Customer Reviews for

13 to Life (13 to Life Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Must Read!

Unlike other books out there, this one isn't about frigging vampires. This book literally wouldn't let me put it down. It's one of the best that i have ever read.

posted by Bobiline on March 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Repetitive..

13 to Life, told in first person from the main character, Jessica, is about a high school girl in a "college town" called Junction, trying to find closure after her mother is killed in a car accident. Problem is, every dramatic thing you can think of (that has already h...
13 to Life, told in first person from the main character, Jessica, is about a high school girl in a "college town" called Junction, trying to find closure after her mother is killed in a car accident. Problem is, every dramatic thing you can think of (that has already happened a million times before) happens, in quite a predictable fashion.

First off, I am so sick of "Wuthering Heights" references. Twilight is a wonderful book, I loved it. But every new mainstream novel that has popped up from debut authors in the last 4 years I feel has some sort of Twilight base in it somewhere. This book is not an exception. There are even various mentions of Jessica being obsessed with "vampire romances" several times throughout the novel. Originality people, embrace it.

Second, the character development was awful. Even Jessica isn't the least bit defined, nevermind her two friends, Sarah and Amy. Amy was alright, but still, the best thing I can say about Sarah is that she was just thrown in for conflict but given absolutely no real character development. Even Pietr (pronounced "Peter") had very minimal definition and he's the love interest.

Thirdly, what possibly annoyed me the most, even though it's such a small thing, was the random Russian words used in front of sentences by Pietr and his family. I get it, the author was trying to give him some originality and maybe a more ethnic, exotic kind of vibe. But come on, there was an entire segment where he said "Da" almost ten times (the Russian word for "Yes"). Then there are whole parts of the book where no Russian is spoken at all, and then boom, it's back again. If you are going do it, at least be consistent, and don't use the same word every time.

And last but not least, the pacing in this book was horrid. Jessica meets Pietr on the off chance of being chosen to be his guide around school, and he somehow is ironically in every single one of her classes. Constant mention of girls following the "new hunky guy" around school, then suddenly three days later, they can't deny their feelings for each other, and homecoming is a day away. Totally predictable and not the least bit entertaining.

I hate to be so negative, but it is honestly a miracle I could push past all of that to finish this book. I give it three stars just because I can't compel myself to go any lower than that. It wasn't the worst book I have ever seen, but it wasn't great either. I only recommend if you have nothing else better to do and want to read a quick cliche of a book, with plenty exaggerated ghosts of Twilight lurking in its pages.

posted by DarkOnion on July 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    Repetitive..

    13 to Life, told in first person from the main character, Jessica, is about a high school girl in a "college town" called Junction, trying to find closure after her mother is killed in a car accident. Problem is, every dramatic thing you can think of (that has already happened a million times before) happens, in quite a predictable fashion.

    First off, I am so sick of "Wuthering Heights" references. Twilight is a wonderful book, I loved it. But every new mainstream novel that has popped up from debut authors in the last 4 years I feel has some sort of Twilight base in it somewhere. This book is not an exception. There are even various mentions of Jessica being obsessed with "vampire romances" several times throughout the novel. Originality people, embrace it.

    Second, the character development was awful. Even Jessica isn't the least bit defined, nevermind her two friends, Sarah and Amy. Amy was alright, but still, the best thing I can say about Sarah is that she was just thrown in for conflict but given absolutely no real character development. Even Pietr (pronounced "Peter") had very minimal definition and he's the love interest.

    Thirdly, what possibly annoyed me the most, even though it's such a small thing, was the random Russian words used in front of sentences by Pietr and his family. I get it, the author was trying to give him some originality and maybe a more ethnic, exotic kind of vibe. But come on, there was an entire segment where he said "Da" almost ten times (the Russian word for "Yes"). Then there are whole parts of the book where no Russian is spoken at all, and then boom, it's back again. If you are going do it, at least be consistent, and don't use the same word every time.

    And last but not least, the pacing in this book was horrid. Jessica meets Pietr on the off chance of being chosen to be his guide around school, and he somehow is ironically in every single one of her classes. Constant mention of girls following the "new hunky guy" around school, then suddenly three days later, they can't deny their feelings for each other, and homecoming is a day away. Totally predictable and not the least bit entertaining.

    I hate to be so negative, but it is honestly a miracle I could push past all of that to finish this book. I give it three stars just because I can't compel myself to go any lower than that. It wasn't the worst book I have ever seen, but it wasn't great either. I only recommend if you have nothing else better to do and want to read a quick cliche of a book, with plenty exaggerated ghosts of Twilight lurking in its pages.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    buy it!

    totally awesome! really food and i liked the characters.........but beware you might get hooked and the second ones a let down.......

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    13 To Life by Shannon Delany Review

    The paranormal genre is one of my favorites and 13 To Life was a book that fell into this category for me and has now been added to a list of series' that I'll be following in the future. Shannon Delany has a fresh voice for a YA debut author and I had fun while reading her work. She turned the science and mythology angles to her advantage when creating her world of werewolves. While some parts may have been predictable, other questions and curiosities were forming along the way for me, so much so that my interest was kept throughout each turn of the page.

    Our main characters Jessie and Pietr were fun and interesting to follow along with, but I was often times frustrated with them as well. Jessie more often than not played the role of a martyr and at times that got old and even irritating. While I wanted to yell and shake Jessie more than a time or two for her actions and suggestions, I also found Pietr at fault for agreeing so easily with her decisions. It takes two to cause the confusion and trouble that they created.

