Customer Reviews for

13 Little Blue Envelopes

Average Rating 4
( 677 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(347)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

13 Little Blue Envelopes

13 Little Blue Envelopes, written by Maureen Johnson, is a well-written story all about a girl who learns how to handle things on her own. It will encourage young minds all over the world to find their inner-beauty and encourage them to try things they never tried befo...
13 Little Blue Envelopes, written by Maureen Johnson, is a well-written story all about a girl who learns how to handle things on her own. It will encourage young minds all over the world to find their inner-beauty and encourage them to try things they never tried before. 13 Little Blue Envelopes is a funny and great adventure story that I think all teens will enjoy. I could not put it down; I read in the matter of a few days. The story line instantly pulled me in with a little bit of romance and Ginny¿s adventurous side. I felt like I was living through every experience Ginny went through.
Johnson makes her characters come alive and she portrays them as regular people. She made Ginny a regular teenager who has trouble speaking out. I could relate to this 100 percent. Her writing makes you never want to stop reading and the ending was a delicious cherry on top of an ice cream cone. It was the perfect story with the perfect ending.
I would definitely recommend this to a friend. This is a perfect pick-me-up when you have not read a good book in a while. If you like romance, adventure, and a tad bit of mystery, this is the book to read. You get to discover what it is like to travel through a country alone. You learn all new things about Europe and what life is like on the other side of the world. And surprisingly; it is much the same!
The reason I started reading this book in the first place was because it had been a while since I had read a truly amazing story that I had thoroughly enjoyed. I was tired of the stories that had no interesting conflict and always ended how I expected. I thought that 13 Little Blue Envelopes would stop my bad streak. I read the first chapter and it felt like I was living in Europe. This book is a great book to pick when you need something to pull you away from the world and the people around you. You become Ginny and open each of the envelopes with her.
This book is an overall great read for teenage girls. Most of the time it is interesting and I promise: you will not be able to put this book down! I know I look forward to reading more books by Maureen Johnson after I have read this, and I am sure you will too. I recommend this book to everyone who needs a book to read. 13 Little Blue Envelopes is the way to go!

posted by Shellyy on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

After reading the description, I was really excited to read this book. But the more I read it, the more boring the book became. The ending didn't really please me at all and I never once felt for the main character, Ginny. I'm glad I was able to get it from the library ...
After reading the description, I was really excited to read this book. But the more I read it, the more boring the book became. The ending didn't really please me at all and I never once felt for the main character, Ginny. I'm glad I was able to get it from the library and didn't have to buy it; what a waste that would have been.

Read it if you want. Your taste could be different from mine and you might like it.

posted by JayLovex on August 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 681 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    13 Little Blue Envelopes

    13 Little Blue Envelopes, written by Maureen Johnson, is a well-written story all about a girl who learns how to handle things on her own. It will encourage young minds all over the world to find their inner-beauty and encourage them to try things they never tried before. 13 Little Blue Envelopes is a funny and great adventure story that I think all teens will enjoy. I could not put it down; I read in the matter of a few days. The story line instantly pulled me in with a little bit of romance and Ginny¿s adventurous side. I felt like I was living through every experience Ginny went through. <BR/> Johnson makes her characters come alive and she portrays them as regular people. She made Ginny a regular teenager who has trouble speaking out. I could relate to this 100 percent. Her writing makes you never want to stop reading and the ending was a delicious cherry on top of an ice cream cone. It was the perfect story with the perfect ending.<BR/> I would definitely recommend this to a friend. This is a perfect pick-me-up when you have not read a good book in a while. If you like romance, adventure, and a tad bit of mystery, this is the book to read. You get to discover what it is like to travel through a country alone. You learn all new things about Europe and what life is like on the other side of the world. And surprisingly; it is much the same! <BR/> The reason I started reading this book in the first place was because it had been a while since I had read a truly amazing story that I had thoroughly enjoyed. I was tired of the stories that had no interesting conflict and always ended how I expected. I thought that 13 Little Blue Envelopes would stop my bad streak. I read the first chapter and it felt like I was living in Europe. This book is a great book to pick when you need something to pull you away from the world and the people around you. You become Ginny and open each of the envelopes with her.<BR/> This book is an overall great read for teenage girls. Most of the time it is interesting and I promise: you will not be able to put this book down! I know I look forward to reading more books by Maureen Johnson after I have read this, and I am sure you will too. I recommend this book to everyone who needs a book to read. 13 Little Blue Envelopes is the way to go!

