Customer Reviews for

The 17 Day Diet: A Doctor's Plan Designed for Rapid Results

Average Rating 3.5
( 733 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(108)

1 Star

(117)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

84 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

This Diet Works

This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose ...
This diet will work. My husband and I have just completed the third cycle. I lost 20lbs (only 10 more to go!). My husband lost 30 so far and dropped his cholesterol by 50 points. Suggest you read most of the book first before starting so that you understand the purpose of each cycle.

posted by BeachreaderCF on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

problems with viewing on nookcolor

downloaded on my nook book and there are many pages that cannot be read because printing is too light. Needs attention.

posted by 6809510 on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Impossible diet!

    If you follow the diet by the book you will not only be starving most of the time but you will also become dehydrated ..... you cannot drink that much water and tea and eat vegetables that act as a diuretic without becoming dehydrated!!! No thank you....I'll stick to Weight Watchers....it has never failed!

    30 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Not recommended

    I eat fairly healthy to begin with so this was no big deal to follow. The claims of DRAMATIC weight loss are greatly exaggerated! I lost 3 pounds the first week, but that was really water weight. The next week I actually gained 2 lbs back...very discouraging. I have followed to the letter and am at the end of first 17 day cycle with total of 3.5 lbs lost. Pretty restrictive, with NO starchy carbs for first 17 days. I am constantly hungry. Ate lots of "cleansing" vegatables, fish, lean turkey and chicken. Something of a pseudo South Beach/Atkins diet. Just started reading Jillian Michael's "Master Your Metabolism". It is the best book on nutrition and diet I have seen seen in a very long time. Buy it instead. Hard to put down. Money better spent.

    28 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Just great

    I bought this book.... paid $11.99 and it won't download! Says download error. Did this happen to anyone else?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Is it really gonna help you lose weight. Is it really gonna help you lose weight??????????

    This book does help you lose weight at first after 17 days you get some of your weight back

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    Do not recommend at all

    I ordered this based upon trusting Dr. Phil's judgement. Once I started reading this, and I did read most of it, I realized that it was simply not going to be healthy for me in the long run. I ordered it through the website since it was not available in stores or anywhere else. If I would have had the opportunity to look through it first, I would have never purchased it. It seemed like nothing short of just starving yourself, eating less than a child would, and drinking green tea as your beverage at every meal. It didn't seem very healthy to me.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    This will work!

    This was completely successful! I stopped craving sugary things within the first week. I lost 2 pounds on my first day! I went from the verge of obesity to a healthy weight. The book even tells you how to maintain your healthy weight. I recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Couldnt get it to work for me

    Was not the type of lifestyle change i was looking for because it wasnt much of a lifestyle change but more a crash diet...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    I

    It didnt work with me so i say it dosent work

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Waste of money

    This is a slightly tweaked Atkins diet. I lost more weight by eating sensibly and getting exercise than I did trying this highly restrictive diet.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Save your money not worth buying or reading

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    A joke

    What a joke. Do not waste your money. Just cut everthing you eat in half

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    pissed

    im pissed off i spent 30 on the real book because the website was the only place you could get it. now i come onto nook and its 12 freakin dollars!!!!

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Did not download right!

    This book is shown unaligned as if it shifted and when you try to flip pages it just flips back and forth between 20 and 21 a complete waste of money and it was epensive with no way to return or get my money back!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Just another fad diet...  A mix of low carb but menus has fruits

    Just another fad diet...  A mix of low carb but menus has fruits which is a source of sugar... Better off checking out other books ..

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    The 17 Day Diet

    Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Shonteviagraves10@yahoo.com

    Names shonie im 13 nd a girl add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6