Customer Reviews for

The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Average Rating 3.5
( 733 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(108)

1 Star

(117)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

84 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

This Diet Works

This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose ...
This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose of each cycle.

posted by BeachreaderCF on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

problems with viewing on nookcolor

downloaded on my nook book and there are many pages that cannot be read because printing is too light. Needs attention.

posted by 6809510 on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 737 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 37
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Quick weight loss after many other diets failed.

    Have this on my nook since April, 2011. Have lost 22 lbs. and that's with a week off for vacation. Other diets left me hungry, but this was satisfying and really shed the weight quickly. Everyone is different, but several of my friends have lost weight including my husband with a loss of 30 lbs.!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The very best life change!

    I am 34 with 5 kids...never hada real weight issue...just needed to drop a few. I started this diet on april 25 2011...and have lost a total of 31 lbs. I am at my ideal weight and lost several inches. I still eat according to the 17 day diet as its a life change not just a diet. 2 of my kids needed to lose some weight...they are both on cycle 2. My 13 year old has lost 12 lbs and my 10 year old has lost 10 lbs. They both now make healthy decisions and have no desire for the bad foods. My mom who is 57 is very heavy. She started this diet two days ago and is down by 3 lbs! Dr. Mike moreno is brilliant.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    9 lbs

    I started the diet about 7 days ago at 197 lbs and weighed in it 187.6 lbs. I have not found myself starved but have missed the sweets. So far so good.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Easy and Effective

    My husband and I both started this diet seven months ago, finished the three phases, and I'm still losing weight, albeit very slowly now (which is fine, since we both reached our goal weight and are really more interested in maintaining it at this point). This diet is more about changing your habits and taking better care of yourself, which is a lifetime commitment for overall improved health. What I liked best about this diet, is that it didn't ask anything of me that I didn't already know, it just made it really easy to get on track and stay there. Increasing my intake of veggies and protein, cutting out the junk food, drinking more water, eating reasonable portions, exercising every day...all things I've heard for ages, but couldn't manage to implement. This book makes it easy. By the time we finished all the phases, we both felt great, and were in the habit of eating better and exercising. We haven't had a big weight gain since (not even on summer vacation!), and it doesn't even seem like work anymore. I cannot recommend this book highly enough if you need to see results quickly in order to stick with it, but want to make sure you're eating healthy for the long run.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Just great

    I bought this book.... paid $11.99 and it won't download! Says download error. Did this happen to anyone else?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Best diet ever

    The best book i have read about dieting. Simple, clear easy to follow menues

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    17 Day diet

    This has been the most helpful diet book ever. I have lost 22lbs and have kept it off.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Works!

    I am on Day 14 and have already lost 10.5 lbs! I consume roughly 1200 calories per day and never feel hungry. I have the energy to jump on the treadmill for 20 minutes TWICE a day. I no longer have the urge to take an afternoon nap. With this kind of energy, there's no need for one. This is definitely a lifestyle change that I can stick with. Highly recommend!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    It worked

    Iam 7 years old and i loste 12lbs

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book...really helped me a lot...I lost 15 lbs in the first

    This book...really helped me a lot...I lost 15 lbs in the first 30 days and it wasnt very hard at all.
    i have a very large appetite and never been successful on diets before but this one is different...i also bought 17 day ultimate guide+ 100 delicious recipes to keep me on track...Highly reccommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Helping me fight my cancer!

    This diet is my forever diet. I had trouble losing weight, first of all. And this method of retraining my metabolism was just perfect for me. I literally lost one pound each day on the first cycle.
    On top of that, my usual fatigue that I felt from having cancer cells in my blood , was gone! I felt my arthritis easing up..I could move my hands in the morning, and people at work noticed my weight loss right away. This works...and it is not a fad, it is forever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    For all those 1 stars look again

    People that rated this book 1 to 3 stars should look again. In fact look on the 17 day diet face book page. The success is there. I am loosing and excited about this plan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    My diet bible

    This book has changed the way i eat and the way i look at food. My biggest challenge now is getting enough calories in because i am so full! I was able to find a low calorie low carb bread rye and wheat. I feel better and look better. I sleep better!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Very happy with 17 day diet

    Very happy with this purchase.. I have tryed every diet there is as has my husband. So far this is the only one that has worked. Just ending first 17 days. Ready to start on next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Is it really gonna help you lose weight. Is it really gonna help you lose weight??????????

    This book does help you lose weight at first after 17 days you get some of your weight back

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    It works, but.....

    After reading so many positive reviews, I decided to buy The 17 Day Diet so I could get rid of some extra weight. The book itself is very simple to read (no medical jargon) and it is rather straightforward, so there aren't any grey areas in which you don't know what to do. However, the first 17 days are restrictive, especially with carbs and starchy foods. Also, the diet doesn't allow you to eat a lot in the morning, which was an issue for me since I'm a big breakfast eater and found myself hungry by the time lunch rolled around.
    I did lose about five pounds the first week, but then I gained two pounds back the second week (even though I followed the diet), so that was a little disappointing. Overall, I gave the book three stars because the directions were easy to follow and the diets are based on natural foods, but I was always a bit hungry, especially after eating breakfast.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Amazing weight loss!

    I am 43 and had kids later in life. My metabolism just hit a wall. No matter how much i cut back or dieted i was always hungry and ended up gaining it back. In the first week of this new way of eating i lost a staggering ten ppunds. I am never hungrt. The protien carries you through the day well. I realize how much carbs were a feel good food for me..not nurltrition. With healthy carbs and higher protien i am satisfied and finally loosing weight. I am not even a big meat eater but i am learning to be creative! This is not a diet but a new way of eating for life and once you hot your goal you will have some freedoms back only it will be for a limited number of days. Totally doable for real life eating. I would highly recommend!,

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I like this book.

    I found Dr. Mike's book simple and full of variety and ideas. It reminded me of information I already knew and hadn't used enough in my weight-loss and dietary plan and brought into light a few things I didn't know. It's working and helping me change my life and body. He has a way of optimizing this easy plan that reminds me of my work with "Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self", a book that maximized my life in the way I think and experience it both at home and at work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Good info

    Interesting read - got to try it out!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Are you ready for results?

    This diet is amazing! I had twins and had been hoping to get my remaining 10-15#s off eventually, but nothing seemed to be working. I'd been watching my diet and exercising 30 minutes per day for a few months with little to show for it. This diet, if followed correctly will give you results. I dropped the weight plus an additional 10#s over a course of 2 months. At 35, I am back to the weight I was in high school. Most importantly, I have been able to keep it off. I watch the scale and when I am trending up after a weekend or more of indulging, I refocus, stick with the plan, and my weight comes back around within a few days. I started this diet when it first was discussed on all of the talk shows 5 months ago, and I have been able to maintain since. I will say, if you do not care for salads, fruit, chicken or fish, this is probably not the best diet for you. Like any diet, it takes getting used to, but the scale showing you results is such a motivator.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 737 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 37