Customer Reviews for

The 12th Planet (Book I)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Earth Chronicles written by Zecharia Sitchin

I wonder how many people have heard about Zecharia Sitchin. He has written extensively over the last thirty five years on topics that most people would consider important for a variety of reasons; cosmology, cosmogony, archeology, paleontology, linguistics, history, geo...
I wonder how many people have heard about Zecharia Sitchin. He has written extensively over the last thirty five years on topics that most people would consider important for a variety of reasons; cosmology, cosmogony, archeology, paleontology, linguistics, history, geography, ufology, Sumerology, theology, and a few other 'ologies' as well as being one of the few people on earth who can actually read and decipher ancient cuneiform writing.
.
Born in Russia, he immigrated to Israel and then on to New York where he presently lives and continues to write. His knowledge in the fields he writes about is broad and deep and the passion he reveals for the related topics he writes about is evident in every one of his books. His writing abilities are matched by his expert knowledge in a broad range of fields that literally encompass the entire planet.
.
So, just what is it about Zecharia Sitchin that makes him a unique man, writer and teacher?
.
The answer to this question is simple; he not only wondered about the beginning and cause of our solar system and the beginning of mankind, he did something about it ~ he dug into the trash-bin of the ancient past and put together the intricate pieces of a story that literally surpass any science-fiction book ever written. Only, what he wrote (and continues to write) about 'ain't' fiction!
.
Many years ago I wrote a long review on some of his books, starting with his first, The 12th Planet. I'll link it here for those who would like to read it. It's called Impression of the Earth Chronicles.
.
Once you begin to get acquainted with Mr. Sitchin and his writings, I feel certain you will be captured by what he has to say; the conclusions he makes with reference to the history of our planet, from its 'creation' to the present time, as well as mankind's fate.
.
Below is a list of books that Sitchin has published which comprise
.
The Earth Chronicles:
The 12th Planet (1976)
The Stairway to Heaven
The Wars of Gods and Men
The Lost Realms
When Time Began
The Cosmic Code
The End of Days
.
Companion Books:
Genesis Revisited
Divine Encounters
The Lost Book of Enki
.
Autobiographical Books:
The Earth Chronicles Expeditions
Journeys to a Mystical Past
.
If you love a mystery; if you're interested in what the ancients thought and wrote about pertaining to earth's beginnings and mankind's entrance onto its landscape, as well as a comprehensive understanding of mankind's relationship to the "Lofty Ones"; those who came down to earth 450,000 years ago and created a full-blown civilization then you will love what Zecharia Sitchin has to say in his excellent rendition, fully encompassed in The Earth Chronicles.

posted by Joe70000 on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not for the unscholarly...

I was very excited about reading this book, until I got to about page 20 and could not push myself to go further. It was too complicated a read for me. I am interested and open to the author's ideas and wish I could have continued, but I found that due to the writing ...
I was very excited about reading this book, until I got to about page 20 and could not push myself to go further. It was too complicated a read for me. I am interested and open to the author's ideas and wish I could have continued, but I found that due to the writing style I couldn't comfortably grasp the concept of what he was saying and it just wouldn't flow...it was too complex. A scholarly mind and/or background knowledge of world history and its terminology would be of great value to the reader of this one.

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    The Earth Chronicles written by Zecharia Sitchin

    I wonder how many people have heard about Zecharia Sitchin. He has written extensively over the last thirty five years on topics that most people would consider important for a variety of reasons; cosmology, cosmogony, archeology, paleontology, linguistics, history, geography, ufology, Sumerology, theology, and a few other 'ologies' as well as being one of the few people on earth who can actually read and decipher ancient cuneiform writing.
    .
    Born in Russia, he immigrated to Israel and then on to New York where he presently lives and continues to write. His knowledge in the fields he writes about is broad and deep and the passion he reveals for the related topics he writes about is evident in every one of his books. His writing abilities are matched by his expert knowledge in a broad range of fields that literally encompass the entire planet.
    .
    So, just what is it about Zecharia Sitchin that makes him a unique man, writer and teacher?
    .
    The answer to this question is simple; he not only wondered about the beginning and cause of our solar system and the beginning of mankind, he did something about it ~ he dug into the trash-bin of the ancient past and put together the intricate pieces of a story that literally surpass any science-fiction book ever written. Only, what he wrote (and continues to write) about 'ain't' fiction!
    .
    Many years ago I wrote a long review on some of his books, starting with his first, The 12th Planet. I'll link it here for those who would like to read it. It's called Impression of the Earth Chronicles.
    .
    Once you begin to get acquainted with Mr. Sitchin and his writings, I feel certain you will be captured by what he has to say; the conclusions he makes with reference to the history of our planet, from its 'creation' to the present time, as well as mankind's fate.
    .
    Below is a list of books that Sitchin has published which comprise
    .
    The Earth Chronicles:
    The 12th Planet (1976)
    The Stairway to Heaven
    The Wars of Gods and Men
    The Lost Realms
    When Time Began
    The Cosmic Code
    The End of Days
    .
    Companion Books:
    Genesis Revisited
    Divine Encounters
    The Lost Book of Enki
    .
    Autobiographical Books:
    The Earth Chronicles Expeditions
    Journeys to a Mystical Past
    .
    If you love a mystery; if you're interested in what the ancients thought and wrote about pertaining to earth's beginnings and mankind's entrance onto its landscape, as well as a comprehensive understanding of mankind's relationship to the "Lofty Ones"; those who came down to earth 450,000 years ago and created a full-blown civilization then you will love what Zecharia Sitchin has to say in his excellent rendition, fully encompassed in The Earth Chronicles.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    What is with the price?

    Why is the paperback $4 but the paperless digital copy is near $20?

    Does not compute.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    Not for the unscholarly...