    But these irritations didn't stop me from reading on. I was just constantly hoping that Jessie and Pietr would snap out of it and start coming around to may way of thinking (I mean come on). While their "unrequited" love was distressing I also had sympathy for their situation and can only hope that they'll eventually get what they both want in the next book. I'm eager to see how everything unfolds.

    With extremes thrown into the mix like the CIA's involvement and Russian Mafiosos pulling any strings they can, I think readers will be equally intrigued with how the plot points pan out. I also think Delany will quickly become an author with few equals as far as her cliffhangers and leaving questions unanswered goes. Delany left me pondering what Jessie's crush Derek has to do with the whole story? Will Sarah follow Darth Vader back over to the dark side? Are people who were thought to be on one side of the battle really just playing it cool until they're ready to show their true allegiances? Only Delany can answer these questions with her follow up installments to the 13 To Life series and I for one can't wait to read more to find out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Kinda mad

    I wanted to read this book but now there is no way .....too many spoilers in the reviews i feel like i have already read it. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    A Good Read

    via Goodreads
    There's a new boy at Jessica's school and her fellow female student body wants to get to know him. He wants to get to know her. Yes, he's foreign and gorgeous, but her longtime crush is finally showing some interest too. Along with the new boy and his family comes danger her small town has never seen and she finds herself engulfed in it.
    When I started reading this it sounded like the typical.. New hot guy, potentially dangerous with the 'he's just not that into you'' attitude that makes the girl swoon young adult novel. It went down that path for quite awhile, but the mystery of Jessica's mom kept me reading. Out of the blue the plot became unique and I needed to know what was going on.
    I got a good handle on most of the characters and there was a good social story happening just below the surface. This is a series I will keep reading. I would recommend this to people who enjoy young adult paranormal romance, especially teen girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    Too many ideas, too little depth

    Synopsis
    Jessica is assigned to escort the new guy, Pietr around school. While he has that bad boy attractive factor, Jessica knows that she needs to focus on her crush Derek. Not to mention that her best friend Sarah has a crush on Pietr. Can Pietr and Jessica fight their growing attraction and continue to hide the dark secrets that they both harbor?

    Review
    This novel forgot the details that help to support the plot. So many elements were introduced in the book that were only lightly touched on, like the loss of Jessica's mother, Sara, and Derek (seriously, is he a vampire?) that the book felt a little flighty. Jessica has a very advanced case of martyr syndrome, and at times, you really want to knock her in the head. The Russian mafia aspect of the story, while an interesting twist on the typical werewolf story, felt tacked on at the end in an attempt to set up for a series.

    My Recommendation
    While people who love Twilight will probably love this book, there is a lack of depth that may bother some readers. I give it 3/5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Decent werewolf YA--the series will probably get better from here on

    Jessica lives in the small town of Junction (every time I read the name, I start humming "Conjunction Junction, what's your function?"), and she's healing from her mother's death when Pietr Rusakova, a Russian-American student from Farthington, the site of a highly publicized and gory wolf attack, moves to her school. She's assigned to show him around, and though she's not falling at his feet like other girls, she still finds him intriguing. Pietr's hiding major secrets, but the back cover tells us the two secrets (werewolfism and mafia connections), so there's not really a mystery to unravel.

    I thought Jessica was funny, and she has a talkative sort of brain, so whenever she's thinking, her thoughts will get chatty/rambly in an endearing way. I also like how she's not interested in the new guy right away--she's still in raptures over her longtime crush, football player Derek, and can't spare much time to drool over Pietr, who she reacts to with annoyance.

    I was frowning, though, when Jessica pushes Pietr into a relationship with one of her friends, a relationship he doesn't want. Jessica and Pietr continue to see each other, discuss their feelings, and sneak kisses, all while he's technically supposed to be dating this other girl. I don't feel comfortable with anything about this situation; not Jessie pressuring Pietr because she feels sorry for her friend, or Pietr going along with it and being unable to stand up for himself and tell the girl he doesn't like her, or with either of them for continuing to get cozy when it means being dishonest. They're not shady people--I really don't get why they decide to behave this way.

    13 to Life is written in an easygoing, conversational style, but it takes a while for anything much to happen--the mafia angle appears in the final fifth of the novel. I might be grabbing the sequel, and as always, if you're into werewolves and YA, you should still try it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    13 to what?

    13 TO LIFE was a good book, but it was a bit confusing. Like what does the title mean? The book never answers that and a whole lot of other questions. Jessie is a sorry leading heroine who pines after the jock and won't say she likes the new boy Pietr until it's too late and he's dating her friend Sarah (which she pushed him to do after he kissed her.), who killed her mother in a car crash and got brain damage so she doesn't remember what she was like before. We don't even find out the truth about Pietr until the end of the book and even then it's not explained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    13 to LIE!

    when i bought this book i was borderline on my opppion on wheather or not this would actually be a good book. the storyline had potenially and the reviews said it was good so i bought it. BIGGEST waste ever! it was chessy beyond a doubt and when you want to be judgemental on a country{Russia} just dont jump to what you think the its all about{the russian mafia,SSR,OPS,ect.}and please dont make everything so chessy!i mean the charaters had potenially even the storyline did but it wasnt brought together well. it was a chessy airport novel that you are more than likely to give away
    if you want to read it i would reccomend getting it at the library or borrowing from a friend. i wouldnt spend about 10dollars on a book that only has a few good moments in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2