Customer Reviews for

The 13th Juror (Dismas Hardy Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    great book

    this book was a very good book. everything about it was fantastic i couldn't put it down once i started reading it. anyone who loves suspense and mystery i recommend this book to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    Realistic, Rivtitng, & Supspenseful!

    The author ingeniously takes the reader on a roller coaster ride through the life of Jennifer growing up & abroad, the physical & mental abuse she indured, her poor choice in men, and the devastating evidence against her. The ending was remarkable! I never foresaw it! This book truly was one the same level of ANYTHING Gresham has ever written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great read

    A page turner from beginning to end. The author kept you guessing till the end. This is my first Dismas Hardy . I am looking forward to reading more Dismas Hardy series in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    The best to date!

    I have been trying to read all of this series. While all are well written with terrific characters, this book is by far the best so far. I usually get some idea of the end of the plot along the way, but I never imagined the ending to this book. It was a great read and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WHO IS THE GUILTY PARTY?

    One of John Lescroart's best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Good ending

    Please explain to me why your novel the 13th juror was so good and then you write another short story called a Certain Justice and I can't make heads or tails of it. Michael Mullen was out with his wife and 2 kids when he was killed and his wife and 2 kids were never mentioned as witnesses nor were in the car when the killer took off. That doesn't make sense to me, please explain....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2002

    Interesting but a chore to get through

    The curiousity I had as to how Dismas Hardy, the defense attorney, was going to try and get his client, Jennifer, off the pending death sentence kept me reading this story which I thought had entirely too many characters. It got better in the second half. The trial dialogue made for compelling reading and felt it provided me with fascinating insight into trial procedures, e.g., the judge being the 13th juror. The ending was a complete surprise, it did not follow the lead I assumed Dismas had going and believe that part was kind of left hanging, especially the part where it appeared Dismas himself might have been threatened. I would be interested in reading someone else's review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    A bit over my head at times, but a gripping plot!

    Although not one of the greatest books I've ever leafed through, The 13th Juror was a good book that requires both patience and limited knowledge of our legal system to be able to understand it. The basic story was quite gripping as you find yourself constantly changing your guess as to what really happened on the day Jennifer's family was killed. I would recommend this book to lovers of murder, mystery, and mixed plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2000

    He Risked His Life to Save Her Life!!!

    Lescroart has the (not very common) ability to tell you even the slightest detail, without boring you. I went page after page, and it was so hard to stop. Jeniffer Witt is charged with the murder of his rich and famous (but abussive) husband, as well as her only child. She says that she is not guilty, that she didnot do it, but all the clues, the facts, the circumstances, go against her, and almost nobody thinks that she didnot do it. The DA is looking for a political situation at the state level, and this case comes handy to him, so he is not going to let it go. The defense lawyer (what a character) risks everything, to try to win his case, and save her life. The part that I liked more is the author´s careful description of events in the streets and whereabouts of San Francisco, which is my favorite city. I really enjoyed it. Read it, you will like it. Really...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2000

    Not a great book, but very interesting

    It is hard not to compare other courtroom novels to Grisham's work because really none stack up. However, Lescroart came up with an interesting idea for a book AND come up with a good ending. The characters were very good and believable despite the fact that I disliked the main character. A realistic and worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1