Customer Reviews for

The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Average Rating 3.5
( 733 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(108)

1 Star

(117)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

84 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

This Diet Works

This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose ...
This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose of each cycle.

posted by BeachreaderCF on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

problems with viewing on nookcolor

downloaded on my nook book and there are many pages that cannot be read because printing is too light. Needs attention.

posted by 6809510 on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 737 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    This Diet Works

    This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose of each cycle.

    84 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Finally!!!

    Although I am active and follow a fairly healthy diet, I have battled an extra 25 lbs that never seem to budge. I had more than a dozen diet books on my shelf, but never finished any of them because I would get cravings for whatever food groups were missing or I'd get bored or frustrated or too busy...but there's hope! I discovered The 17-Day Diet by Dr. Mike Moreno. Affordable. Easy to follow. Fun to read. Much to my surprise, I lost 15 lbs in 21 days without feeling hungry or deprived. I felt healthier and energized! Acid reflux disappeared. The 17 Day Diet is nutritious and motivating and seems to balance all the food groups without having to track calories, carbs, or anything...and with fast results! I just shrank everywhere quickly, especially around the middle. Family and friends were amazed! If you follow this diet, you will never feel hungry, never feel better! This is not a starvation diet or a quick fix. Dr. Moreno teaches healthier eating for life, and you'll feel great while doing it! Note: I have taken all those other diet books off the bookshelf and to the nearest discount book store. This is the diet for me!

    74 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    problems with viewing on nookcolor

    downloaded on my nook book and there are many pages that cannot be read because printing is too light. Needs attention.

    70 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Diet!

    This is a very easy-to-follow diet, divided up into 3 cycles of 17 days each. The first cycle you can eat practically unlimited amounts of cleansing vegetables and lean proteins, with 2 servings of probiotics and 2 servings of fruit. The second and third cycle add more foods back in to the equation, in a healthier way than you ate before beginning the diet. At the end of the 17 days, you should be prepared to eat healthier while indulging yourself in some of your unhealthy favorites occasionally.

    As for the reviewer that said you will starve yourself on this diet if you follow it, I have not felt starved once, and I am 10 days in on it. And as for being dehydrated, I drink the recommended 8 cups (sometimes even a couple cups more) and have not been dehydrated once.

    60 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Impossible diet!

    If you follow the diet by the book you will not only be starving most of the time but you will also become dehydrated ..... you cannot drink that much water and tea and eat vegetables that act as a diuretic without becoming dehydrated!!! No thank you....I'll stick to Weight Watchers....it has never failed!

    30 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Not recommended

    I eat fairly healthy to begin with so this was no big deal to follow. The claims of DRAMATIC weight loss are greatly exaggerated! I lost 3 pounds the first week, but that was really water weight. The next week I actually gained 2 lbs back...very discouraging. I have followed to the letter and am at the end of first 17 day cycle with total of 3.5 lbs lost. Pretty restrictive, with NO starchy carbs for first 17 days. I am constantly hungry. Ate lots of "cleansing" vegatables, fish, lean turkey and chicken. Something of a pseudo South Beach/Atkins diet. Just started reading Jillian Michael's "Master Your Metabolism". It is the best book on nutrition and diet I have seen seen in a very long time. Buy it instead. Hard to put down. Money better spent.

    28 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I have completed 4 full days of this diet and have lost 6.2 pounds. The first couple of days took getting used to because I am a sugarholic, but I don't feel hungry at all. Don't think of it as a diet, but just a healthy way of eating.
    Can't wait to see where I am at the end of the 17 days.

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    For A Diet Book, This is a GREAT Read!

    Ok, all I can tell you is that I downloaded this for my Nook reader after a girlfriend told me about how much weight she lost in the first week or so. This diet/food plan is not difficult to follow at all. They only two major adjustments I had a hard time with were lack of wine (and yes, I cheated) and not eating the salted sunflower seeds I was used to eating daily (yes, daily) at my desk. I am on day 13 of the first phase, and I have lost 6 lbs. I am rarely hungry, although I will not lie and say that sometimes that ice cream sandwich doesn't look good, or that I wouldn't kill for a great big bowl of steamed rice, but overall, I am finding this a very rewarding way to lose weight. :)

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Great diet for me... I could not lose... But this diet did the trick. Have had great success......

