Customer Reviews for

16 Lighthouse Road

Average Rating 4
( 349 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended - check it out

They are romatic and don't have all the sex stuff a lot of books have. Good family reading.

posted by 8744872 on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

?

And of course harriet klausner ruins another book with her excessive plot reveal. Bn please ban this poster and delete all her plot spoilers. She totally ruins every book she touches. Please do something already!

posted by 8888649 on June 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    ?

    And of course harriet klausner ruins another book with her excessive plot reveal. Bn please ban this poster and delete all her plot spoilers. She totally ruins every book she touches. Please do something already!

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Highly recommended - check it out

    They are romatic and don't have all the sex stuff a lot of books have. Good family reading.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Loved it!

    This was the first book I have read by Debbie Macomber, and I absolutely loved it! It was such an easy read. I couldn't put it down. I finished it within a day. I will definitely be reading the rest of the Cedar Cove Series!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Enjoyable read :-)

    Great book!!!!! I couldnt put it down. Can't wait to start reading the next ones in the series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    relationship cozy

    Ian Randall was out at sea when his young wife Cecilia gave birth to a baby with a defective heart. Not long afterward, Cecilia stands alone burying their daughter. Unable to cope, Cecilia and Ian agree to divorce, but Cedar Cove, Washington Family Court Judge Olivia Lockheart denies their petition. She believes the grief is coloring their decisions and both remain in love with one another. <P>The new Cedar Cove Chronicle editor Jack Griffin attended the court on the day that Olivia issued her surprising ruling in the Randall case. He writes a laudatory editorial praising the decision. Jack wants to start seeing Olivia, who he admires for her courage and conviction to avoid the easy road of granting the divorce decree. However, he has quite a road to travel, as she never recovered from her divorce. Meanwhile her mother interferes in her cases and her daughter drives her crazy while her son joins the navy. This is a normal scenario for Judge Lockheart. <P> 16 LIGHTHOUSE ROAD is an enjoyable relationship cozy that looks at life in a small town, mostly through the women. When God created Eve, he must have asked Debbie Macomber for advice because no one does female characters any better than this author. The story line is somewhat fragmented between the several different subplots whose link is Olivia. Still, the cast is superb and the town seems so real that the audience will stroll through the pages of this novel and want more Cedar Cove books in the future. <P>Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Loved it

    A very sweet story, well written. I plan to read the whole series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great plot, good writing and a story that will make you want to read more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Good clean entertainment

    After watching the premier of Cedar Cove I was hooked. Reminds me of my childhood when people truly cared about family and friends. I am reading the entire series, on #5. If you are searching for a charming series start with this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Ok

    This book was ok, not one of her best. This one left too much unfinished in 261 pages there should have been more closure. I have read other books by her and they were better. GJRA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    highly recommended

    Anything that Debbie writes is fantastic. I cannot put my nook down to do my chores or get dinner. I have a sewing business and I find that I read instead of sew.
    I hope Debbie keeps writing for years to come.

    SewhappyJS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    I LOVE everything I have ever read by Debbie Macomber! I have been wanting to get this series for a while now, and I am glad that I finally did. I can't hardly wait to get the rest of the books in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Dashkoff in thr house

    Ladies you know you want to vote for me as prom king.
    - Dashkoff

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Great read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    This is a fantastic series

    I loved this book so much. I was so excited to find out that
    there are more in this series, Cedar Cove Series. The more you read and get to know the characters, the more you want to keep reading
    about them. This would be a great series to start know that winter is coming. You get to know the characters, like they are your neighbors.
    I don't think that anyone would be disappointed in this series. Romanace and a little mystery to keep the interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    16 Lighthouse Road

    I really enjoyed this book... I've already started the 2nd book in the series. Reading about ordinary people in everyday cicumstances was enjoyable to me. I felt that it was ordinary happenings, but Debbie Macomber has a way of writing that brings them to life and makes them interesting. Like I said, I found it enjoyable to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Great book and wonderful introduction to the Cedar Cove series.

    Great book and wonderful introduction to the Cedar Cove series.  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Apprentice den

    Same as warrior den

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    Title: 16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove Book 1) Author: Debbie Mac

    Title: 16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove Book 1)
    Author: Debbie Macomber
    Publisher: MIRA
    Published: 1-1-2001
    ISBN-10: 0739420232
    ISBN-13: 978-0739420232
    E-Book ASIN: B00CJPYDHO
    Pages: 377
    Genre: Women's Fiction
    Tags: Romance, Contemporary


    This is the first book in the long running series by Debbie Macomber about the residents of the picturesque town of Cedar Cove. The fictional town is loosely based on the town Ms. Macomber grew up in.


    16 Lighthouse Road is the address of Judge Olivia Lockhart and she is the main figure in the book. There are many sub stories in the book that are carried through the series until they are resolved. Olivia is the judge for family court and as such resides over divorces, child custody and the such. She draws the attention of Jack Griffin, editor of the local paper, when she passes an unusual ruling in the divorce case of Cecilia and Ian Randall. Following the birth and death of their daughter, Allison, their marriage disintegrated. Olivia's ruling - Divorce denied. She held them to their pre-nup in which they swore both would not seek a divorce but work through their problems. Jack writes an article praising Olivia's guts for standing up and not making the disillusionment of the marriage easy. To say Olivia is not happy is putting it mildly. Yet they are attracted to each other and try to pretend they are not.


    Ian is an officer in the Navy and had met and fallen for Cecilia. When she became pregnant they married for love not duty, but with Ian away so much Cecilia was forced to go through the early birth and quick death of the baby from a heart defect. Feeling abandoned in her grief she could not forgive Ian for not being there to help her. Olivia can easily empathize as she lost a thirteen year old son fifteen years earlier from a drowning accident. In shock, they must either take it before a jury or seek counseling.


    The other sub=plots include a patient in the nursing home, whom Charlotte, Olivia's mother, visits on a regular basis. Tom Hardin is unable to talk or can communicate only partially. Charlotte is determined to find out about the man and locate his family when Tom dies. Then there is the romance between Olivia's daughter Justine and Warren Sagett. Twenty years Justine's senior and a control freak, Olivia does not approve. Finally there is the story of Olivia's best friend, Grace Sherman and her husband Dan. Dan is moody and their marriage is on the rocks which she is trying to hide from her friends and neighbors. Like any small town there is a lot going on below the surface. Book 1, 16 Lighthouse Road just touches the surface. Look for book 2, 204 Rosewood Lane too continue to learn more about Cedar Cove and its many colorful characters.


    I have read this series many times and have them on audio. I am now watching the series on the Hallmark Channel. My advice is to read the series to find out the full story behind the TV program. They differ in may ways and the television program lost many of the sub-plots. You will get a greater enjoyment from the books and you will definitely fall in love with Cedar Cove and want to visit often. Close your eyes and recall the descriptions Debbie Macomber uses. You will be able to see it clearly in your mind's eye. See you there soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    Well developed characters but frustrating situations. Really a s

    Well developed characters but frustrating situations. Really a soap-opera. And much left unfinished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Ashley

    Hey

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18