, who he had met, and the knowledge that he had gained. Prior to this experience it seems that Aron was satisfied with what he was doing but always thought that he could do more and he pressured himself to do so. After his unexpected survival, Aron is better able to complete the things in his life with more enjoyment and feelings of lasting pride.
    Throughout Aron’s novel there are continuous experiences of conflict, both internal and external—a writing factor that again makes this memoir so intriguing and successful. As Aron progresses through the days of his dangerous situation his mind and body seem to “disagree” even more: Numerous times Aron wants to cut off his arm own arm as he knows that is his only chance of escape, but he is physically unable to carry out the task; he fights with himself over whether to drink his own pee, take his own life, or just give up on his hopes of survival. In the situation Aron also faces conflicts: he sets up a pulley system which is ineffective because of the numerous forces of friction; he is able to find more effect ways of chipping away the bolder but each time it only slips to rattrap his arm. These conflicts intensify the story as each gives Aron a new hope of survival. With each conflicting thought or action it seems that Aron is making progress toward his escape, but most conflicts end with the negative side winning and his hopes of escape again being crushed.
    By reading Aron’s memoir that used effective elements of writing to intrigue the readers, I have been exposed to techniques that I can use in my own writing to do the same. I have never really been able to identify why I find some books more exciting then others, but now I have an idea of the components that a book should posses in order to draw me in and keep me intrigued: informal writing; both internal and external character conflicts; unique and descriptive scene explanations; dialog within the authors (or main character if not a novel) head; self-discovery; and realizations that are relatable to the real world. By understanding the elements of writing that are most effective in intriguing me, I will better be able to understand what others look for in a novel and will be able to work towards incorporating these aspects into my own writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    High recommend....if you like the technical aspect of adventures

    High recommend....if you like the technical aspect of adventures. The reason he discusses every aspect of climbing is because he has done it. Not many people have climbed so much and have the ability to write about it. He is also humble in his writing. It is very clear that his arrogance on the mountain put him and others into dangerous situations.

    Like Houdini, he was able to escape. Also like Houdini, he wasn't ready for the "unexpected blow" to occur.

    He is a man who, like other people, (lance armstrong) are only concerned with their obsessions. In his case, to explore. People like that believe they only effect themselves when in reality, they effect everybody around them in this case, not for the better.

    This book functions not only as a guide to adventure but also as a study in human behavior.

    Thanks for reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Gripping- even though you know the outcome

    This was one of my first nook reads. I enjoyed the book- Aron clearly has an unusual and gut-wrenching story to tell. And he tells it all- which is exactly as it should be. I had seen television reports about him, of course, but it was good to read the story from the first-hand perspective.
    He is an interesting fellow: his risk appetite is downright scary. This brought me some internal conflict- as a parent- but, since he is not my son, I could still enjoy the book.
    Don't forget to look for the pictures as you are reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2