    42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    Disappointing

    After reading the description, I was really excited to read this book. But the more I read it, the more boring the book became. The ending didn't really please me at all and I never once felt for the main character, Ginny. I'm glad I was able to get it from the library and didn't have to buy it; what a waste that would have been.

    Read it if you want. Your taste could be different from mine and you might like it.

    23 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Completely original!

    Ginny is convinced that the only thing that makes her interesting is her aunt, a starving artist and constant traveler. When her aunt dies of brain cancer, Ginny can't understand what's ahead of her. Days filled with boring scenes and an unoriginal life? Then she receives a letter . from her aunt. She discovers that her aunt wrote 13 letters before she died, all addressed to Ginny. She sends Ginny off on a journey, to different countries to complete different tasks. Who said Ginny couldn't be interesting and exciting? But it's still her aunt that is making her that way and it's all a game. It finally hits Ginny: her aunt is dead. Now, she has to be her own person.

    13 Little Blue Envelopes is One-in-a-Million. It was completely creative and unusual! The author flowed with a new, fresh idea and it turned out great. I would have liked to read more about Ginny's mom and her home in New Jersey but it seemed that Ginny was caught in the moment and it rarely came across her mind. As the story developed, so did the characters and the descriptions of the settings blew me away! The writing is great and I look forward to reading more by this author in the near future. I could never imagine the countries that were spoken of but now I can with the help of this book. The reasons I rated this book a 4 are specified below.

    Contains:

    *brief nudity
    *homosexuality of a minor character involved in two chapters
    *sensuality
    *sexual references

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Book; Best I've Read in a Long Time

    Ginny, a 17-year-old from New Jersey, receives a letter from her deceased aunt. She follows the instructions in the letter and sets off to begin her journey that her aunt has given her. She may only take things that will fit in her backpack, but she is not aloud taking any electronics with her. This journey will make her understand things in her life more and help her understand her aunt's previous life.
    At each letter Ginny has to read it and follow the instructions. She is not aloud to look ahead at any of the letters. In each letter she has to complete all the instructions in each letter. Each letter takes her to a different places.
    Ginny gets stuck in some situations and has no clue what to do. But eventually finds her way through each situation.
    She learns a lot of things during this trip, things that she wouldn't even guess that would be true. End the end she lives to learn with the new things she has discovered, and now knows that there was a reason to that trip.

    This book is possibly the best book that I have read in years. I have read it more than twice because I like it so much! I give it five stars. I highly recommend reading this book.
    You will want to read this book a second time once you have read it a first time.
    Enjoy!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    OK

    In my opinion this was really boring, I draged through the entire thing.

    11 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Read :)

    13 Little Blue Envelopes is an exciting story about a girl named Ginny who receives a mysterious package from her Aunt Peg who has recently passed away. Inside the package there are 13 little blue envelopes and inside each envelope there are directions that will take Ginny all over the world if she chooses to follow them. However, if she does choose to follow them, there's a catch. The next envelope cannot be opened until she has finished the current envelope's directions. Ginny's journey includes her meeting some interesting people and situations. I think 13 Little Blue Envelopes is a great book and I would recommend it mostly to teenage girls because I think they can relate to Ginny a lot. I would give this book a 5 star rating.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    You must buy it!! It's EXTREMELY good!!

    This book is REALLY fun!! Don't listen to the other ppl who say it's boring!! They're just saying that cause probably they don't want other ppl 2 read it cause it their things and/or cause their weirdos!! THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ!! I CAN'T WAIT TO READ THE SEQUEL, THE LAST LITTLE BLUE ENVELOPE!!!!!!! :)

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Loved it!!

    This book made me want to read more of it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    One of my all time favorites

    The book 13 Little Blue Envelopes is a great book. It will take your mind on a wonderful journey. I love how the author makes you feel like you are their experiencing the hole thing. Maureen Johnson sure knows how to get your attention. Ginny is one of the bet characters in the book. Her estranged aunt gives her 13 Little Blue Envelopes. Thats were they get the title. Ginny has to follow all the advice and jobs that her aunt gave her in the letters. She gets to go on many trips through Europe. She got to go to England, France, Italy, and Greece that is just a few of the countries that she went to. You should really give this book a chance.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    This book gives me the desire to travel. I have already gotten my passport. Now it's just a matter of saving the money to go.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    The whole concept of the book sounded really interesting but the

    The whole concept of the book sounded really interesting but the character didn't sound like a 17 year old and it dragged on. Their is just something about the writing that is greatly lacking. I needed suspense and I wasn't able to myself in the characters position. I couldn't even see what the author wanted me to. You should not read this book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from Missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Rule #1: You may bring only what fits in your backpack. Don't try to fake it with a purse or a carry-on.