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    Highly recommend-almost to goal wgt in 2.5 months, lost 27 pounds so far

    I have tried all diets, and this one is the one that works and is pain free!! Change it up every 17 days!! It is fantastic and you will be needing new clothes soon! Just give it 17 days and you will be hooked by the number on yours scale, I was. :)

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Not really a diet

    To call this a diet book is sort of misleading. The doctor is really selling you the lifestyle changes most of us aren't willing to make or have convinced ourselves we can't make. The idea that you can do anything for 17 days is very motivating. Immediate weight loss even better. For a middle aged lifetime weight struggler on the diabetic edge (a person who has done all the right things a million times) who just lost the war in the flood of busy stressed out life, this is not such a bad way to steer back toward the right course. What the doctor isn't selling is a complicated miracle dependent on high priced and questionable medications or supplements. Hooray!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    My husband and I both changed our eating habits in accordance with Dr. Moreno's 27 day plan. We were never hungry and once again discovered the fantastic taste of vegetables. Both of us lost weight as promised. This is a great lifestyle change.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    I have lost 5 olbs in two days!!

    I love this diet it is easy to follow and very effective.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    the best diet book ever

    I started this book and diet 3 months ago. It has changed the way I eat and look at food. I lost 35 lbs in the first month. At work everyone was asking me what I was doing......I'd say "you can do ANYTHING for 17 days. I was 70lbs over weight for the past 15 years and this is the first time I was able to loose weight and keep it off. Have 30 more to loose and I will be happy! This diet has made me think about what I put in my mouth. Stay away from anything WHITE!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    It works!

    I have only been on this diet for 5 days but I have already lost 5 lbs. I have stuck with the menu daily and I am not hungry, I'm seeing results and learning a lot about food and how it affects my body. I will totally recommend this to my friends.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    You won't share this book!

    I said "NO MORE DIETS!" until my sister lost 20+ pounds using this book. I was 10-20 pounds overweight, and a candidate for cholesterol medication, my total number inched up every year and had reached a high of 258. I bought the book and planned to do one cycle. In 1 1/2 months I had dropped 23 pounds and my cholesterol dropped to 191 (lowest ever)! I feel great--and look better than ever.
    I won't share my book because I refer to it daily, but I have recommended it to many friends. Mike, can I get a commission?

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Woo hoo

    Day 20 and 17 pounds lighter! Easy to follow, no measuring or weighing your food. Figured I could do anything for 17 days, then wanted to keep losing weigh. Made it through a retirement party, 2 birthday celebrations, and a wedding shower without cheating! Now here it is Memorial Day weekend amd my food plan is made. My only complaint is that I wish I had started 6 months ago.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Decent and not that hard to follow

    I am halfway through and have lost 7 pounds. I don't know why some people say you are hungry all the time (protein fills you up) or how they can possibly become dehydrated since you are drinking TONS of water. Perhaps they can't read correctly or didn't follow it. I started a few weeks before Easter and lost 5 pounds, then took Easter off to indulge with the family, and then lost 2 more after going back to Phase 1 for another 10 days. It's easy to follow, even for someone like me who LOVES carbs! 17 days is not all that long in the whole scheme of things.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    I highly recommend this diet!!

    My husband and I started this diet 17 days ago and just finished the first phase and let me tell you it is the easiest diet we've ever been one. I haven't craved sweet like I normally do and we are both down 15lbs. It worked so well for us our daughter who really didn't have much to lose started on it and lost 7lbs. in 10days. It's really something we feel we can do forever!!! Each phase gives you more of a variety that would fit into every life style.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    It's WORKING!

    I am starting the second phase (day 22) and have lost 8lbs. In that time, I did cheat at a baby shower and with a few jellybeans, thanks to the Easter Bunny so I could have lost more. After the first 7 days I really began to enjoy the diet and was thrilled everytime I stepped on the scale. Every diet it hard at the beginning, but I feel like this is really teaching me to eat healthier. I know after I complete all the phases I will keep eating healthy because I know it can taste good! My favorite part of this diet is that we get to eat fruit.

    I'm finding the Nook version a bit tough b/c I'm reading it on an iTouch. It takes forever for me to scan back through the lists of foods but I was happy when I found the recipe chapter (around Day 11). I'm recommending this diet to friends because I've never been able to stay on a diet until now. It is so easy, though I think what makes it easy is that I don't like a lot of choices. I'd rather just have 3-4 yummy recipes and rotate through those.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 737 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37