Customer Reviews for

13 Things That Don't Make Sense: The Most Baffling Scientific Mysteries of Our Time

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    What a fascinating book.

    This is a fascinating read about 13 different science anomalies, questions about events or experiments that haven't yet been solved. You can read a chapter a day and find it extremely satisfying. A real exploration of the mysteries out there! I hope the author does another collection!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    Marvelous

    An exquisitely written discussion of where we are 'stuck' in the various scientific disciplines. A must read for any curious mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    A great book to learn the basic

    This book really does a good job at describing the anomalies, and gives you a good idea of just how limited the human mind is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling

    The subject matters are mystifying and mind-blowing. As a voracious reader of both religion and science tomes, I greatly appreciate someone stepping up to the plate and saying that scientist not only don't know everything but often don't even know they don't know (or something like that). As I read the various chapters of scientific mystery, I kept thinking about the debacle over global warming. Hmmmmmm.

    The topics range form biology to cosmology, chemistry to psychology to physics. The book contains a wide array of topics that are bound to please the casual reader.

    I highly recommend this book for anyone that believes science it the 'be all' and 'end all to our world's problems. While scientist and the work they produce is to be admired and respected, we need to remember that there are deep secrets embedded in the universe that are beyond their capabilities.

    I hope you find this opinion helpful.

    Michael L. Gooch
    Author of Wingtips with Spurs

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating

    What we don't know is more fascinating that what we do know. This book is really what science is all about: questioning, searching for answers, questioning, searching for answers. We still have a lot of unanswered questions. Some may never be answered sufficiently, but ain't the search grand!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Read

    Offers interesting insights into the fallibility and inconsistency of modern science and scientists. I came away with added appreciation for with a better understanding of how poorly supported the 'facts' really are and how much our accepted ideas are based on community politics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Interesting facts that make for a better understanding of the wo

    Interesting facts that make for a better understanding of the world around us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2