Customer Reviews for

16 Isn't Always Sweet (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Loved it!!!!!!!!

    This book was one of the only books that i could not put down. I finished it in less than a day thats how good the book was...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Not everyone understands the evils of high school and the sneak

    Not everyone understands the evils of high school and the sneaky way girls humiliate one another. 16 Isn't Always Sweet gives an excellent inside look of how a normal teenage girl living a traditional lifestyle can have her reputation turned upside down at the whisper of a rumor. I thoroughly enjoyed this read with Carter's smooth writing style accompanied with all girls' recollections of our own high schools and our first love experiences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    read this book immediately

    after reading this book it reminded me so much of myself. i felt the same feelings as the main character jordan. i really think that young women should read this book. i loved it and it was really inspiring. any young teen could relate in some sort of way. hopefully she can make a part two to this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    16 is always sweet or is it?

    The young authoress Cassandra Carter is back with her very heart-felt novel ¿16 Isn¿t Always Sweet¿. Jordan Wright drops the conservative look upon her 16th birthday and from there on out her life becomes one big rollercoaster. Jordan goes against her parents¿ wishes and tries out for hottest video of the year, by her favorite rapper, Jaiden Brown, with her best friend and soon to be enemy Adrienne. Jordan is picked to be in the video and Adrienne is left to bite the dust. <BR/><BR/> Jealousy is building within Adrienne, it finally surfaces when Jordan receives more attention due to the video and because of a harmless hug she catches her ex boyfriend-for a week and Jordan embraced in. Adrienne will stop at nothing to break Jordan down from spreading horrible rumors, name calling and saying she would be better off dead. There seems to be no one in Jordan¿s corner to save her from this heart ache but in steps a knight in shining armor, Warren Taylor, star of the basketball team and Adrienne ex boyfriend for one week. <BR/><BR/> This is the first novel I read by Ms. Carter and I will have to say I am now a fan. ¿16 Isn¿t Always Sweet¿ is beautifully written from start to finish, which would allow for the easy read. The book is very descriptive and strategically written to play out as a movie. I have read plenty of novels and manuscripts but I would have to say this is by far in my top ten. My staff and I are really looking forward to what the future holds for Ms. Cassandra Carter.<BR/><BR/>I support this author and this novel to the fullest. Highly recommended.<BR/>Reviewed by: OfficiallyWrite<BR/>Myspace.com/one2gobookreviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    A Excellent Book!

    'Sixteen isn't always sweet' was one of the best books that I've read! It was very interesting.I couldn't put the book down for one moment! It was very suspenseful with the rivalry between Jordan, and Adrienne. To think that they had been best friends, and they became enemies when Jordan was in the 'Fast Life' video. It was also a surprise when Jordan, and Warren became boyfriend and girlfriend. He was so sweet to her. He was the only person that was nice to her during all of the drama. This story has taught me a lot about what's coming up for me when I turn sixteen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Cute and addicting

    This was a good book, im a little sad its over, but it was good, although it startded off dreadful like most books, but once you start reading then the book gets better and better. I recommend to read it, it enlightens you about real friends, "friends" and enemies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Best Book Ever

    This book was the total package, love,drama, betrayl......everything every teenager faces. Cassandra Carter really capture the teenage experience of our rise and fall, and how we all will come out on top when we believe in ourself, and ignore what others think of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    CORNY

    This book is tacky and was so predictable. If you want to read the book don't even bother because once you read the back description you pretty much get the jist of it. The ending wasn't good either. I do not recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    great

    this book is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An idealistic view

    This book showed an idealistic view of what urban teen girls go through. Trying to save sex till marriage, and are constantly pressured by the media to be someone that they are not. In high school, I have gone through similiar sitautions that the main charcater, Jordan, has encountered. I highly thank the author and the Kimani Tru series, for fowarding the issues of what black teens witness in society in a fiction format.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    Happy Endings!

    This book was lik wo!! It was so sweet to me the way he was willing to be with her even though she was being picked on and teased.&gt;&gt;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I think this book was excellent..it was the 5th Kimani Tru book I read....I love Kimani Tru books and I really like this one..I soon would like to read Fast Life by this author.It was very good about how jealous your friends can be and it teachers you that every one is not really your friend..it was great.i loved it.I read it in 3 days..You should go get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    An A+ Book!!

    This is a really good book. I got it and the moment i read the title i knew it would be good!! The book was excellent that i read it three to four times!! The author is a great person who just has an amazing mind to write this book! Every teenage girl should read it because it could be true for some of their issues and could help them. So from me reading this i say it's OUTSTANDING!!! GO BUY IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    GREAT!!!!!!!

    this book was one of the few that kept me interested!!! just like the character in the book i am a young black girl that is about to turn 16. i saw the book in Wal-Mart and decided to purchase it and from that day i was hooked to the book!! every chapter seem to get more and more inntersting!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    16 Isn't Always Sweet

    I think this book can relate to alot of girls in high school.Cassandra does an amazing job making her stories realistic and she address topics that are needed for young girls like myself.I would recommend this to any high schooler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    AMAZING

    This book is amazing! i was feeling so depressed and down. I was going through a similar situation and this book gave me so much hope! keep on writing cassandra carter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Another Very Entertaining Novel By This Young Authoress

    The child of a stable, working class family, Jordan's 16th birthday is everything she hoped it would be. OH! If only her birthday wish would come true. This is the year she'll show her parents that she can make her own decisions - right or wrong. Uh, huh. In her easy-to-read and engaging style, Cassandra Carter unfolds a tale of misadventures, a trusted friendship gone bad and Jordan's new beginning. To her credit, Cassandra Carter successfully captures a different teen scenario than that of her debut novel. OK! Lookin' for the sequel to FAST LIFE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2