    Rule #2: You may not bring guidebooks, phrase books, or any kind of foreign language aid. And no journals.

    Rule #3: You cannot bring extra money or credit/debit cards, traveler's checks, etc.

    Rule #4: No electronic crutches. This means no laptop, no cell phone, no music, and no camera. You can't call home or communicate with people in the U.S. by Internet or telephone. Postcards and letters are acceptable and encouraged.

    The rules were straightforward, sent to Ginny Blackstone in the first of thirteen letters from her eccentric Aunt Peg. Ginny is used to her aunt's whims and willing to play along because Aunt Peg is the only person in the world who can make Ginny seem interesting--even if it is just by association.

    The letters will take Ginny to England and across Europe on an adventure that starts in the hope of understanding her wayward aunt. Along the way she'll get a behind-the-scenes tour of Harrod's from one of the store's employees, meet artist/sometimes-thief Keith Dobson, and encounter youth hostels of various ilks. She will also karaoke. At the end of the summer, Ginny might discover she's more interesting than she thought--all because of those 13 Little Blue Envelopes (2005) by Maureen Johnson.

    Broken into chapters and separate headings for each envelope, this is a fast read that still has a lot of depth. The cover, along with some of Johnson's other covers, is sometimes slammed for having a semi-headless, midriff-bearing girl on the cover. All the same, I love it. Not so much because it's indicative of the story but of the novel's overall vibe.

    Equal parts travelogue, comedy, and Bildungsroman 13 Little Blue Envelopes is jam-packed with excitement and appeal. It's also a book about an ordinary girl discovering that sometimes just being herself can be extraordinary enough. Ginny is a persistent, resilient narrator that readers will be cheering for throughout this (sometimes) madcap novel.

    Johnson is also working on a sequel called The Last Little Blue Envelope with a projected publication date in 2011.

    Possible Pairings: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, Howard's End by E. M. Forster, North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley, Kitty Kitty by Michele Jaffe, Jungle Crossing by Sydney Salter

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Recommend to friends!

    Great book! Didn't put it down until i finished!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Anonymus

    A fast, fun, flirty, rollercoaster that will take you soaring and clanking up one mountian and swooping down the other.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    ehhhhh

    well its kinda intrestin...... actually no im sry but i must give dis book a big fat NO

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Dissapointing

    I thiught the book was going to be great... it sounded good, and I wass willing to ignor the give-away on the back of the book (An advertisement for the next book, whose title told you that she wasn't able to find the 13th envelope.) But I didn't like this book at all. I barely finished it. It was very bland, and the main character had no personality at all. I didn't feel for her at any point, and I never really got excited. It was unrealistic because she would live with these random people, and she never really talked. And, because the book was written in third person, you also never got to know what she was thinking. The part where she met her 'boyfriend' was dumb abd cliched. But the worst part of the book was, again, that Ginny had no prrsonality whatsoever.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Well written, page turner, and well worth the time

    Intelligently written but not "too deep" for a summer read or juvie fic, this book is romantic but clean, interesting and adventurous, but not scandalous, and has a cliff hanger ending.... but not in an unsatisfying way. I would heartily recommend this author to others who enjoy romantic fiction, mysteries, Jane Austen, edwardian romances, Christian fiction (although this is NOT in that category, because it is clean I think it would suit well) and anyone who likes a good read. I enjoyed it, as a middle aged lit mag editor, but I would also allow my young preteen daughter to read it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Movie

    They should really make this book into a movie, it's that good. I read it and loved it, especially 'The Last Little Blue Envenlope'. Wish something like this would happen to me, wjere I get to go on an adventure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Awesome european adventure

    I loved this book anf all the places Ginny goes.its like being there with her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Worst story line ever!

    I thought this book was going to be great because of all of the great reviews. It was a waste of time and energy. The story line was slow and boring and stupid. The charactors were all dumb and frankly, I hated it. When I found out there is a second book I laughed. If the second is anything like the first, God help anyone who wastes their time on it. If you like a story with a lot of depth and an interesting story line, DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And if you do and hate it, don't say I didn't warn you. Thank goodness I never wasted my money on the BS.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 681 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35