    I was very excited about reading this book, until I got to about page 20 and could not push myself to go further. It was too complicated a read for me. I am interested and open to the author's ideas and wish I could have continued, but I found that due to the writing style I couldn't comfortably grasp the concept of what he was saying and it just wouldn't flow...it was too complex. A scholarly mind and/or background knowledge of world history and its terminology would be of great value to the reader of this one.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Exciting

    We live in a day and age where a person seems to either believe in a mono-theistic God (I.e. Christians, Jews, Muslims) or not. I'm part of the latter group.

    This book, instead of focusing on how "existence" began, tackles the question of "how did man evolve on this planet". The author provides an enormous amount of data to support his theories that man was "created" by an alien race. These aliens were considered "Gods" by man at the time, and most common folklore (modern religions) base their faith and beliefs on books written thousands of years AFTER these events transpired.

    It is not a tough jump to make. The author provides emperical evidence to support his claims, unlike most biblical stories. He is an expert in ancient Summerian cuniform tablets and uses them extensively in his discussions.

    I'd certainly recommend this book. It was a nice surprise.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    excellent research very comprehensive good for everyone

    puts a new and better meaning to our biblical accounts, actually accentuates the biblical stories, without the governments involvement. Makes one realize how the great maker has carried the lines down thru time to the fulfillment. Makes one a better CHRIST follower.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    A perfect book for those people with the question of "who we are and where we come from?" A must read for EVERYONE!

    When I first started reading this book I was immediately intrigued and glued to the pages from the very begining. All of the ancient texts that the author references to is real backed by proof "IN STONE" literally and told thousands of years ago just recently rediscovered and deciphered. The index in the back of the book is amazing with more then plenty of research that went into this "literary masterpiece." "Zecharia Sitchin" does a tremendous job of bringing together all of these ancient stories of "gods" and "celestial beings" and putting it all together in a book that is very fascinating and not hard to follow at all. You do not have to be a rocket scientist or be knowledgable in astronomy or ancient civilaztions to understand the point that the author is trying to make. "We are not alone" and I think that someday, hopefully sooner then later more scholars, scientist, and just downright everyday people will have to look at all of this given knowlege that has been laid right in front of our very eyes from the very begining of time. The ancient Sumerians were apparently very advanced for their time. All of the thousands of ancient sumerian texts (which is written in STONE) that have recently been discovered is undeniable proof that there is something more to our life as humans and our very civilization that we have today than what we are led to believe in mainstream archaeology. The proof is out there for us to see plain as day and I think that its past time we utilize our knowledge and more so plain common sense that has been given to us. Call it "god" or "religion" it all stems from one single believe that over time has changed and been told over and over again, until the main point of the knowledge that was intentionally left for "us" to see, has gotten away from the point that it was intentionally left for. "Zecharia Sitchin" nailed this main "idea" in "The 12th Planet". The idea is there and written in history for us to see. I can't wait to order his next book in the "Earth Chronicle" series so that I can dive deeper into this lost knowledge that was left from our "ancenstors from the stars", this lost knowledge which everyone should be taking a more serious look into. All of this knowledge and proof of something more could stand up in court today, but we are too comfortable as a people in what we have been led to believe that we might get out of our "comfort zone" which makes people feel uneasy, which is understandable. It's not so far fetched to believe in such things, and I personally don't feel that it goes against religion in any way, but merely enhances the "true meaning that was meant to be left behind." I have been rambling on and on here about this book and then some so I hope this review helps anyone out there that is interested in this what seems today as a "controversial matter." It isn't controversial, but we as a people need to just open or minds and use the brain that was given to us. We are meant for great things. And we can achieve greater things then what is currently going on in the world today. "WE ARE MEANT FOR SOMETHING WAY MORE THEN THE WAY WE ARE LIVING TODAY, AND ITS A SHAME WE AREN'T UTILIZING THIS KNOWLEDGE"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Great read

    Fun and easy to follow. Although I'm not new to the ideas presented in this book I enjoyed it. The author does a fantastic job presenting his ideas and backing them up with facts. Very similar to Ancient Aliens and eye opening. Totally recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    12th Planet

    Very good book to read if you interested in the origins of man and it's ancient history. Very creative theory of how modern man came about. A must read for anyone starting to read on such matter...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    12th Planet

    Mr Sitchin write a compelling story about Earth's ancient history. Some of the references he uses are very interesting in their own right. Thought provoking and informative. Worth a read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Review of the twelth planet

    I liked this book it was a very informative and well written book.the way it went from the various peoples texts to the scientific evidence was fun to read. I wpuld recommend this book it was a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Put on your rubber boots!

    And cuff your pants.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Aliens

    This is an alien book called the 9th planet cool

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    uneducated writer

    I do not know foreign languages or reading ancient inscriptions or tablets,BUT. In chapter 7; to have the planets to be lined up as he said does NOT happen often. Saying that Pluto was the outer planet; he didn't know that astronomers would discover and bodies farther out and some larger that Pluto ( Plutinos ). Also the part about the Moon originateing from a depression that formed the Pacific Ocean; He didn't know about plate tectonics. All in all it was , to me, a book of fantasy and waste of money. There is no reason to read any other books in the series. Also the parts about staged rockets, there would be SOMETHING left to indicate mining and construction of these so called rockets not to mention the development and storage of fuels and oxidizer.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    Eye Opener

    I read this book in the late 70s. Talk about having most of my questions answered, and theories validated. I have recommended this book to anyone that 'has to know,' and still do to this day. Most of history is difficult to prove one way or another and even this book must be gleaned for its facts, but it stands in the forefront of what I accept as truth. I highly recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    Review by one who's 70-something

    Mind blowing! Fascinating! Convincing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2