Customer Reviews for

13 Bullets

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL !!!

I loved this book and I can not wait to read the other three. I am sick of reading vampire books that are about love and romance. This book was action packed and leaves you wanting more. Also I liked the twist on how the vampires look and what it means to be one. T...
I loved this book and I can not wait to read the other three. I am sick of reading vampire books that are about love and romance. This book was action packed and leaves you wanting more. Also I liked the twist on how the vampires look and what it means to be one. They are not the boy next store, they are monsters that they are supposed to be!

posted by amber_h_79 on January 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dang.

Gruesome! No sparkly vampires to whoo you in this book. A strange, yet delicious mix of a cop drama and horror. I enjoyed the author's spin on vampires (evil, violent creatures that turn to goo during the day) and appreciated the female protagonist, but some of the acti...
Gruesome! No sparkly vampires to whoo you in this book. A strange, yet delicious mix of a cop drama and horror. I enjoyed the author's spin on vampires (evil, violent creatures that turn to goo during the day) and appreciated the female protagonist, but some of the action bored me and the relentless detailed description of their guns and riot armor had me flipping pages. I plan on reading the next book, anyways.

posted by historybooks on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WONDERFUL !!!

    I loved this book and I can not wait to read the other three. I am sick of reading vampire books that are about love and romance. This book was action packed and leaves you wanting more. Also I liked the twist on how the vampires look and what it means to be one. They are not the boy next store, they are monsters that they are supposed to be!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Great fun!

    This is a good vampire book, full of excitement and action. I read this after a bout of heavy novels and wanted to read something light and fun. I wasn't disappointed. Though it can be predictable at times, it has it's fair share of twists and turns. The gore is described in great detail, so not for the faint of heart. I do reccomend it for anyone interested in reading a new take on vampires.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dang.

    Gruesome! No sparkly vampires to whoo you in this book. A strange, yet delicious mix of a cop drama and horror. I enjoyed the author's spin on vampires (evil, violent creatures that turn to goo during the day) and appreciated the female protagonist, but some of the action bored me and the relentless detailed description of their guns and riot armor had me flipping pages. I plan on reading the next book, anyways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    A lot of wasted potential but, still entertaining

    After finishing 13 Bullets I couldn't help but, think of it as a book that should have been much better. It had all the right elements but, they just don't come off nearly as clear as they should have. Wellington's violent, action oriented approach is enough to keep you reading but, never seems to draw the reader in the way it should. The characters generally feel underdeveloped(Arkeley being the notable exception). The odd pacing and weak character development hurt the overall feel yet the book still tells an original and usually entertaining story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Help.

    What age shoukd i b to read this? Btw im 6 months

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    A fairly Entertaining Vampire Tale

    This was a decent read. It started off really well, but by the middle of the book the author couldn't decide whether he wanted to write a horror story or a romance novel. So the action kept getting dragged down by useless romance bits. There was a minimal sense of growth of the main character, but only just enough to keep me reading, not enough to be fun though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Strong series intro

    After years of suffering through the Twilights and True Bloods of the world, it's good to finally see someone make vampires evil again. Cold, cunning and calculating, Wellington's vampires are more sociopath than romantic, more animal than outcast, and definitely more serial killer than brooding loner. It even makes fun of those types. Thank you for making vampires monsters again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Loved it - bought the rest of the series

    I read 13 Bullets online - David first published it as a serial novel on his web site. Loved the book and went out and bought the remaining books in the series. Then my daughter wanted to read it but not off a computer so I went back and bought 13 Bullets as well!

    It's one thing to say you like a book -- another to go out and buy every other in the series. Very satisfying read; great characters and awesomely brutal and gruesome vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book!

    Having just come off of reading Sookie Stackhouse I expected this to be simular even though the descriptions didn't sound alike. This is a hard hitting book,that doesn't have time for romance or sex! I have yet to read any other vampire book like this one! Totally different than all the others,which I am including Stackhouse and Twilight. I can't wait to read the follow up book which is 99 Coffins. This is a very bloody book. This book also tends to details very well. If you like horror films this book is for you! I wish Hollywood would make this into a film series instead of Twilight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not just another vampire story...ok, well maybe a little...

    Yes, vampires, but these don't sparkle, or want to be loved. All they want is your blood. This is a fast paced, action-thriller for those who like reading about mean and bloodthirsty vampires, not soft and romantic ones. There were some interesting additions to the vampire legend that I haven't come across before, but it was a nice addition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like brooding pretty boy vampires. That this is not for you.

    I became familiar with Wellington when i read his Monster Island trilogy. He gave his treatment of zombies and did a grat job.

    Now here he also does it with vampires. A great book from the start. It kept me intertested all the way through. The vamps here are monsters who would tear you to pieces for your blood. The ending was great. It was classic and i wanted more so i started reading the second book,"99 Coffins" and loved it. I am also reading "Vampire Zero" book 3 and "23 Hours" book 4 is next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome, david

    its fast thrilling and awesome. recommend it for anyone well that likes gore and blood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    maggots...eww

    I saw this book on a bargin book rack at my library. I have a different cover than the one here, the one I have looks like Rose McGowan from Death Proof. I loved this book so much! This take on why vampires had to go into coffins in the morning, it was so different. I wish that it hadn't ended like it did though, I almost punched the book cuz I didn't want that to happen. But if you love the Twilight series and Douglas Preston and Lincoln child books, you will love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    In 1983 US Marshall Special Deputy Jameson Arkeley ended the vampire feeding frenzy killing all but one and almost dying in the war most people feel safe as officially all of the once thought of as supernatural beasts are reported dead. However, because of laws intended to provide justice to mortals, the sole surviving blood sucker Justinia Malvern resides on life support as a guinea pig for scientific investigation in a remote Pennsylvania asylum.---------------- Now two decades later, Pennsylvania state trooper Laura Caxton reports some weird homicides that bring Arkeley back on the scene. He knows vampires killed the victims and assumes somehow Justinia has ¿offspring¿ planning to free their queen once they are powerful enough to do so. He takes over the investigation with Laura assigned to assist him. They must follow the blood trail to the lair of Justinia¿s minion to exterminate them before they can bring blood to resuscitate their leader.--------------- This ultra-gory vampire police procedural is pure action on action as David Wellington never slows down even to bite a victim. The story line is filled with twists that at times seem too jarring especially a final spin that sets up the next encounter, but also keeps the audience alert. However, the key to this refreshing thriller is the relationship between the vampire hunter and the state trooper as no romance, no best pals, nor any Gandalf-Frodo affinity occur instead he is an abusive arrogant ahole and she hates having to take orders from this know it all bully. With a nod to his zombie Monster Island trilogy, Mr. Wellington returns the vampire lgend to its bloodiest veins.----------------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3